How very apolitical, and even more exemplarily professional of the honourable highnesses our Lord Judges, to openly take part in a movement, which may have started on different footings but few weeks later is nothing but political.
Haris
The whole movement is NOT about Iftikhar Chaudhary as a person but people tired of few generals meddling in all afairs of state.
This is the key, ham logooN maiN ju chori nahi ker sakta ya jisay iss ka moqa nahi milta woh kernay walay ko bura bhala kehta hay, aur saath yeh tawaqoo bhi rakhta hay kay uss say bhi baRa chor hamaray opponent chor ko pakaR sakay.
hamari halat kuch zyada hi kharab nahi ho gayee... Fraud kerna art ban gaya hay???
Justice (retd.) zahid qurban alvi made an interesting point today. He said tht people have questioned why the bench has not affirmed its support to the CJP. He asked…why is it that not a single judge has made an adverse judgment about any case while the lawyers have been on strike. He says the judges do come to their chambers but isnt it an affirmation of their support to the CJP that not a single one has made any adverse judgment on the cases due b4 them on strike days.
This, seen in the backdrop of the presence of 15 judges of the SHC at the Hyderabad Bar gives one more angel to the story.
The whole movement is NOT about Iftikhar Chaudhary as a person but people tired of few generals meddling in all afairs of state.
Yes icon.
And Flame and Dawa,
that's my point exactly.
It all revolves more around how some "...people [are] tired of few generals meddling in all afairs of state" more than anything, even more than Justice Iftikhar.
And good gesture I must say of the CJ to discourage slogans, but gestures are only that much, actions speak louder, and his actions from day 1 have been political by all means. He's riding political camels that have propelled his issue to great heights while those political camels only benefit from propelling any issue against the govt. His lawyer is a top opposition man-making it all appear a PPP game. Who would have cared for the CJ had the political parties not made this big a deal, for their gain and certainly not the honor of judiciary or the prestige and esteem and love of one man who was a judge? Now CJ Iftikhar may be in it for anything from mere survival, to being allured by the charms of becoming a hero, or perhaps even just because he's now stuck, or being excited due to finding so many 'friends & followers' suddenly. Or, to rid Pakistan of Musharraf--and that comes down to what we call politics.
Either the CJ is a fool to think all his supporters are madly in love with him or as a learned man he realizes whats going on and is playing along, then again, he's a political accomplice. For surely he must atleast realize that this same 'wuklaa bradri' has traditionally maintained silence at all matters; creation of Bangladesh, hanging of Bhutto, Zia's coup, Nawaz's trampling of SC, BB's lawlessness, Musharraf's counter-coup, his govt, his amendments and so on. What awoke them to this state of activity suddenly for the first time was nothing but heavy dozes of political steroids injected by political elements, who of course are using them. And meanwhile all lawyers have political leanings, hopes and aspirations, so they are all game. If this govt goes, the various bar councils' presidents will be found as ministers, advisors or even senators.
Excuse me sir, if slogans was ur problem, then the CJP stopped the lawyers from shouting them. What gesture? what more do u want? i read ur post and its based on inferences, and I am not going to go into an argument on what u or i infer from the whole episode. We could go on abt this forever. Moreover, I would like to point out is that CJP asked the political parties not to attend his Rawalpindi bar address or even to welcome him at the bar. This, after Mahmood Qureshi had already announced on TV that they would. Why didn't he just keep quite and let them come?
I think being the CJP he deserves a little more respect than people forming judgments about his intentions based on some inferences drawn from the lawyer behavior. If at all, u should be questioning the intentions of the COAS cum el presidente. I think the CJP has been calculated in his moves and has not made any political overtures. A host of former justices and chief justices of the supreme court do not see anything wrong with any of his actions, including Justice Waji, former CJP saeed uz zamman, the 15 justices of SHC, justice qurban alvi, former CJP sajjad ali shad and so on. only if u were in Pakistan u'd know what these former justices have to say.
t amazes me that people r ready to shove a bamboo up a justice's ass just for addressing a bar council for being too political yet they can't find anything wrong with being ruled by a 22 grade officer, who if we go by law, should be tried for treason and hanged. I find a funny every day. Or it finds me.
