And Who Will Go Out Of Religion...

:salam2:

The below hadith shuddered and kept me pondering that really some peoples will go out of the religion? Need further detail/explanation please. :jazak: **

Book ‘ONENESS, UNIQUENESS OF ALLAH (TAWHEED)’ of Sahih Bukhari, Hadith No. 651**.
**(Fateh Al-Bari, Page 322, Vol. 17th) **
Narrated Abu Sa’id Al-Khudri: The Prophet :saw2: said, "There will emerge from the East some people who will recite the Qur’an but it will not exceed their throats and who will go out of (renounce) the religion (Islam) as an arrow passes through the game, and they will never come back to it unless the arrow, comes back to the middle of the bow (by itself) (i.e., impossible).

The people asked, “What will their signs be?”

He :saw2: said, "Their sign will be the habit of shaving (of their beards)**.

Re: And Who Will Go Out Of Religion...

That's very serious. :(

I keep thinking 999/1000, and it sends shivers down my spine. It's such a fine balance. We must fear Allah (swt) lest we end up in the pool of those who are given their book of deeds in their left hands. At the same time, we should make it a mission to reach out to learn knowledge before it vanishes from among us (as it surely will!!!), so that we may ensure that ourselves and those we care about act on how the Prophet (s.a.w.) ordered us to act to remain steadfast in the way of Allah, and be resurrected among the Saliheen on the day of reckoning. At the same time, we must remember that Allah's mercy comes before His wrath for mankind. So always always make astaghfar. One lucky moment may become the moment of salvation, inshaAllah.

Otherwise no amount of ibadah would benefit us, if the Taqwa is lacking. :( Shaytan has surely laid out a fine trap for mankind. Allah save us from the Fitnah where one is a believer in the morning, and a disbeliever by night and vise versa.

ok inshallah please pray for me that I grow beard

You sahil sahil kernaysay kia khak kinara aae ga

You just sit home and grow beard, we will pray that you get your salary on time. :)

Re: And Who Will Go Out Of Religion…

Its an anti-Khariji and Pro-Alid hadith
here is another variation
Who Were The Khawarij?
Abu Sa’id al-Khudri said that the Messenger of Allah
(SallAllah-u-Alaihi-wa-Sallam) made a mention of a sect that would be among his
Ummah which would emerge out of the dissension of the people
. Their distinctive
mark would be shaven heads. They would be the worst creatures or the worst of
the creatures.** The group who would be nearer to the truth out of the two would
kill them.** The Messenger of Allah (SallAllah-u-Alaihi-wa-Sallam) gave an example
(to give their description) or he said: A man throws an arrow at the prey (or he
said at the target), and sees at its iron head, but finds no sign (of blood
there), or he sees at the lowest end, but would not see or find any sign (of
blood there). He would then see into the grip but would not find (anything)
sticking to it. Abu Sa’id then said: People of Iraq. It is you who have killed
them.

[Sahih Muslim: *Book 005, Number
2324]
This alludes to the incident of Nahrawan when the khawarij were killed fighting Ali and his Iraqi supporters, clearly this puts the Iraqis “nearer to the truth” than those opposed to them ( i.e Syrians)

Sahabi Abu Saeed Al Khudri was sympathetic to cause of Ali and this hadith is taken as one of the well known prophecy that came true in times of Sahaba and also used discern the truth in the turbulent times of the first civil war.

As we can see, the word ‘beards’ is in parenthesis, meaning that prophet actually did not say it. Rather it is the interpretation of the person quoting the Hadith.
This Hadith is not about significance of keeping beard rather it is about kharijis. The shaving which prophet mentioned was not the shaving of beard but the shaving of heads.

but does it mean shaving one’s head is unislamic? No. It was just one indication of khariji mentality which still exists today.

it is unfortunate how sometimes we post things out of context. This Hadith should not be used for emphasizing the importance of growing beard.
Because this Hadith is about kharijis who outwardly look very religious.

Peace Khoji,

My topic was about ‘keeping beard’ but whether that hadit is significance only about ‘keeping beard or not’ let analyze the following info:

There are many hadiths in both Sahihain, Sunan AbuDawood and in Malik Muwatta, where ‘five’ acts of ‘Fitra’ mentioned, however, a hadith which narrated by Hazrat Aisha r.a., She said there are ‘ten’ acts of ‘Fitra’ which also include ‘letting the beard grow’.

There is a another hadit where Ibn Umar said: "The Messenger :saw2: of Allah said: “Trim closely the mustache and let the beard grow”. I fact there are many hadith similar to that where trimming of mustache and letting the beard grow is mentioned. The chain of transmission of this hadith is from Ibn Umar who narrates it from Nafie, who narrate it from Ubaidahh bin Umar bin Hafs, who narrated it from Muhammad bin Abdullah bin Numayr, who narrates it from Yahya bin Said bin Farroukh Al Qatan and lastly it is narrated from Muhammad bin Al-Muthna Al Zaman.

Moreover, I haven’t came across any hadith where it is ordered or given permission to shave the beard. However, I read we should differ to the non-believers in all aspects and not imitate/resemble like them, because imitating/resembling like them on the outside will make us imitate them in their bad deeds and habits, and even in beliefs, which will result in befriending them in our hearts, just as loving them in our hearts will lead to imitating them on the outside.

