Anthony Weiner's wife is Pakistani & Muslim?

re: Anthony Weiner’s wife is Pakistani & Muslim?

All jurists agreed that a Muslim man or woman may not marry a mushrik [one who associates partners with God–there is a complex and multi-layered discourse on who is to be considered a mushrik, but we will leave this for a separate discussion]. However, because of al-Ma’ida verse 5, there is an exception in the case of a Muslim man marrying a kitabiyya. There is no express prohibition in the Qur’an or elsewhere about a Muslim woman marrying a kitabi. However, the jurists argued that since express permission was given to men, by implication women must be prohibited from doing the same. The argument goes: If men needed to be given express permission to marry a kitabiyya, women needed to be given express permission as well, but since they were not given any such permission then they must be barred from marrying a kitabi.

For details read this fatwa:

re: Anthony Weiner's wife is Pakistani & Muslim?

Should the "when it comes to religion I dont care about political correctness" be applicable to everyone? I bet you would have a different attitude if this was coming from a non-muslim.

Just cuz she didn't want to follow the religion she was born into and marry somebody shes not supposed to as per the religion.. doesnt mean that her real life husband can cheat on her. That makes no sense.

What? Leaving political correctness and incorrectness aside, how exactly is this hisaab barabar? Just because the word "loyalty" can be applied to both scenarios?

By this token, every one of us* deserves* **** coming our way.

Behes nahi, Jo keh diya bus keh diya ...kar lo Jo kerna hai

Contrary to the ethnocentric crap of a notion asserted in the huffingtonpost article, a typical south asian wife, particularly one as worldly as Ms Abedin would have walked away if her husband had done what Weiner did...

But, for Abedin to walk away would be giving up on a singular ambition that prompted her to marry Weiner in the first place, i.e. being a wife of a US congressman and total and absolute assimilation into white anglo-saxon society and that too in the top echelon....

**Achawwwwwwwwwwww to ju Muslim girls are LOYAL to their religion or themselves marrying MUSLIMS and going through cheating by their MUSLIM Husbands woh kis hisab kitab main jaey ga?? on ko yeh bat kehny se bhi Ashraf Ali Thanwi jaisey saley kion mana kerty hainMuslmanon ki bad nami na **hu:khums:

Same way of thinking & acting here,:wink: sometimes I think you are Mardana Good News :smiley: news:D

There are such rumours, nothing confirmed yet. Forget about loyality for a moment and a stupid person like Weiner who doesnt even know how to use privacy settings on twitter doesnt deserve a smart lady like her :).

who cares!

Pretty much all the mainstream media have reported it (CNN, ABC News etc) saying close family have already been told about it.. No family members or reps have come forward and said it's not true so I'd assume it is.

She married him just to be 'accepted' by anglo-saxon society and to be the wife of a US congressman?? Strange thing to say about someone so successful in their career in their own right and considering the fact he was the one who reportedly chased her at the beginning + not the other way round..

haha I thought you were better than that..

"behes nai keh diya to keh diya" - sounds like my old rigid grandpa who uses this statement when he runs out of logical responses.

wow you have lots of respect for your "old rigid" grandpa.

yup.. I do.. but that doesnt stop me for acknowledging his rigidness of many social issues.

^And doing that doesn't categorise you as rigid and obnoxious and self centered? Something to think about.

What a pompous thing to say that someone deserves pain if she doesn't live by your espoused notions of religion/heritage! It's one thing to feel that you are on the right path, but it's another to think that yours is the only right path.

I don't know why are you guys getting so sensitive about her when it's not even a normal situation to start with, she married a playboy just to gain points in political grounds, so yeah she got what she deserved.

^ hareem, my comment wasn't specifically about her, but in general - who are we to judge who deserves pain and humiliation and who doesn't.

If I do not believe in that my path is the only right path , then I will have to believe in all the right paths and the life will be too complicated.
So by logic if mine is the only right path then all other paths are not right paths. Now who deserves the pain or not I will leave to Allah.

I see many things in this light as well.