Haris
I am disappointed by this post of yours. This shud not be coming from a person of political understanding as yours.
The issue was first taken up by the lawyers, political parties are the ones going with the flow. Like PPP which is like being dragged into the protest just to save face.
What really caused this sudden activism on part of lawyers? everyone is wondering, perhaps even the lawyers themselves. Talat Hussain yesterday posed this question to lawyers in Sakhar Bar gathering, unfortunately they were much less articulate than i expected "lawyers" to be. Perhaps it was the uniformed President questioning CJ or mishandling of CJ.
In my opinion it just gave people an issue to express their dissatisfaction at governments performance over the last 8 years. In case of Ayub it was increase in sugar price that led to anti-ayub movement.
This is natural, i think if you give 8 years to democratic government and they perform like the current government or like they did previously, people will be out on streets asking for military take over.
Now i agree that lawyers have become too excited by all the media attention and praise, but gradually the reality will settle in. They can act as active watch dog but not like a political party.
What awoke them to this state of activity suddenly for the first time was nothing but heavy dozes of political steroids injected by political elements, who of course are using them. And meanwhile all lawyers have political leanings, hopes and aspirations, so they are all game. If this govt goes, the various bar councils' presidents will be found as ministers, advisors or even senators.
Ignorance is a bliss that manifests itself in the form of moderator ship. This is a rather amusing analysis which is so faulty I am not even going to try to correct it. Happy sailing.
Meanwhile, I continue my struggle to find any opinion maker in the papers or e-media, siding with the govt. on this issue. I think we should blame it on political ulterior motives and get on with life.
** Questions on the Judiciary crisis**
KHURRAM DASTGIR KHAN*
The man who makes his entry by leaning against an infirm door gets an unjustified reputation for violence, wrote JK Galbraith.
“Something is to be attributed to the poor state of the door.” It is time to inquire whether the lawyers and the opposition are getting an unjustified reputation for disturbance. Or something is to be attributed to the poor tactics of the President when he dismissed Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry.
Was it a dismissal? Practically, yes. Legally, no. The President first restrained the Chief Justice from working and then appointed an acting Chief Justice. The orders are of dubious legality. Realising this, the regime dusted off an edict issued by Gen Yahya Khan allowing the president to send judges on forced leave.
Can the president send the Chief Justice on forced leave? Yahya’s order is extant because the National Assembly in 1975 passed an omnibus Validation Act for pre-1973 executive orders. It is not clear whether the Validation Act had retrospective effect only or could be applied prospectively, as has been done for Justice Iftikhar. Supreme Court of Pakistan (SCP) can settle the issue.
Can the state put the Chief Justice and his family under detention? No. The Chief Justice’s and his family’s detention in the days after March 9 was a crime. It is as gross a travesty of justice for an ordinary Pakistani as for the chief judge of the highest court in the land.
Is the presidential reference constitutional? Yes. Article 209 of the constitution empowers the president to send a reference to the Supreme Judicial Council (SJC). If the SJC finds against the judge, the President may or may not dismiss the accused. If the SJC finds the charges unjustified, the President need not intervene further.
Can the president send a reference against the Chief Justice? It is not clear. The drafters of the constitution made no provisions for the present impasse. The SJC as defined in the constitution does not mention an acting Chief Justice. The question arises: Can the SJC function legally without the Chief Justice?
But the Supreme Judicial Council is constituted already? The SJC is treading on fragile legal ground. SJC is not the Supreme Court. It can only inquire and then render advice on the reference. It can neither rule on its own constitutionality nor on constitutionality of any other matter. That jurisdiction belongs solely to SCP.
Aren’t there references against members of SJC? Yes. References are pending against three judges on the SJC. If the same standard is applied to these three judges that the President applied to Justice Iftikhar, then these three should also be sent on forced leave.
Is protest against the reference contempt of court? The real question to ask: Is the SJC a court of law or, as its title suggests, merely a “council”? This is again something that SJC cannot pronounce upon. The ball again goes to SCP.
What a mess! How is it going to be resolved? The Supreme Court should first consider the Presidential orders of March 9, the forced leave order, the issue of SJC without the Chief justice, and whether the SJC is a court of law, and rule on their tenability. Only then the SJC can proceed. Alternatively, Justice Iftikhar might resign under duress. The President could spare the nation months of pain and withdraw the reference.
