and yet one more Foundation thread

So what kind of foundation do you have under your house? Is it slab, crawl space of basement?

Crawl spaces are so creepy.

Re: and yet one more Foundation thread

You know that mods can warn you now. You’ve lost all immunity :rotato:

Basement ;)

I am testing the waters. But this is a legit thread

you iss main aankh maarne kee kiya baat hai :frowning:

we have a basement......

don't worry......you have my protection.
karlo jo karna hai.

You’re on my radar now dude… :panga:

Aur wo bhi meray forum main :vivo:

Kisi ne threaten kiya tou main aap ke basement main aa ke chup jaa'oon gaa

Khatti, you real estate guru ji, aap bataao, which type of foundation is good.

Oh and slab foundation…

…the topsy turvy weather in north Texas and crazy topography/soil caused me to to have to have 4 piers installed last summer… :bummer:

I prefer pier and beam over slabs any day!! At least on my neck of the woods…lots of municipalities are forcing builders to adapt to these because of the extreme heat and cold we experience here, coupled with our clay based soil, it’s no bueno :no:

Is not that same as crawl space?

^ yea, another name for crawl space

I’m not sure :confused:

I have a radiant slab (isn't that a bizarre concept! -- sounds like it has achieved Enlightenment...) I have water tubes running through the concrete which circulate hot water and heats it. Very nice in winter, turned off in summer. The downside is that when the power goes out, the slab is a heat sink and seems to suck all the warmth out of the place (think of concrete Pakistani houses in the winter) even though we have a woodstove. Finally got it stained, after all these years -- it looks terrific. A beautiful, variegated terracotta colour. Qalins look super on it. For years it was plain ol' grey concrete. Never had to worry about ruining it because someone spilled -- no problem!

Of course, a concrete slab is VERY unforgiving of tea cups dropped (sudden gusts of gravity, you know...)

If I were to build again (which I really DO NOT plan to), I don't think I would do a slab, because of the heat sink phenomenon. I do understand the creepiness of crawl spaces however.

I always wanted to have radiant driveway so I never have to shovel the snow :(

What a great idea! A radiant driveway! You'd have pilgrims come just to bask in the darshan!

Hopefully they will leave me with some nazrana (cash as token of respect)

We have no basement. I wish we had one :(

I never met a basement I actually liked. They have a tendency to flood, seep, and breed SPIDERS!!:disgust:

Oh, and ghosts! Basements are like home sweet home to ghosts!