Naseem Ashraf was also grilled on the decision to appoint Mushtaq Ahmed as assistant coach for the World Cup. Mushtaq was fined and named in the match-fixing inquiry in Pakistan between 1998 and 2000. Ashraf explained that Bob Woolmer and Inzamam had recommended Mushtaq. **In turn, Inzamam said that he would not have made the recommendation had he been aware of the Justice Qayyum inquiry report which said Mushtaq should not be appointed to any senior position. **
WTF!!! Is he kidding? He didn’t know about that recommendation of the JQ report when the report and all the recommendations have been released to the public.
Following is directly from the report:
“there are sufficient grounds to cast strong doubt on Mushtaq Ahmad. He has brought the name of the Pakistan team into disrepute with inter alia associating with gamblers. This Commission therefore recommends that Mushtaq Ahmed be censured, kept under close watch and be not given any office of responsibility (selection or captaincy) in the team or on the board. Furthermore, he should be fined Rs. 3 lac” http://www.icc-cricket.com/link_to_database/NATIONAL/PAK/NEWS/qayyumreport/qayyum_report.html
Recommendation and appointing are two different things. Why did PCB appointed him should be the question?
in the recent past , if you have noticed most of inzi's recommendations have resulted in appointments. Do we need to discuss all over again how inzi was influencing most of the selection decisions?
Anyway my point is how can he come up with such a lame statement? Why can't he simply tell that yes he wanted Mushtaq to be the coach.
If Inzamam was influential than how come he is getting the flak from same group of people that appointed all of his recommendations?
Inzamam cannot know everything, call him dumb, stupid, dictator or whatever comes in your mind. My question is when Justice Qayyum made those points about Mushtaq, were PCB sleeping? Did they not note those points in their computer system that whenever someone recommends Mushtaq's name it would say no we cannot appoint him?
Considering these discussions are with reference to our disastrous performance in the World Cup, the whole discussion about Mushtaq and his gambling connections is relevant if we are assuming that our team lost the group matches due to match fixing; and that Mushtaq Ahmad some how convinced the team to lose games. Alright, so please raise your hands if you believe this is what happened?
Sarfaraz Nawaz claims that Pakistan-West Indies match was fixed and Pakistan team thought that even after losing to WI, they will still qualify for Super-8's and no one will raise a fuss. Unfortunately Ireland crashed the party and that is why some Pakistan players appeared absolutely terrified in the field against Ireland (worrying that now the Pak-WI will be scrutinized for match fixing).
Oh well, I don't know what to say. This thing is just too far fetched for me to waste my mental calories trying to figure it out. I guess, right people with the right resources could/should/would investigate and let us know what was going on. I'd also gladly accept the answer that our team just sucked and thus lost.
sarfraz mentioned that when he went to talk to Naseem Ashraf about Mushtaq’s appointment, he was told " when Board’s from other countries do not anything to their Jawaari players then why should we?"
After his decision on the eve of 4th day of a test against NZ in 04, his dismissals against England both in home and away series last year and Oval debacle didn't stop top brass to believing in him in cricketing and manageral matters, its not his fault. Its administrations fault. He was like Nizam Saqqa, he should have been taken like that. The pea-brain should have been used as fatherly figure only to unite CHAYs under him. Woolmer, YK, manager and selection commettee must been strong to dictate &*((&* who knows SH!T about rules and regulations.
The fault is not Inzi's but those who appointed Mushtaq.
Ehsan Bhai,
Salaam
Inzi can do no wrong in your dictionary, whereas Shoaib Akhter cud do nothing right. Why the dichotomy?
Mushy was fired by the same Chairman then suddenly reinstated by the same chief, why? Because board wanted Aqib to be the NCA coach that was resisted by Inzi and the Tablighees and as a quid pro quo Mushy was reinstated, this particular news was reported by Dawn and other reputable newspapers.
Inzi acts so pious but yet does not have the courage to admit his role in appointing Mushy cause it was after all an act of blatant cronyism.
Inzi can do no wrong in your dictionary, whereas Shoaib Akhter cud do nothing right. Why the dichotomy?
Mushy was fired by the same Chairman then suddenly reinstated by the same chief, why? Because board wanted Aqib to be the NCA coach that was resisted by Inzi and the Tablighees and as a quid pro quo Mushy was reinstated, this particular news was reported by Dawn and other reputable newspapers.
Inzi acts so pious but yet does not have the courage to admit his role in appointing Mushy cause it was after all an act of blatant cronyism.
Very well said. agree 110%. Inzi may be religious and all but he is n't as honest, fair, innocent and naive as many make him out to be. Nepotism/cronyism was at the heart of some of his team selections incl. that of his old buddy Mushy (who's no angel himself btw with proven links with match-fixers in the past). That said Actor is no angel either.
Both PCB & Inzi are to blame....PCB more than Inzi as he would want his friend to be in the team so he asked for his inclusion. Its all about who you know in Pakistan. Mushtaq had really nothing to offer as an assistant coach. Maybe it was Tableegh thing that we'll go to the Caribbean and give Tableegh to those people... What do you think? Oh yes, good idea. I'll get to be the assistant coach. Who needs Waqar....lol
Actually if you think about it, the reason offered by Inzi ("he would not have made the recommendation had he been aware of the Justice Qayyum inquiry report") is entirely in line with Inzi's whole tenure as captain. He is clueless. I have said it before and I will say it again: considering Inzi is/was the captain of our national cricket team, the dude is remarkably clueless about laws of cricket. His affirmation that he was not aware of Justice Qayyum report is the same kind of excuse: "I don't know".
Another problem could be that Justice sahab wrote the report in English language and Inzi didn't read beyond Bismillah.
Actually if you think about it, the reason offered by Inzi ("he would not have made the recommendation had he been aware of the Justice Qayyum inquiry report") is entirely in line with Inzi's whole tenure as captain. He is clueless. I have said it before and I will say it again: considering Inzi is/was the captain of our national cricket team, the dude is remarkably clueless about laws of cricket. His affirmation that he was not aware of Justice Qayyum report is the same kind of excuse: "I don't know".
Another problem could be that Justice sahab wrote the report in English language and Inzi didn't read beyond Bismillah.
Sorry I don't buy this at all. goofy yes but Inzi is not as 'choocha' as you are making him out to be :)
I said 'clueless'. Not sure what you mean by 'choocha'. Do you want me to type out (again) more examples on how Inzi demonstrated his ignorance on many basic things about cricket? I take 'goofy' as someone who is kinda kidding around. Inzi is smart in many ways (his batting e.g.), but an absolute ignoramus in many others.
Last night there was a program on GEO "Battle Beyond Boundaries". The host was Moin Khan and they interviewed almost every single ex entity of PCB such as retired players, ex PCB chairs, ex selectors and so on. There were few faces that I wasn't even aware of...I am sure chacha Ehsan would recognize them. Anyway it was a very good program, the talk was about the debacle of Pak in WC07, what went wrong, who had power and why, a lot of good opinions from all these ex playes, chairs and selectors. I've recorded and in the process of uploading. I will post it in about half an hour.
I am sure cricket lovers will have something to talk about in detail. :) Stay tuned.
I said 'clueless'. Not sure what you mean by 'choocha'. Do you want me to type out (again) more examples on how Inzi demonstrated his ignorance on many basic things about cricket? I take 'goofy' as someone who is kinda kidding around. Inzi is smart in many ways (his batting e.g.), but an absolute ignoramus in many others.
^ agreed
By 'choocha' I meant Inzy (maybe ignorant about the laws of cricket, cricketing strategies etc.) but he's not as innocent and naive about things as he wants us to believe. He knew what he wanted and most of the time got (because of his stubbornness not because of any smart forward thinking) what he wanted from selectors and PCB like threatening to quit playing as a batsman in the past if the PCB sacked him as captain. The latter is a well-known fact :)
By 'choocha' I meant Inzy (maybe ignorant about the laws of cricket, cricketing strategies etc.) but he's not as innocent and naive about things as he wants us to believe. He knew what he wanted and most of the time got (because of his stubbornness not because of any smart or forward thinking) got what he wanted from selectors and PCB like threatening to quit playing as a batsman in the past if the PCB sacked him as captain. The latter is a well-known fact :)
Thats what exactly I thought about Inzi and no doubt I like him as a batsman and to some extent he was ok as a captain but I always hated him how he bluff in the media what he did and what his intentions were. On one hand he preaches so much about religion and the other hand he thinks its ok to lie and say what ever to get away...but too bad he's not good at it. The only 2 thing he's good at is batting and sleeping.