another issue

so other than feeding, sleeping during the day is like museebat ko dawat dena. the 2month old simply wont sleep!

they r supposed to be sleeping 15 hours atleast in a 24 hour period. my son has made a joke out of it. he sleeps max 9 hours!!!

what do i do to get him to nap during the day! i thought increasing his feed would give him a full stomach so he would sleep. didnt happen!. he sleeps only for an hour during the day. ya he falls asleep quite a bit but the magic doesnt last for more than 10 mins each time, other than that one hour window to paradise once a day :crying:

needless to say meri shakal aaj kul dekh ne wali nahi hai. i could easily fib bout my husband punching my eyes black and blue and ppl will believe me!

help again

Re: another issue

When he wakes up from a short nap, does he wake up peacefully or crying? The reason I am asking is perhaps he has some gas or colic which causes him to stay up, but maybe not if he doesn't cry. What does his pediatrician say? Do you put him to sleep in a nice quiet room in his crib, etc all comfy. Perhaps try singing lullaby or would he fall asleep to the motion of a mobile or a soothing CD perhaps? Maybe make it a routine. Say naptime is 12 in afternoon, before that work him up a little so he gets tired, then give him a quick little warm bath, a massage and lay him down to sleep. Perhaps turn the mobile on and see if that soothes him to sleep.

as Afro said, make bathtime a daily routine
and differentiate between night and daytime, baby knows that at night he is in the bedroom in the dark with a nightlight and its quiet around him, in the day i would put my son to sleep in the living room, he would know that i was around, he'd wake up see me and then go back to sleep....this way he slept very well at night,

thanks for ure reply girlies..

first off.. bathtime i save for evenings cuz he sleeps well after that.. say 4 hours.. i dont want to use my lucky card by giving a bath to him in the day cuz then he doesnt get that 4 hour continuous sleep at night (or dare i say, i dont :smiley: )

he plays a lot mashallah during the day and finally starts falling asleep when i give him his bottle.. and he is out like a light bulb but it only lasts 15 mins.. i try to put him back to sleep once he does wake up but nothing works.. no lullaby, no pacifier, nothing.. he is just up and FRESH..

though he does wake up wimpering.. he doesnt have any signs of being colic though.. he does have minor gas issues .. could that be it?

im thinkig his feeding issues have something to do with his sleeping pattern.

he takes way too long to drink his milk and falls asleep drinking it.. probalby takes him an hour to drink 5 oz.. by the time he is done drinking the last bit, the first ozs are probably digested.. so even if he does fall asleep, its not gonna be a long nap cuz his tummy will alread be empty… ???

i dont want to believe that he just doesnt like sleeping :crying:

If he starts falling asleep when he's drinking milk, take off some of his clothes so he can't get too comfy and cozy. Don't cover him with a blanket ... make sure he's cool when drinking.

achi museebath hai bhai… babies are like rocket science i guess! probably harder! good thing they are cute otherwise out htey go. :snooty:

If he takes that long to finish maybe you could try a different nipple. They have different size openings - the newborn ones have a really tiny opening to keep the flow down. So maybe try the 6 month nipples with the larger opening? If he seems gassy, there are infant gas drops that really work well.

Lol it seems like we have produced babies who defy all norms. Kanzah is like that too. She has been going to bed at midnight and waking at 7 and fresh as ever maashaAllah. How she does it when i am walking around like a zombie is beyond me. I am now just going with the flow.

Sorry no advice, just sympathies.

Something else to try is adding a bit of baby cereal to the bottle. I've known some mothers who did this at very early ages and it seemed to do the trick, helping baby sleep more and sleep better. Some babies just have a greater need for more food than others.

I dont know the details about how much cereal to add and at what age you can start adding it....maybe someone else here can help?

not sure about the cereal, sorry
but what formula are you using, maybe you should use the next stage formula which would be more fortifying and definitely change the teat, dont use newborn teats for him