Another Khan in squash comes along

http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&u=/ap/20020724/ap_wo_en_po/sports_commonwealth_games_khan_dynasty_1

Carla Khan looking to extend Pakistani family’s squash dynasty
Wed Jul 24,11:29 AM ET
By BARRY HATTON, Associated Press Writer

MANCHESTER, England - Carla Khan’s appearance at the Commonwealth Games marks not only the debut in the tournament of a 20-year-old player tipped to become a star of world squash.

It also extends a tradition in her Pakistani family which began more than 40 years ago when her grandfather won four straight titles to become one of the sport’s all-time greats.

Azam Khan won four straight British Open titles — then regarded as the world championship — from 1959-62.

That came after his older brother, Hashim Khan, won it seven times in the 1950s.

Now it’s Carla’s turn to try and stamp her mark.

Its about time we continued our legacy in squash after Jehangir and Jansher... I wish this gentleman best of luck, and hope that our squash federation does a better job...

Wonderful News

A young person’s dreams of representing her country have been dashed out… This is very unfair to the great Azam Khan’s daughter!!!

Khan denied Games place

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/_38156883_khan_300.jpg

Former England junior squash player Carla Khan has been sent home from the Commonwealth Games after officials ruled she was not eligible to represent Pakistan.
Commonwealth Games Federation chief Mike Hooper said the CGF’s executive board had received information which raised doubts about its initial decision to admit Khan.

Hooper explained that the earlier ruling to give English-born Khan the all-clear had been based on information provided by Pakistani officials.

“As a consequence of that decision, a few days later information became available via a third party that drew some doubts about the previous information,” he said.

Hooper would not give details of the nature of the new information, but said the Pakistan team had subsequently been asked to explain Khan’s circumstances.

“They made a frank admission that she wasn’t eligible,” he added.

Nicol slams Scots authorities
Hooper stressed that there was no suspicion that the initial information might have been deliberately incomplete or misleading.

Khan, 20, is the granddaughter of Azam Khan, the four-time British Open champion from 1959 to 1962.

She holds dual nationality as her father is from Peshawar in Pakistan and her mother is British.

She represented England as a junior in 1997 but switched her allegiance last year before becoming Pakistan’s national champion.

Games rules state that an athlete must have lived in his or her country for two of the last three years to be eligible.

Pakistan team manager Air Marshal Saeed Qasir Hussain admitted he was disappointed by the decision.

"She is ranked 46 in the world, but she is a great ambassador to promote women’s squash in Pakistan.

"She enabled us to enter a team in the mixed doubles and increased the Pakistan women’s squad from six to seven members.

"Her addition sent out a positive message.

“Rules are rules though, and we respect this decision.”
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport3/commonwealthgames2002/hi/squash/newsid_2151000/2151462.stm

[This message has been edited by Spock (edited July 25, 2002).]

It’s a bad news Pakistan, indeed

**** 'em what about the Israeli sports who own double nationality almost every player....
....that is not unfair right?!

idiots

“meRe SoOnE kE joOtE naHi." -- ShiNoO*© ...*
"yoUr comManD iS mY wiSH." -- ShiNoO*© ...*
"mE tO hooN hI BurRA." -- Ali_R 'n SHuJ*©*

Originally posted by Ali_R:
****** 'em what about the Israeli sports who own double nationality almost every player....
....that is not unfair right?!

idiots

Ali, from what I have heard from a friend, who is a relative of carla... It was the mistake of our Pakistani commission. They were the ones who in the end made it clear she could not participate... Leave the rest to the idiotic euro-colonist racists not to allow her to represent a country they hate... Both the Pak commission and the europeans are to blame!!

Originally posted by Spock:
** Ali, from what I have heard from a friend, who is a relative of carla... It was the mistake of our Pakistani commission. They were the ones who in the end made it clear she could not participate... Leave the rest to the idiotic euro-colonist racists not to allow her to represent a country they hate... Both the Pak commission and the europeans are to blame!!

Whosoever it is it ain't fair anyway.
Even if its the Pakistani Community I will be acting as I did in that post.
It simply sucks!!!!

“meRe SoOnE kE joOtE naHi." -- ShiNoO*© ...*
"yoUr comManD iS mY wiSH." -- ShiNoO*© ...*
"mE tO hooN hI BurRA." -- Ali_R 'n SHuJ*©*

Pakistan keep squash in the family

Three cousins are included in the four-man squad selected by the Pakistan Squash Federation (PSF).

World no 21 Mansoor Zaman, son of former British Open champion Qamar Zaman, will be joined by cousins Shahid Zaman and Farrukh Zaman. Shamsul Islam completes the team, who will all compete in both the men's singles and doubles.

Originally posted by Ali_R:
** Whosoever it is it ain't fair anyway.
Even if its the Pakistani Community I will be acting as I did in that post.
It simply sucks!!!!

True yar... Im also very disspointed like you...

It also saddens me, I mean she was a Pakistani living abroad and wanted to represent her country, and this commonwealth thing must have hurt her feelings...

Mansoor Zaman and Shah Zaman have made it to the last sixteen in the tournament.

Mansoor Zaman will play J. Power, the current number 2 in the world, and therfore will face a formidable opponent, and Shah Zaman will play Boswell from Australia.

Good Luck to both of them.

Both Mansoor Zaman and Shah Zaman lost in the last 16 round and therefore all Pakistanis are out of hte tournament. Pakistan’s current dismal performance in squash continues.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

Salam guys (especially Spock!)

Very sad news indeed, the worst part was she was granted a waiver to appear in the Games, and I think it was just a day before the opening ceremony, when she was told it was withdrawn ("because of new information brought to their attention") she had already started practicing for the games with the team which I think adds insult to injuiry.
She's the second player, to be dropped like this, the other was Zafar Shah in athletics.

Another Pic…

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/ckhn1101.gif

Shes alot prettier in my pic though!

shez pretty

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…