Why did Gen Musharraf do it? There were three actors in the five-hour drama played at President’s Camp Office in Rawalpindi on March 9. Until the President, the Prime Minister, or Justice Iftikhar tell us, we will not know why. We can, however, speculate in the context of Pakistan’s history. ‘Principled difference’ is an extinct species in Islamabad. Differences even at the highest level are motivated invariably by the necessity to prolong or augment power. It is power politics.
Why are the lawyers protesting? What is wrong with the President dismissing the Chief Justice? The protesting lawyers believe in judicial independence, a notion hitherto practiced rarely in Pakistan.
Judicial independence originates in part from the concept of ‘separation of powers.’ SCP has called it “Trichotomy of Powers.” Simply put: Concentration of power in one hand is a recipe for disaster. If the judiciary is not separated from the legislative and executive, then it is likely that the executive will abuse its power and destroy constitutional liberties of the people.
Why is the government, from the President downward, bemoaning ‘politicisation’ of the issue? What is wrong with that? Nothing. It is an irony that a regime founded on ravaging the constitution is hiding behind the same constitution in order to deflect the universal disgrace it has brought upon itself. Every action by the executive that impinges on other branches of government is fundamentally political, until proven otherwise.
The dismissal of a Chief Justice is of such elementary importance to the justice system that it cannot be held to be a purely legal matter. It concerns every citizen of Pakistan.
What about opposition parties? The vigour of the lawyers’ protest caught the opposition by surprise. The protests on April 3 and 13 showed that political parties are taking the lead. Both PPP and PML-N have skeletons in the judicial closet. MMA and PPP wish to boost their tarnished anti-government credentials. The challenge for the opposition is to convince the public that the judiciary issue is connected to other failings of the regime ie, collapsing law and order, spiraling inflation and poverty, and a groveling foreign policy.
Will the present government fall? Probably not. The protests have manifested unpopularity of the regime, and have weakened it domestically and internationally. Yet Pakistan in its 60-year history has no precedent of fall of a government as a result of protest. No president or prime minister has handed over power peacefully to their successor. The establishment has garrisoned the state of Pakistan. The garrison is unlikely to be breached.
I dislike the government and distrust the opposition. Is neutrality an option? No. Neutrality means aligning oneself with the status quo. Either one is part of the problem or part of the solution. Each Pakistani has to decide today where he stands.
The writer is a former Special Assistant to the Prime Minister (NS that is)
maybe to deceive people and create an impression about his being extremely apolitical? It seems it worked on many.
But what matters is, his saying so at this stage doesn’t matter at all. All political thrust was gained within the first 3 days. whatever he says or doesn’t say will not deflate the political helium from this balloon now. He thinks he’s batting, while infact he’s not. Ever wonder what will happen if Aitezaz refuses to represent him!?
if ‘ANY of his actions’ also includes what the reference is actually based upon, i.e bending the rules for his son while being the CJP, and it’s not wrong according to these esteemed characters you mentioned, then so be it. And till the day that is considered right, I wouldn’t want to tolerate hearing how a uniformed president’s status is illegal, why not let it be too because he is after all the most powerful man in Pakistan? If a CJ pleases himself to whatever and is called correct, why should the president face music? But if a day comes when wrong is considered wrong, maybe some will realize that he *was *wrong to start with. who else may have been wrong shouldnt be a question when addressing a wrong. *Chori phir seena zori *doesnt make *chori *legal.
True…If I were in the Pakistan I dream of…
But, your repeated mention of inferences is interesting, how is your opinion anything more than inference from whatever info, primary or secondary, you gather?
Any idea how many other major offenses directly calling for capital punishment are left unchecked everyday?
I come across selective and preferential opinions every day, or they come across me…
Ignorance is a bliss that manifests itself in the form of moderator ship. This is a rather amusing analysis which is so faulty I am not even going to try to correct it. Happy sailing.
tch tch.
Oh I'm sorry yes, I get it, every opinion right now that doesn't seem right to you is either inference *or out of *ignorance, and you wouldn't bother thinking about any other views other than labeling all faulty and not bothering to properly understand them. my bad really...
not on some. especially people who dont matter…such as the opinion makers?!
long b4 u asked
condemn him unheard..guilty until proven innocent..selective application of law. I like the inverse sense of justice u got going there.
I am not going to go into the merits of the reference. That is for the SJC to decide. But if jiski lathi uski bhens is the guiding principle here, and the whole equation of morality in Pakiland is in the negative, then going by ur own argument, the CJP’s alleged actions should not be out of place. If anything they should help the illegal structure created by an illegal president. Why single him out?
for ur argument to hold, the CJP has to be proven guilty. As we speak he is not. And if and when he is, I’d like to see the supporters of the biggest *chor *initiating a reference of treason against him. DO i have ur word on it?
Is that the best u can do? Why dont we have more of such variety. People who dream…wake up and… well dream some more.
I am not inferring anything. I am stating what I see.
Observe: CJP is invited by Pindi bar. He accepts. Mahmood Qureshi goes on TV and says the PPP and other parties will welcome him at the bar. CJP stops them. They stop. I take it on face value. No inference.
Observe again: Lawyers at Pindi bar shout slogan, CJP stops them. They stop. I take it on face value. No inference.
Observe yet again: CJP goes to Sukkur bar. Lawyers raise slogans. CJP stops them. They stop. I take it on face value. No inference.
And again: Formers justices and CJPs r asked if CJP has done anything objectionable during his address, they say he’s upheld the tradition of the CJP’s and not anything objectionable. I take it on face value. No inference.
Can the same be said abt you? Of course not.
Self contradiction. Interesting.
If opinion supporting the CJP is selective and preferential, then u should be coming across it a lot these days.
First please be informed that what I say is not limited to what goes on at Bar Councils and his addresses there amidst slogans. Rather all what goes in the name of the CJ’s *prestige *these days, esp at Constitution Avenue Isl every time there’s a hearing.
So when I mention what the reference against him is about, he is supposed to be innocent till proven guilty and my sense of justice is inverse.
And when I talk about whether his actions mentioned in the allegations are considered *right *or *wrong *(and not legal or illegal) you bring this card;
Actually it was you who said so and so and a few more found nothing wrong with his actions thereby adding weight to the impression that jis ki lathi uski bhens, and you endorsed that. If it isn’t so, shouldn’t those you mentioned state somewhere that the allegations in the reference are infact wrong acts that should not be committed, atleast not by a CJ. Or are they too waiting for the SJC verdict to decide whether they think his actions as mentioned in the reference are right or wrong? Some equation of morality.
it goes back in circle to the above argument. what connection says that if CJ is found guilty the Pro-Musharraf should admit he’s guilty of becoming head of state too…the only comparison was shown to mirror the fact that while many ProCJ are AntiMush and term his takeover wrong, while the actions of the CJ are in waiting to be declared right or wrong depending on what the SJC does.
Plus what makes Musharraf the biggest *chor *i.e. thief? First he may be many other things but not a chor, and if he is, he may certainly not e the biggest in Pakistan, guaranteed.
Not the best, but also not the least I can do. There’s breed of Pakistanis that refuse even to dream for Pakistan, but are all alert to gain from Pakistan and absent when it comes to giving.
Plus, a dream was where Iqbal was inspired, and a dream was where Jinnah had begun.
If dreaming is such lowly an act, enlighten us about what have you ‘done’?
Actually yes, what I state is also based on what I see, the diff is in the eye, and the fact that you’re talking about what you see at micro level i.e. isolated events at this bar and that. (btw are you a wakeel and did you watch them live and are you following him to all bars he visits or did you watch them on some TV?) While I talk collectively about what I see or saw during the past four weeks. There’s little inference, everything that happens is for all to see, but what can be done if even vision is selective.
No contradictions, a fact is a fact. If one wants everything by the book, they should also start from page 1 of that book.
So what goes on outside the SJC, right/wrong? Legal/illegal?
U don’t just mention it
U pass judgments based on allegations that have not been proven in the court. Otherwise, why r u telling me appointing ur son through favors is wrong? I already know.
I was under the impression that we were talking about the CJP’s address to the bar. Those comments were in reference to that.
The connection that says selective application of law. All else equal, If u r going to hold accountable the head of one pillar of the state for breaking the law, then I dont see why u urself should not present urself for accountability. Why does no law exist for the general. oh wait. it does. Its called Article 6.
Alright. U dont like people showering Mushy with all sorts of pleasantries or u cant understand the support for a corrupt CJP? Whatever the reason, lets say Mushy uncle is only alleged to have suspended the constitution, <Did Mushy do this out of force of habit…“suspend” the CJP? Didnt work this time, did it?:hehe:> would u be willing to support a petition against him to be tried for treason. Its a noble cause, besides dreaming.
Anyway, I belive I asked a simple question, with a yes/no answer. Would u be willing to be part of a petition that seeks to try the tin pot warrior for high treason? Yes/ No? How simple is that?
And ur guarantee is worth exactly what? Try giving these guarantees to the hari’s in Okara.
I pay taxes. And some ass hole who I thought I was paying to defend my borders comes and imposes himself on me. Thats like my own *chowkeedar *robbing me in day-light. Please excuse the French. I’d be more than just upset abt it. There’s a word for such variety in Urdu…oh yeah. namak haram.
The discussion started from a micro event that u picked up. Now u changing goal posts. What can I do? And if u really prefer macro over micro..lets see things in an even bigger picture here:
Junta vs Judiciary. U r supporting a dictator against the Chief Justice. And correct me if I am wrong, but suspending the constitution by force is a lot wronger than the wrongs committed by CJP. And el presidante should be held accountable for it. For all I care, fry the CJP if he’s proven but dont hurt my intelligence by dipping the president in honey, and taking the moral high ground of dreaming for pakistan. Such dreams, we r better without. The messiah from barracks needs to be roasted for his crimes. Thats ur bigger picture. As for ur questions, I am neither a wakeel nor part of any political party. Hope this clears any confusions u might have.
Now u talking. Article six comes a heck of a long time before article 209. 1999 also comes a heck of a long time before 2005. Whichever way u choose to look at it, the General i corked.
**Poet, cricketer join hands with lawyers
**ISLAMABAD: Support for suspended Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry swelled on Wednesday as a famous poet and a former Test cricketer attended a demonstration of lawyers outside the Supreme Court where the Supreme Judicial Council (SJC) resumed the hearing into the presidential reference against the CJP.
Ahmed Faraz and Majid Khan were prominent among the protesters. A huge number of protestors were seen on Constitutional Avenue, shouting slogans against President Gen Pervez Musharraf for suspending Justice Chaudhry. “We are here to show our solidarity with the judiciary the generals tried to bury by filing a reference against CJP,” Ahmad Faraz, a renowned poet, told reporters. “I think every poet with conscience is with the CJP. They believe the judiciary to be the main pillar of the state. General Musharraf should not be allowed to demolish it,” he said. Faraz, who came all the way from Peshawar to attend the protest, said some poets were still reluctant to join ongoing protests. “Yes. I participated in the protest in favour of the chief justice but I don’t want to offer any comment,” said Majid Khan when Daily Times sought his comments on the reference. staff report
No more quotes this time, just a few points;
change of goal posts it may seem to you since you were the one assuming I had been talking in this context exclusively of this bar council address. Though initiated referring to it, it wasn’t too hard to deduce my comments were on what has been going on since last month.
As for your noble cause, it may be one, but is supporting the CJ one too? And yes I’d address my attention to this noble cause the day all more pressing noble causes in Pakistan are addressed first, which have been neglected not since 1999 but way back. And meanwhile what would you agree to do if the CJ is eventually found guilty?
