anthologies on Islamic history

share, if you like, your knowledge about anthologies/ travelogues written by travellers in Muslim parts of the world.

best,

Dushwari

Re: anthologies on Islamic history

I own and have read one by Mufti Justice (Rtd.) Taqi Usmani:

Jahaan-e-Deedah - a travelouge comprising of his journey to 20 countries where not only he takes you back to the Islamic history but a detailed account of geography of the place he describes.

If you are just talking about any given travelouge by people who live in muslim world like in Pakistan, then, I have read Andulus maiN Ajnabi by Mustansar Hussain Tararr - *talks about his travel in Spain and how he connects the 800 years history of Muslim spain in Andulus, **Shoq-e-Aawaargi* by Ata-ul-Haq Qasmi *(owns it) - talks about his dream of coming to America in early 70's where he spent 2 years as a Ramada Inn Food manager in Saint Loius and while going back via New york, Paris, and then Holland, **Hi America, Bye America* by *a PTV drama artist I do not recall the name of *(owns it as well) - talks about his struggle days in New York for years and how he spent the time here and what type of different people he met...

and ofcourse bits and pieces of others from here and there..

I have read Couple written by MohTaram Qamar Ali Abbasi ....

' America maat Ja'e O ' ...' Or dewar Gir'gaee ( safarnama-e-Germany)

'Baghdad Zinda'bad'....'Chala Musafir Singa'pore'....Dehli duuur hai and la'Paris( have to read them ... On list of my 1000 books i wana read before i die )

Then Mustansar Hussain's " London Say Moscow Taq " and ' Niklay Teri Talash Main '. Later one is included by the Moscow University as a content of Urdu course. Havnt read ' Undlas mein Ajnabi '.....

And then one and only INSHA shaab and His Travelogues ....Awara Gard Ki Diary..........Dunya Gol Hey...........Ibn-e-Batoota Kay Taqub Main......... and Chaltay Ho To Cheen Ko Chaliye....

errr how can I forget Aawarah gard kee diary and duniyaa gol hai..???

thanks Aliyish for putting all names down.

Pleasure Anu bhai :slight_smile:

Was reading Qamar Shaab’s **'London London ’ **one day … He wrote :

London Janay se No saal Phalay Shadi or ek saal phalay Haaj ki saadaT hasil ki … London phonCha tu bay’Takuluf doston ne phocha ’ Ab kia karnee ay ho’ :omg:

right... 900 choohaY baa'd maiN khaanaY pahunchaY thaY naa aur phir shaadi bhee 9 saal .. err... :-P

any of this available online in english?