any alamgir fans here

I am listening to the old songs of alamgir. He along with nazia, muhammad ali and other started the pop industry in pakistan. Very talented singer. songs like “dekha na tha” “sham se pehle” “maine tumhari gagar” are the type that you can still listen to. His bangla songs were very nice also. Especially “allah megh de”. Does anyone know what he does in canada. It’s sad that singers like him were unfortunate to sing during a time when pak music artists were beggers of the street. People like fuzon who gets a couple of lakh for doing ONE show, and junoon who takes 10+ lakh for each commercial should be thankful for these pioneers of pak music.

Re: any alamgir fans here

dekha na thhaa kabhi humnay yeh samaan, aisa nasha tere pyaar ne diya :hula:

That song still has it!

links post kar dou na yar

love that song!!!

i think he's a legend. it's unfortunate that he's left the country and exited the music scene here. i had heard he was in England now. any viable news on his wherabouts and intentions; will he be coming to take on the industry again...or is he totally retired now...?

A Big Fan Here :d

He sang songs at Pakistan day parade in Chicago a couple of years ago.

I remember listening to him telling his story. When he went to Pakistan from Bangladesh and started singing in small clubs and restaurant in Karachi. The only thing he brought with him was his guitar. He was so poor that some time he had nothing to eat. One day he was really hungry and he saw a dog carrying something in its mouth and for a moment he thought about grabbing that piece of food. This shows that he went through all that hardship before become a famous pop singer. After reading that story I admired him even more. Mohammad Ali Shehki and Alamgir were truly the pioneers of pop music in Pakistan,

YEP ANOTHER BIG FAN HERE!!!!

Great songs

Alamgir started to apear on the music horizon in early 70s. He probably had started doing the 'diggin' in late 60s which bore him fruit in 70s. I don't know what was his first program or stint. He did start out with singing in children's program. I remember a song from that program in 1975 (teen sitaaray daain( on my right ) teen sitaaray baain( on my left ) inko agar mila ke dekho to ho jaaingay 6 ....) He had done other stints before that program. During the same time( b/w 1973-1975), he sang for lollywood. His two famous songs of that time:

Hum chalay to hamaaray sang sang nazaaray chalay
kaisa yeh sama hay bekhudi hay dil jawan hay

and one song in the movie called Intezaar( I can't remember the lyrics at the moment ). This movie had Mumtaz and Nadeem(I think).

He was known in the media by then. He started getting offers from both PTV and lollywood. At the start of his career lollywood collapsed but PTV remained. Anyways, in 1976 Alamgir hosted a Musical program in which only Alamgir's music was shown. Alamgir used to compose his own music. During that time he composed 'Albela raahi (based on spanish song One tana mena )'. This was an immediate hit. All the youngsters used to watch this programme. This was a very unique program. He once invited Usmaan Peerzaada and Sameena Peerzaada and asked them to lipsynch on his song. So without any practise Usmaan performed. It was very interesting. In that programe, he composed a song which he sang with an iranian singer who was visiting pakistan in those days. The song was called" Dekha na tha kabhi ham nay yeh samaan'. It proved to be one of the event-maker song of Pakistan. These singers sang it with beating small duff to their thighs. This song was later taken by a Pakistani movie and was rerecorded in the voice of Alamgir and Naheed Akhtar but this was way later. I think in 80s or something. I don't remember what happened to this program. Whether PTV discontinued it or not. But thru late 70's Alamgir kept apearing on the mini-screen and producing block buster songs one after the other. Like:

1) Yeh Shaam or Tera naam
2)Meray Lafzon Kee Jhankaar tu
Meray Geeton kee Mehkaar tu
Tu Jaanay mera Piyar tu aaja
Mein Teray Liya baychain

Tu meray liya baychain
teray nain se meray nain....
3) Dekh tera kiay rang kar diya hay
4) Yeh saam aur tera naam and its rebuttal
5) Soona Soona Jeevan apna
6) Kabhi tum idhar se guzar kay to dekho
in aankon se dil mein uttar kay to dekho
tumhay in mein apnee mohabbat milay gee
mohabbat milay gee

Remember Alamgir is not remembered for 'Dekha naa tha'
alone. He is rememberd for giving strings of popular music to the youngsters. All of them better than the previous. He only started to dwain in mid 80s. He stopped becoming productive. May be because of PTV program 'Silver Jubilee' introduced new singers who became more popular than him. I don't know

wow, some really nice info right there. To be honest with you, since I was born in 1986, all these programs were ahead of my time. I only discovered alamgir when I decided to take a listen to my dad’s old tapes.

Agent smith, what a sad story. It’s a shame that talents like alamgir didn’t get their due and had to leave the country.

And I think he lives in canada now. He came to a pakistani program here in atlanta a couple of years ago. I was there and he really gives a all-out performance. Sang songs from different artists along with his own. Did anyone else go to that program.

Actually It was not the case. Just because you are born late, and dont know much about him, it does not mean that he was not popular :slight_smile:

Infact, Alamgir was the pop idol in late seventies and 80s along with Nazia Zohaib.

Also younger people may not khow, the cult like following of Nazia & Zohaib

a legend :k:

Dekh tera kiya rung kardiya hai
Kachray ka tokra teray sung kardiya hai.....

DaPakiGuy,

The spanish song that Albela Rahi is based on, is actually a cuban song called La Guantanamera.....I should know, if you had'nt noticed I spent a good chunk of my life in Cuba....

Guantanamera, guajira guantanamera

Yo soy un hombre sincero
De donde crece la palma
Yo soy un hombre sincero
De donde crece la palma
Y antes de morirme quiero
Echar mis versos del alma
Estribillo:

Mi verso es de un verde claro
Y de un jazmín encendido
Mi verso es de un verde claro
Y de un jazmín encendido
Mi verso es un ciervo herido
Que busca en el monte amparo
Estribillo:

Música
Estribillo:

Por los pobres de la tierra
Quiero yo mi suerte echar
Con los pobres de la tierra
Quiero yo mi suerte echar
El arrullo de la tierra
Me complace más que el mar
Estribillo (sólo con bajos)
Estribillo
Estribillo

He has settled in Arizona

^ You can write posts :eek:

End of world is near :frowning:

Arizona? He is right here in clifton, VA. But you can have him anytime...honestly. I would rather he was in Arizona so all the cheap people arranging functions can stop calling him to perform. I last saw him at this show at GMU where he wore a completely gold shirt and made a fool of himself on stage running from one end to the other like an idiot and later panting for breath.

FF, can you find out how much would he charge for a private party in Chicago?. Other than the normal airfare and hotel accomodation? Please. And if you get me a good deal, i will send fly one fly second free coupon for you. I will make accomodation arrangements for u in my basement.

I still hum 'shaam se pehle aana' hehe
He comes to Pak day shows every now and then so people are kind of bored w/ him now.