As for the chowkidaar; the diff lies in how you feel abt those *chowkidars *in the first place, which reflects in your language. anyone defending me and ready to lay life for whatever reward, is more than just a chowkidar. there are lots of other more *lowly *servants in the hierarchy of govt servants to be held accountable for your tax-money and their duties and services before getting to judge the khakis. You may hire and pay someone to cook, clean, wash, entertain you, you cant hire someone to die for you, and by you I mean what’s us and ours; Pakistan. They are a breed apart for their willingness to die for Pakistan. Of course some questionable elements aren’t 0 anywhere. And by your example, I’d also wonder if you consider the PM/President and ministers your servants too? Technically they, as well as khakis, are, but the protocols of dealing with servants vary, servant to servant, house to house. Plus, why are only the *chowkidars *always facing the brunt? Aren’t the various *diwans *and *munshis *much more to blame? Have the presidents and prime ministers of the past always been angels? Where is the public wrath when they smuggle valuable antiques to their palaces abroad? Where is the wrath and hatred when they steal money from the public; their tax money, their foreign currency accounts, their donations, and build their palaces in the heart of Pakistan on Pakistani money, make their pvt palaces official second PM residences and grant their selves massive privileges there? why dont people realize its their money ad they their servants then? why the anger for the khaki only?
And, the support for the *dictator *is not synonymous with opposing the CJ. The point is simply that for anyone hell bent on getting rid of Musharraf, the CJ and his issue is a god-sent opportunity to try and get rid of him. And all the wrongs attached with Musharraf come up. But why was this CJ and those preceding him so silent about those wrongs till March 2007, which were suddenly uncovered last month? They were all considered right by this very CJ till he was in the good books, the moment he sensed hostilities and changed stance, all wrongs, dating as back as 1999 have started floating.
And yes 1999 before 2005, 6 before 209…But also Sharif before Musharraf, BB before Sharif, Zia before her, Bhutto before him and so on…the misery didn’t start in 1999 you know.
My concern is not whether the CJ is a good guy or bad, heck I’d still call him my CJP if the govt withdraws the reference tomorrow and not raise any hue-cry against him. Whether his actions are considered right or wrong would then depend from person to person, and for those that have mattered during this campaign to decide what to publicly label them for history to remember. My concern is simply, why take this opportunity to raise all issues against Musharraf to get rid of him? If you feel I’m against the CJ because I’m pro-Mush. Then are you with the CJ just because youre anti-Mush?
The CJ was on the team of pro-dictator Musharraf-Army-constitution suspending-advisors-wizards who sided with the Mush govt after 1999 and was also one of the few who played a role in requesting Rafiq Tarar and relieving him of his presidency in 2001.
And yes 1999 before 2005, 6 before 209...But also Sharif before Musharraf, BB before Sharif, Zia before her, Bhutto before him and so on...the misery didn't start in 1999 you know.
true but supporting treason while selectively condemning corruption is not a defensible argument in any normal world, which ever end you start from..
Assumptions…what assumption? Is suspension of constitution by Mush and co. an assumption? Are the Chaudhary’s of Gujrat, the Faisal Saleh Hayats of wherever and Sherpao’s of somewhere, being part of the Mush tag team, an assumption? Is NAB closing the Bhutto trial office an assumption? Is taking over of hundreds of kanals of hari zameen in Okara an assumption? Is the capitulation of the govt. in Jamia Hafsa an assumption? Is changing 3 PM’s in 3 months and making a mockery of the country an assumption? Is mass rigging of the elections an assumption? Is a farcical referendum to get elected an assumption? Is being only the 4 countries of the world to be ruled by military an assumption? Of course not. Those r not assumptions I’ll tell u what assumption is.
Assumption is trying to suspend the CJP cuz he might give a verdict against the uniform
Assumption is trying to fire the CJP cuz he might give a verdict against dual nationality holders in the assembly.
Assumption is trying to make deals with the same overlords who u diss now.
I say be careful for tomorrow u might have to bend to those who u paint with black today. Thats the path ur man in khaki, the supreme commander of all that is pure and leader of the honest brigade has chosen for you.
You have refused to either support or reject the noble cause. Do I take it as a No? I have already responded to ur question abt what I would do if the CJP is found guilty. U’ll find it in my last post. Hint: The frying part. Do not take it literally though.
Lastly, I think it needs no clarification but since you asked, yes I am supporting a noble cause. I am supporting the CJP. U r supporting a dictator. Who’s noble, who’s not. Let the audience be the judge.
hey I don’t remember hiring this *chowkidar *to conquer his own country. I hired him to fight someone with a gun, not someone with a pen. He gives me no alternative but to reserve the choicest of words for him. This is not a reflection of how I feel for the soldier grinding his ass in the field. No way. But I do have an issue with generals having swimming pools in their residences and half a dozen cars for personal use. How can u expect them to fight? How shameful. Incapable of mustering enough courage to finger the enemy, they’ve turned on the very hand that feeds them. What does it say about the general and his team of patloon wearing yes men. Look at them capitulate like teddy bears in front of jamia hafsa. I say HA HA. Serves them right.
Not in a thousand years could I have imagined to write an indictment as damning to the President as you urself have done. So I would like to take this opportunity and say THANK YOU sir. U have made my job a lot easier.
I am not going to defend NS or BB. I never voted for them. So I refuse to carry the burden of their deeds or misdeeds. So please aim ur guns somewhere else. I would like to ask u answer ur own question, however. Why are the looters and plunderers of the national wealth not being dealt with? Why instead of being in the jail, they r either in London, Dubai or in cabinet? And if the recent news of the deal r to be believed, it is further indictment against the general and his cabal of henchmen. WHY? Is it for national security or personal security? The general is no different than NS or BB when it comes to power politics. If anything he’s proving to be much worse. Will u continue to praise the lord if he makes a deal with those u diss? Think fast.
Say it louder sir, cuz I don’t hear u condemn other justices of the same bench who sided with Mush. They were as much part of the same political wheel dealing as the CJP. Why be selective? R v so blind as to not even think for ourself? Do we think based on govt. press releases? Aren’t u the one who came up with this:
What happened?
Also, realize that the more u question the CJP’s actions, the more it boomerangs on ur own general. The more dirt u throw on him to make ur case stronger, the weaker u will get in defending the general. Its an inverse relationship. If he’s so bad, Y did the general choose such a judge in the first place? Y did u not object then? Were u sleeping? Why now? Is this an indictment on the general’s choice or on the judge’s behavior? I hope u understand what I am trying to say.
Also ponder over this, if this judge is so bad..read the Bukhari letter, then lawyers should be celebrating his dismissal. Much like the police in Karachi Why r they supporting him? Why has this judge radicalized the opinion so much? Mush has sent judges home before. Whats different this time? R u going to sweep everything under the carpet of political ambitions? I think not. It would be a tragedy to think so. Heck even govt. doesnt accuse the lawyers for being political. I hope we r not more loyal than the king.
Thats what i am saying. What has Mushy uncle done in 7.5 years of his rule? He let NS go foreign govt’s jumped in. But did he hold NS for corruption or for personal reasons? If for corruption, then why did he let him go? It was for the nation to decide. If for personal reasons, then why not for corruption? U must realize, u cant have the cake and eat it too. U praise the general yet u criticize the very elements he is in bed with.
I am not anti-Mush. In fact, I’ve defended him in Gilgit, where the situation is so bad and the hatred for army so much its almost like u r in an occupied country. Imagine the rangers entering homes and dragging women out grabbing their hair. Firing INTO the civilians. Needless to say them guys r not exactly in love with mush. BUT I defended him in all the political discussions with my local hosts. I defended him in my village where my farmer cousin lamented the lack of trickle down. I defended him against my uncle in air force. U should know, for sake of clarity of positions, I have been an ardent supporter of Mush all along. But never in my wildest imagination did I realize he would take such a stupid stupid action. My respect for Mush evaporated overnight. I may have preferred Mushy over NS and BB but I don’t prefer him over my judiciary. Having played his cards, its obvious Mush will not stop at anything to stay in power. Its a wrong idea and can have harmful consequences. I have no personal enmity or personal affection for Mush or CJP, I am only defending the judiciary and u have my word, I will continue to do so.
Yes...haris bhai..no doubt..that General..in some cases..like a Q Khan ..War against terrorism...and few other matters did excellent.....
but this was not acceptable that what he did with CJ......only to fear that presendilal elections and uniform matters will be going not so far...and CJ bold actions can put general in a hole....thats why he first threatened him..as he thought...in uniform..army house ..3 general.......chaudry would "yarak" jai ga and will resign...but unexpectedly...he refused...and from there the whole table turned......
and beleieve me...if such allegations are considered....90 % of Pakitani nation have to face the courts and sanctions ...believe me.....