Another bowling coach co-opted

Pakistan have added former England paceman John Snow to help out bowling coach Waqar Younis. Snow is an old friend of the tourists’ coach Bob Woolmer.

In the presence of Waqar younis I dont see what further value John Snow will add. Jobs for friends it seems. This stinks.

Re: Another bowling coach co-opted

I think this is an insult to Waqar Younsis, Pakistan already has a bowling coach so why does he need John Snow? If Bob Woolmer felt Waqar Younis wasn’t the right man for the job then he should have made his views known before he was appointed.

Does anyone know if Waqar Younis has travelled or will be joining the squad in England? If so why would you need 2 bowling coaches? What sense does this make? It would send wrong signals or create a bad impression about Waqar Younis.

What difference would John Snow make? Pakistan previously had Daryl Foster as a bowling consultant/coach for short terms. I don’t think that made much difference to the bowling. Since Waqar Younis appointment – there has been some positive results and obviously you can’t change things overnight and he will need more time to achieve the desired results.

I know Waqar Younis doesn’t have great deal of coaching experience and is neither a qualified coach – however he is probably the best choice from the available ex players within Pakistan and should be given time and left alone to do his job without the need to appoint friends of coaches or the captain of the team.

Loot paigaee hai, langar butra hai kia....someone needs to ask Pcb ppl as to why the need for so many coaches for A national side? If these guys are not ready to play on the International cicrcuit then there is something fundamentally wrong with our cricketing structure, selection process and style of managment totally dependent upon foreign assistance.

What in God's name is this guy doing on board? FOR THE SAKE OF CHRIST, why would you want to trash Waqar aside and create inconsistency in the team? Haven't we had enough of these God damn coaches already?

Those chamchay and cheelay sitting in the high-fashioned air-conditioned offices in PCB have a collective IQ below the average room temperature. All, including that miserable Mr. high-grade himself Wasim Bari, should have their legs and hands tied behind their back, dragged all the way across town in bright daylight leaving sore marks across their foreheads and should be left to the mercy of stray dogs, wolves and other human-eating carnivores. Imbecile cretin.

andha batayan rewRian apnay hi apnon ko.

Inzi appointed Mushtaq as assistant bowling coach
Bob wooli appointed someone as physio now as co-bowling-coach :clap:

This sounds to me like precision boombing of our own abundant resources ahead of the world cup. Not a good idea of too many chefs to cook this broth.
:smilestar:

I for one would like to see if Snow could transform the bowlers into a better finished product. He is miles ahead of Waqar Younis as a bowling coach and has already given Pakistan cricket a legend in the shape of Imran Khan. Remember it was Snow and Proctor that guided Imran during his initial years and they worked on his side on action which helped him not only generate a lot more speed but also made his in dippers that much more deadly.

If Sami and others could learn a little from him whats the big deal ? Plus Waqar was not appointed the full time bowling coach for the national side. He was suppose to work with the national cricket acadmey with upcoming talent and polish their skills and make them ready for the higher level.

In terms of coaching, Snow and Waqar are in different leagues altogether. Nobody can deny the fact of Imran getting polished by Snow. By virtue of this fact alone, Snow’s appointment shouldn’t be seen that bad.

Will Snow's appointment affect Waqars attitude and will he be committed 100%? I hope he remains committed however there will always be a question what the PCB will do next - therefore it can affect him in one way or the other.

Giving tips and guidance while you are a player yourself is one thing, coaching is quite another. How many coaching assignments has snow done since he retired??? While we are at it we might as well hire bob Willis and Botham on short term assignments as well, I am sure they will be able to guide our palyers as well. :)

I won't be jumping to the conclusions until we get to know the nature of this appointment.
Haven't read anything anywere yet, however I am assuming it is short term only for the tour of England. If that is the case than I think it is a good move and there is nothing wrong. John Snow can provide some helpful tips to the bowlers about English conditions.

I personally think that people have different styles when doing their job. When woolmer has been given this huge responsibility of coaching our side then we have to have confidence in him. Being a qualified coach if he thinks that getting help from John Snow would be beneficial for our bowlers in England, that we must give him a chance.

^ Soon we will have more short term coaches than players. What do we have as a team, bunch of amateurs who need all sort of short term coaches???? If our bowlers perform well during this tour it will be because og their own talent and whatever coaching they have previously had a few tips from freeloaders like John Snow are hardly going to help.

No doubt, the current fast bowling lineup for this tour is talented enough to perform well however they also lack experience in English conditions. It is not like the previous bowling attacks featuring Waqar and Wasim. On top of that we are missing 2 bowlers who are most experienced in English conditions i.e Rana and Shoaib.
Asif, Gul, Sami and Shahid Nazir will definitely be needing all the help they can get regarding English conditions and I don't see any harm in having someone who knows a bit more than they do.

They should have 11 coaches.

Next thing you know is John Snow acquiring his own bowling assistant from Yorkshire

:grumpy:

Well if Mushtaq can be a bowling coach then anything can happen.

I asked Woolmer about John Snow and the nature of this appointmment. Here is his reply

We did not appoint John Snow I asked if he could come up and give me an opinion and work with Waqar for two days he is a brilliant cricketing brain especially when it comes to bowling.
I learn from him every time I speak to him.
Bob

That's stupid, why would you need 2 BOWLING coaches when we have a specialist coach in Bob Woolmer as well.

Waisay bhi Sami ko tou Imran Khan bhi nahi sudhaar saka tou Snow kis khait ki mooli hai.