Any Pakistani Social Workers on This Forum?

salams

I was wondering if there are any guppies who are involved with social work in Pakistan…as a part or full time job…

Would really appreciate it if you could share your experiences, and also how you got started, why you got started, how you find the environment, which sector you feel needs most ppl etc…

What is the general credibility of social organisations among people? How do ppl view these organisations and those who work in them?

Would working in a governmental organisation be more effective in bringing abt social change than working in an NGO?

Are local NGO’s as transparent and efficient in their affairs as multinational NGO’s? What are some of the multinational NGO’s in the social sector which are viewed with respect by the locals? What are some of the local ones?

mehrbani
irem

I am not a social worker Irem but i do know a little bit about the field:

*What is the general credibility of social organisations among people? How do ppl view these organisations and those who work in them? *

Hmm, well for the average person NGO's has a bad rep in Pakistan. Many are run like businesses and are totally dependant on foreign donors (and hence promote their agenda). Besides that the Urdu press thinks very low of the NGO's ..in their eyes they are all foreign agents! Still depsite that some NGO's have excellent reputations are universally recognised as having done a lot of good. Some of the best examples are Edhi, SUNGI, Shaukat Khanum Memorial Hospital, The Citizen Foundation, help line Trust. There is a book published by the United Nations Developemnt program in pakistan listing some of the achievements of various NGO's called the Green Pioneers it's available online for free.

Zakk bhai,

Thanks a lot for the info. I remember that long time back I had posted to ask something about a women's development NGO and you had then too helped me out :-)

I'll try to get a hold of this book published by the UN and get a look at it inshallah...

shukrya and regards,
irem

DS ji, thats awesome :mash:
Allah un ko un ke nayk iradon mein kamyaab karay :k: