Answer needed from Girls Only..

If the rishta is really that good, he’ll let you study. Otherwise, many fishies out there that are ‘good’ and will allow you to pursue your education/career AND support you too.

Good luck :wink:

Have u or ur parents talked to the guy about ur interest in studies?he might encourage it too....the thing is u r 25....the frequency and quality of the rishtas do decrease with time....ofcourse jahan kismet ho rishta to wahin hota hai....but practically speaking it does lessen with time...but then again u dont want to repent later in ur life about the opportunity u left...as someone else mentioned is this educational program being offered somewhere in that guy's country too?if yes then why dont u consider that option....but still it depends how cooperative that guy and his family is?so make a wise decision after considering all the aspects...Good Luck :)

do what you feel is right

Re: Answer needed from Girls Only..

STUDIES

That's what I was going to say.

if rishta is really good i'll prefer marriage. Mphil/ Phd is nothing that imp. u can pursue further education in country B n even if u don't u can still get good job without doing it. i agree that by age 29 ur chances of getting decent rishta reduces further. but still do istikhara.

I would talk to the guy and tell him what I want to do. If he understands, GREAT! If he doesn't.. he wasn't meant for me, and I would go on for studying.

really honeybee???

u wont txt him, miss him and look at ur phone 100 times a day

:meeno:

heck, HB has said it right!!!

Korn, considering it was a rishta my parents picked, and I've never met the guy, then no, I wouldn't. BUT, if i liked him then yes, I would give a shot, but if he didn't really love me, then yeah I'd cry for couple of weeks/ months but wouldn't marry him and go on with my career.

but Korn, your comment did make me chuckle.

It depends on a persons priorities. and I think the reply is already there in the question.

if I had to chose and the guy is really amazing I would go for marriage…heck with studies :D…I had the best rishta last year but my parents had to reject cuz Im still studying…crap :naraz:

but if you are very career oriented as you said then try to work out something so that you could study as well…don’t let your dream go away…

I think it depends on you.. and how badly you want to pursue your dreams. My sister made it very clear to my parents that her goal is to get her doctorate degree, and if she finds someone who agrees to let her finish her degree in between only then she will consider the rista, otherwise they shouldn't even bother to ask her. In my case I would have choosen to get married and given up my studies because I favor more on getting married at the right age. I think we were both right on our places but at the end it comes down to what makes you feel complete and accomplished :)

^ this :k:

What do you want to do?

In the end, doing something your parents want and you DONT want will make you resent them.

Doing something you want, wont.

So, what do you want to do? What pulls you?

Firstly,it shouldn't be a choice,meaning if its the right person then career/studies after marriage shouldn't be an issue.
But if it has to be either one,and "I" am the one to decide(without the parents' or anyone else's influence)...my choice would have been and always will be career/education.

At 25 you're still young. 4 years from now, at 29, your parents can find you other "good rishtas". This guy is not the only good rishta out there. The opportunity for you to get married will be there 4 years from now.

However, according to your posts, IF you marry this guy, then the "biggest opportunity" you have in front you to further your education will be gone forever.

If I were you, I'd choose education.

Also, if this guy isn't willing to somehow compromise so that you can pursue this dream, then is this really the man you want to spend the rest of your life with?

^ true, it all depends on how flexible your husband is, two of my childhood friends went through extremes, one finished med school living in hostel, while her susral and maika was in the same city but she couldn't focus at home, so she preferred to stay at campus, and her husband faced tons of bi***ing from his and her family but stood up for her. Other friend had totally opposite she had to quit her last year of surgery residency and her dream to satisfy her husband's ego, but mind you both these cases were in pak.

Generally men in western countries are more flexible IMO, even desi ones, here are cpuplef good examples, my sis did residency after getting married, she was like 4000km, on the otherside of country for good 5 years her poor husband used to fly couple of times a month, find conferences in and around her city to get any chance to spend time with her, it was hard but they survived. It took a while for them to get life back to normal once they started living together again, but hr husband supported her.
My another cousin did 4+5+2 years of med school+surgery+fellowship after she got married (got married at 20) had a son and mashallah just finished her fellowship, it all depends on the understanding of two ppl getting in a relationship.

If you guys are on different page regarding priorties and where you want to be in yor life, there is a very good chance one of you wil end up miserable.

I would suggest have a talk with the guy if at all possible, of you got a scholarship from country a, it is possible you can persue your education in country b. Don't give up your dream, but be practical about life too.

If the rishta is that good and him and his family understand that you will be studying after you get married then go for it! But you also have to bear in mind that the studying will actually be worth it!

I'm gettin married in two years time and will have finished one degree by then INSHALLAH and then after i'm married i'm hoping to get into dentistry! Him and his family understand and will support me with this!

thats the best answer.Jo aapka dil kahe wohi karo.jise aapko koi nuksan bhi na puhanch sake.

Hello again…thanks everyone for the advice..:slight_smile:

**As u people said, i talked to that guy myself that i wanna do PhD, let it b b4 or after marriage..but he said that itz weird that after marriage u go to some other country for studies and i wait 4 u bla bla… it was a long discussion, he said that usually this is what guys say that they wanna move to some other country to make their career..he was annoyed that after 4 years, u will be like 29 or 30 and that wont be a suitable age for marriage( I do understand that he was right on this).. thus he is not so supportive in this all thing…Seriously I dunno what decision to take now, I dun wanna miss this opportunity of higher studies but also I want to get married in the end..:(..my parents have left everything on me..i dunno what’s the right decision now…:confused: