Another rant about aunties

Why are they so obsessed with other peoples complexion, built, weight, height, hair,skin and every goddamn thing basically? Do i ever tell them they are fat, old, ugly and good for nothing? And even if they have a problem, why they never say it to my face? why do they go behind my back and tell other people? What exactly is their problem? I swear i just hate women who still live mentally Pakistan and dread going to Pakistan because this problem will only multiply like bacteria.

edit - i know many non-Pakistani families who are not like this. Why are only Pakistani ladies so into it?

Re: Another rant about aunties

I think its because they have nothing better to do half the time.

I totally agree with you btw!

Grow some..................

Aunties… :yummy:

Woah insecure much? Use your blogs for ranting por favor.

Oh le ignorance… … :chai:

This is not false generalization, she speaketh the truth :nahi: It is true that desi women will examine you from head to toe like they’ve got xrays in their eyes! Every time I’ve been to Pak, every random woman has made sure to comment on what I look like. This is like the only thing about a girl that they’re interested in. It irritates me but you have to understand that they perhaps don’t mean to offend you.

Different cultures have different criteria for politeness. In the western culture, it is ok to kiss your spouse infront of everyone but it isn’t ok to comment on someone’s appearance. In the desi culture, it isn’t polite to be mushy gushy with your spouse infront of anyone but it is ok to tell someone how fat, dark, dead they look. Simple. Ignore and don’t take offense.

I know an Aunty who rant so much about her own and her family's "fair color" that it gets annoying. She is from Pathan family and pathans are normally white so whats the big deal. whenever we are talking about someone and she is around, one sentence that we always expect from her is "haan achi lerkee hai liken RUNG thora kum hai" ...WTH!

One day my wife could not take it any more and said "Hazrat Bilal ka rung kala tha. Now beat this" - Since then she has stopped doing it (well at least not when we are around).

its pity that she does it beside the fact that she is Mashallah 5 waqat Namazi and read lot of Islamic books and watch lot of Islamic programs.

Lol.. The Greatest Aunt Catcher Arls… :hehe:

Err they are obsessed with EVERYTHING precisely :chai:

Thanks Barbecue and Decent6chora, you know what i am talking about! I know an aunty too who was talking about her neighbour saying that she is pretty with nice features BUT she is dark. Since when did that become a bad thing? I would not mind it so much if Angelina Jolie, Megan Fox, Adriana Lima or someone equally gorgeous was saying this. They are below average themselves.

My point is that, are we ever going to come out of our 18th century mentality? There is more to girls than just beauty. We are getting an education, working and making money like men do. I know Pakistani women who make more money than their husbands!

And even if a girl lacks something, it is not like you dont. It kind of freaks me out how much they are obsessed with looks of other women. Like, are you a lesbian or what?

It's usually the paanch waqt namazi aunties who make comments like these because they think their gunaahs of backbiting and hurting peoples feelings will be forgiven at wudhoo time, or perhaps they have attained a superior status due to their religious committments and therefore have a god given right to diss people.

why you all doin gheebat of mothers of your friends and cousins??? :nahi:

I know many aunties and the story goes on and on :blush:

Not the moms, but those friends who wear aunty hats :chai:

what did the aunty jee say, gupper shupper?

and are you related to super soaker?

aunties are same as mullahs in my opinion.

all these ranting and venting girls are going to turn into aunties one day. They are just bura bhala kahoing their own future-selves.

i guess what tlk is saying that when they are young they pick on aunties, when they are old they pick on young'uns.. :(

I actualy agree...i LOVE going to Pakistan, the only thing i kinda dread about it is a few aunties I know...whether they say it to my face or not, why say it at all. I have one aunty who literally soends her time being critical of other women. We go to a wedding, and its "oh, look how white the bride is, She looks like a ghost". We go to a dinner oarty, and its "oh, look at that girl, she is fat"...and the list goes on. I tries telling her that I hate this and I dont bother looking at people and judging, but she continues. She has also told me to my face that I need to lose ten pounds (1st time she met me) and I was like, dont you know the meaning of tact woman? Anyhow, how miserable of a human being to you have to be in order to find so much contentment in putting others down.