NewYork Skyline – View from Exchange Place in NewJersey
Nikon N80 with 28-80 mm Nikor Lense
Film Speed : 200
Shutter Speed : 2"
Aperture : F16
Obviously used a tripod or else it wouldnt be this clear..
The gradient effect is not because of the polarizer.. no filters were used except for the uv filter..
ummm thats it i guess.. so whaddaya think ??
bohut hi achay!!!..
very hi nice te beautiful…
thanx 4 sharing…
God bless u..
DerVaisH…
muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…
thanx yaar.. u know the truth .. railing is there cause i didnt have a tall enuff tripod to put the camera on so i had to use the bench there and if i had zoomed in to get the railing out then the picture width would have suffered.. thanks again for the input..
Yankee. When I first saw this image, I thought that you had pasted a photo from another site. Good job.
Capturing a night time image like this one, on a 200 speed is not very easy, and you captured it well. Which film did you use?
You explained that you had to compromise on the composition of this image due to the lack of a tripod. One thing that many professional photographers do if they can, is to go back and shoot the subject/scene over and over until they are satisfied with the results. Ansel Adams’ famous photo “Storm” is one of hundreds, of the same scene taken from the same spot. If you go back, (hopefully with a tripod), take few more shots from different angles.
I like the fact that the horizon line is perfectly straight. Which is very important in a scene like this, but the angle of the railing is slightly off, and visually degrades the image.
Also, IMHO there is too much negative space at the bottom. Try applying the “rule of 3rds’ in your compositions by lowering the horizon line to the 1/3 of the image. That would result in three things: 1. No more railing to deal with; 2. Eliminate the negative space at the bottom; 3. Visual improvement in composition.
Well, thats it. These are my humble opinions, and that’s all. You have the eye for a photographer, and I really hope to see more of your work . So please post more.
Thanks for sharing the image.
[This message has been edited by Pungay_Baaz (edited August 08, 2001).]