any books or refrences 4 PMP (Project Management)

i tried 2 search out da web but it’s 2 messy out there, however i did mailed 2 da PMI’s karachi chapter 4 help.
so any buddy of u know abt any material or resources or books which can help m 2 get a betta understanding about da topic coverage n exam ( k make it 2 pass da friggin exam s big b already paid 2 fee wagaira now i have 2 clear it 4 ma survival sake )

tx in advance

You will need these notes for PMP exam

http://egweb.mines.edu/eggn491/Information%20and%20Resources/pmbok.pdf

Do you meet all their other criterias? Experience, eductation etc…Let us know how it goes.

hey tx na
dat's really a v useful link u gave m
i fink so i cover all other requirements ab i hv 2 clear dat exam only :S

just read PMBOK everyday for 60 days .. InshaAllah pass ho jao gi

wid wazu` or widout??? :konfused:

As far as I have heared there is a Project Management Certification from PMA (Project Management Association) as well as one from PMI (Project Management Institute).

What´s the difference?

I had posted my reply to the thread in Comp, but here it is for reference:

We have a couple of resident guppies who're PMP certified...

As for the exam though, the PMBOK is your best starting point... get the searchable CD-ROM version of the PMBOK Guide ... but nothing's gonna help you as much as real-world project management experience will, which I'm assuming you already have cuz you can't get certified without 3 year of PM experience...

ok, as far as a good reference to refresh your concepts, I'd suggest PMP Exam Prep by Rita Mulcahy.

I've been meaning to get certified myself, but with an MBA, and now a Ph.D. in progress, haven't had a chance to... one of these days, I'll get around to actually sending in my resume' for endorsement and go write the exam.

Umer,
I don't know the difference between the certs, but PMI is regarded as the official endorsing body for project managers... there're tons of other ones out there for e.g. CompTIA's IT Project+ is a pretty good one, but caters specifically to the IT project managers and also does not hold the same value as a PMP.

digi yaar,
as always, certifications are meant to offer an endorsement for actual professional experience and domain expertise acquired through real-world assignments... if someone has that background, then YES, the PMP is totally worth it... it will improve your marketability a hundred fold... however, if you look at a resume where someone does have the PMP but only a couple of years of actual proj. mgmt. experience, that ain't gonna do any good!

Ciao.

*Originally posted by digitalsurgeon: *

and more importantly: are they worth it ?

not all of em DS, but surely sum of da certifications do matter a lot s UT already told you.
certificationz like PMP, CISA hv got many pre n postrequisitez which you hv 2 meet. it's not like ratafyin a book and then appear in da exam. 2 b eligible 2 sit in a PMP exam u @least need a 5 years exp of Project Management.

my bhayi jaan got n MS from NU-FAST after dat he did sum odd jobz 4 around 1,2 yrs then dat 9/11 happened which effected his careear alot. so he gathered down sum certificationz including ISO n CISA wagaira, ab masha Allah say he's very well settled abroad n he gives more credit 2 da certifications he had over his educational background. 2 retain his membership wid ISACA he has 2 @least audit 2/3 firmz a year + he had 2 write some papers in intl. publicationz + some other conditionz. I also know sum of da ppl who just cleared da CISA exam n neva even got registered wid ISACA.

i fink k da worth of certification more dependz on da way u conceptualize it n try 2 utilize it.

well i postponded 2 appear in da exam 4 a couple of months s i just switched ma job which needs more attention n i dun wanna give da exam in haste n fail it 4 ma bhayijaan’s amusement :hoonh:

haan i would b preparing 4 da exam all along.

Re: any books or refrences 4 PMP (Project Management)

So it has been almost a year. Did you give the Exam?

For those of you who’ve already given the Exam, how has it helped in your respective Careers?

Also, can you give the Exam on a ‘Student’ membership. I am doing my Part-Time MBA and was wondering if it can be done. I’ve asked them the same question but someone here might already know the answer.

Thanx

ACCA 3.7 book
S sis u can fin ever thing hmmm not every thing but moe then u wan tto ......
TC and pray for me plzzzzz :(

cisA wow … kon se books parne hote hia Seema baji may nay parna hia c i S a … perter jen ke book chalye ge :smiley: