(Another one makes it to the headlines) Inzamam blames ODIs for injuries

Inzamam blames ODIs for injuries

KARACHI, June 17: Pakistan captain Inzamamul Haq blames the hectic international schedule for the injury problems experienced by all Test-playing nations.

Pakistan have lost two of their leading pace bowlers, Shoaib Akhtar and Rana Navedul Hasan, to injuries before their tour of England starting this month.

“It is not just Pakistan that has to contend with injuries to its players. You look at the other teams and it is the same,” Inzamam said on Saturday.

“I think the number of ODIs being played these days is a key reason for players, especially the bowlers struggling with their fitness,” he said.

Inzamam said at the last captains’ meeting held in Sydney by the ICC the unanimous opinion was that the number of one-dayers needed to be limited.

“Playing the Tests is not an issue with players because you get time to rest between games and recover from niggling fitness problems,” he said. “It is the one-dayers that put strain on us.”

“You have to travel a lot between one-day matches and players get little time to recoup and start afresh. Eventually it gets a bit cumbersome.”—Reuters

Dawn

Back to square one, are we? Placing the blame on minutely petite irrelevant sketchy items that are not even a part of the picture in the first place. Did, ever, EVER, a concern of sending a FULL-STRENGTH squad into those long-distance God awful Tamasha matches thought of before this “I think the number of ODIs being played these days is a key reason for players, especially the bowlers struggling with their fitness" garbage statement was brought up? Of course, how could that have happened. It would have been a sin against nature. Those parasites in PCB were offered a hefty briefcase from their counter-parts and given their Dil Jeet Lo nature, they just couldn’t refuse it.

Oh, and "It is not just Pakistan that has to contend with injuries to its players. You look at the other teams and it is the same”…Yes, Mr. President, seeing is believing.

Let us all wait for the second string of Tamasha matches being held in the same venue this year as it was the last time around. Do notice Faisal Iqbal getting his much-deserved role of the ‘waterboy’ as the captain himself will hog the spotlight all by himself, with an utter refusal to pass the torch to the next generation and giving a chance to younger and upcoming players in the side.

Taking complete responsibility when a team wins (yes, yes, we all know, TEH BOYZZZ get credit too) but conveniently blame everything and everyone under the sun, with the exception of self, when the tables are turned without a millimeter or an inch of a thought. Typical. Just typical.

Re: (Another one makes it to the headlines) Inzamam blames ODIs for injuries

Haha, you took the words out of my mouth dhobi bhai. Like I said, more lip service. I never thought I would say this, but I am looking forward to seeing the back of Inzi after the WC.

It is not Inzi who is injured. What he is saying is correct. Look at all the teams, most of them have major players missing due to injuries. Is it all a coincidence or it there something more than that. Of course the number of games being played leads to injuries. Bashing Inzi is a favorite pastime but I fail to see how seeing the back of Inzi after the world cup will make Shoaib and Rana injury free.

Ehsan bhai,
Kiun, kia Inzo ko tha hayat captain banaingay? (translated: Do u want Inzi to be ccricket captain for his entire life?). Fact is, above posts are correct in pointing out the opportunistic mentality of Inzi, when the going is good its all about him and the boyzzz, whenever something goes wrong something or someone needs to be blamed other than the chosen ones. Is it not correct that Inzi kept on complaining about too much one day cricket yet took the entire front line players for a free umrah and exhibition match against the retired Inidan eleven? How come playing in Abu Dhabi has no effec on players but whenever we have a scheduled visit there is too much cricket? Its duplicity such as this which irritates people, we all understand the need to justify ones actions, pur make a good excuse yaar, not the typical multani reasoning.

Tell me Ehsan bhai, why didnt team management know of Rana's physical problems? This thing happened long b4 team was announced, now they r looking for medical treatment and excuses to cover their tracts. Its classic deception Ehsan bhai, and yes we had Miandad, Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Zaheer Abbass like Steve Waugh all of these great players had to go one day, Iam afraid Inzi may have over stayed his day under the sun.

FG where did I say Inzi must stay beyond world cup. The issue I am raising is that what Inzi is saying is right. To bash Inzi for that statment is not correct. All the other issues you have raised are the responsibility of the PCB and not the captain.

Yaar Ehsan bhai, u r eager to absolve Inzi of all responsibility yet ignore his statement which by your standards is none of his business ie how much cricket Pcb organizes for its players. If a certain player or grouo thinks there is too much cricket being played, then they sud opt out and allow other younger and willing players the opportunity to play, thats called rotation policy.

By the way, Ehsan bhai u ignored the point on playing exhibition matches, aapkey kia khayalath hein sir, aapke Inzi ke jaan ke qassam...

FG Lets focus on what Inzi said, can you tell me what part of it is wrong or what part of the statement you don't agree with. I am not a fan of Inzi but this thread is about palyer injuries due to excessive ODI's. To start bringing other issues and blame him regardless of what he says is hardly fair. We have a blame culture and it is very easy to be an arm chair critic. We seem to have plenty of them on GS.

Exhibition matches are once in a bluemoon thing, like in 6-10 months perhaps or even at lower rate, but one-days series, tournaments are played with far more frequency.

Ehsan Bhai,
First of all, my apologies for this delayed reply. Secondly, you are absolutely right this is about players injuries caused by excessive one cricket, so if that is correct then I repeat my question, why is it OK to go for freebie Umrahs and play exhibition matches with retired Indian elevens? Then how is it OK to go and play in Abu Dhabi which again was not part of the yearly schedule. Why was Inzi willing to take the entire eleven and et al to these exhibition matches and then have the gall to complain when there is a scheduled match? Please do reply, this is no arm critic, but a simple rational request.

I said it before and say it once again - the sooner Inzi retires the better. I personally think if he doesn't announce his retirement after the world cup he will be booted out and hope he no longer has any influence in the Pakistan team once he retires even if its to be as a religious coach.

Shoaib and Rana did not play in the exhibition matches, so we really can't blame Inzamam for that. Rana got injuried during the county season...not during the exhibition matches.

I don't know what is wrong with what Inzamam said, he was the main reason Pakistan won past two three test series and we are going to ask for his retirement. Granted he is not the best captain in the world, but player injuries are not his responsibilities.

Why does everyone always have to blame Inzi,.bechaare ko chor do na,.us ke peeche kyun pare hue hai sab?

I think captain1 and man with a plan has already said what I was going to say. Just to add one more thing the matches in Abu Dhabi were for Earthquake victims, so what was wrong in that. In the other matches Shoaib and Rana did not play. Tell me please what has Inzi's statement got to do with these matches. Didi Inzi arrange them, was he at liberty to choose the team? We can go on and on but if you can prove that Shoaib and Rana got injured due to these TWO matches than I will agree with you.

Ehsan Bhai and all,
Shoaib Akhter has'nt played cricket for quite sometime, his injury has nothing to do with too much cricket or not which again contradicts Inzi's and his supporters hypothesis. As for Rana, his injury is county related not too much one day cricket, once again refuting Inzi's claim of too much one day cricket leading to injury problems. Rana is not a unique case, a professional playing for his country and trying to make a living playing for overseas contractors. Who sud we blame? Need to earn a livelihood or the need to keep baby elephants ego happy? Afterall, not everyone is so fortunate as Inzi that they can continue to playing for their national side w/o playing any domestic cricket and ignore lucrative overseas offers.

I keep repeating the same thing, so here it goes again. What Inzi is saying about too much cricket he sud hv said b4 the exhibition matches not b4 a scheduled series, these are signs of a insecure person looking for early exit routes.

^ are you not forgetting how Shoaib got out of (recent) cricket in first place?

keh lo keh lo jo kehna hai Inzi bhai ko...jub wo retire ho gaya or Pak team needed someone who could stand between the winning line and pull the victory over to Pakistan with Inzi bhai strong body than you guys will cry like babies and will request Inzi bhai to come back.

^Very True
The only reason many (not all) people like to target inzi these days is because they are pissed off at his captaincy. However what they are failing to realize is that Inzi minus his captaincy is still a valuable asset for Pakistan as a player.
Had he not been the captain which he is, no one would have questioned his position or value in the team. But now without realizing, alot of people want to see him out of the team.

Inzi will hit double century in World Cup final

^ Very well said teaser and Fkhan. Every statement he makes is criticised. I don't like him as a captain as well but we tend to forget his value and contribution as a batsmen. He s the ONLY world class batsmen we have got and no one even comes close to him in the current Pakistani team as far as batting is concerned. We are so impatient that despite the fact that he has declared that he will retire after the world cup we want to get rid of him now. Without his batting prowess we won't even make it to the second round in the world cup. We truly are a nation of mourners.