If we read the hadith in arabic then we came across two arabic words ‘Tahleeq’ translated as “shaving” and ‘Tasmid/tasmeed’ translated as “uprooting the hair”, both can be taken as shaving of head and/or beard. but the hadith which quoted by you talk about a different incident. What I understood that that the hadith which quoted in post # talks about two different thing. Rest Almighty Allah knows best.

Allow me to add little detail as per my knowledge about the hadith you quoted above. Similar to that in another hadith where Abu Said Al-Khudri reported from Ali b. Abul Talib that Prophet Muhammad :saw2: said there would arise a people from the progeny of man who had deep sunken eyes, prominent cheek bones, and elevated forehead, thick beard, shaven head, tucked up loin cloth, who would recite the Qur’an glibly, but it would not go beyond their throats; they would (hurriedly) pass through (the teachings of their) religion just as the arrow passes through the prey. I conceive that he (the Holy Prophet) also said this: If I find them I would certainly kill them as were killed the (people of) Thamud.

In another hadith it is reported that Abu Sai’d said: I testify to the fact that I heard it from the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him), and I testify to the fact that 'Ali b. Abu Talib fought against them and I was with him. He gave orders about that man who was sought for, and when he was brought in, and when I looked at him, he was exactly as the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) had described him.

Ali r.a. reported their (that of the Khwarij) distinctive mark is that there would be (among them) a person whose wrist would be without the arm, and the end of his wrist would be fleshy like the nipple of the breast on which there would be white hair. The army of Ali r.a., encountered the army of of the Abdulla b. Wahab Al-Rasibi who was the head of the Khawariji, as acknowledged by Zaid b. Wahb Jahani who was among the squadron under the command of Ali r.a.. At the end 'Ali r.a., himself stood up and (walked) till He came to the people who had been killed one after another. He ('Ali) said: Search them to the last, and then ('Ali’s companions) found him (the dead body of the maimed). Ali r.a., then pronounced Allah-O-Akbar (Allah is the Greatest) and then said, Allah told the Truth and His Messenger :saw2:.

So basically there are many hadiths about it which talks about Hazrat Ali r.a., and Muawiya, Yemen, Syria and Iraq too.

Here I’ll say my knowledge is limited so needed further details/interpretation/explanations as wrote at top in post #1 and whatever error found in my any post, that is from my side due to my bad judgement/understanding and it has nothing to do with the authenticity of any hadith.

Islam main daRhi hai, daaRhi main Islam nahin. (just saying)

Well, I would not have intervened if this thread was about keeping beards. Yes, there are Hadith about it.
I got interested only because the first Hadith was wrongfully attributed to growing of beards when it was about totally different topic.

Peace All,

Bhai, is ka matlub kiya howa? :confused:

No my dear that hadith is not wrongfully attributed but we understood it incorrectly. Renounce from religion (Islam) doesn’t mean that those who don’t kept beard, one day will become infidel, no. Actually the ‘knowledge’ of Islam will vanish/disappear from their heart/mind. Precisely speaking, I think such peoples will be fully aware from what Almighty Allah said in Qur’an but won’t be able to utter that particular verse as a reference while addressing.

Try it by yourself by asking a question to one who have beard and the one who don’t have. The answer might the same but one (who kept beard) will start by giving reference from Quran (by reading particular verse) and hadith whereas another person (who didn’t kept beard) will answer the same but without providing reference from Quran and hadith. Hence the second person will have more knowledge related to this world.

If we read similar hadith then we’ll came to know that our Prophet Muhammad :saw2: said, “Among the off-spring of this man will be some who will recite the Qur’an but the Qur’an will not reach beyond their throats (i.e. they will recite like parrots and will not understand it nor act on it --and/or-- i.e. they will have practically no belief), and they will renegade from the religion as an arrow goes through the game’s body. They will kill the Muslims but will not disturb the idolaters. If I should live up to their time’ I will kill them as the people of 'Ad were killed (i.e. I will kill all of them).” [Fact: See what is going in Syria and in any other Islamic Countries, Muslim killing another Muslim]

In another hadith it is narrated that “there would arise at the end of the age a people who would be young in age and immature in thought, but they would talk (in such a manner) as if their words are the best among the creatures. They would recite the Qur’an, but it would not go beyond their throats, and they would pass through the religion as an arrow goes through the prey.”

So, after reading the above, please tell if still we think keeping beard is not ‘Fard’ and it is just a ‘Sunnat’?

O bhai, this Hadith has NOTHING to do with keeping beard at all. There are other hadith about beard but not this one.

That is all I am saying.

Peace khoji,

and I'm saying that this hadith has to do with keeping beard. There are many other hadith about khawarjis but not this one. :)

Sawab gunah Shoaib Mansoor aur Ghamidi ke sir.. maine Khuda ke liye movie main aisa suna tha :sid:

EDITED... was offtopic :)

I read this once about the khawarij, because they used to shave the hair off the top of their heads.

Peace Muqawwee123,

Jo banda Islam mein dakhil hogiya, ussay chahiyeh ke woh darhi rakhy, warna ghair-muslim ne bhi to dhari rakhi hoti hy. :)

Allah sab ko tofeeq de sahi ko samajhne aur us per amal karne ki

Laa Haula Wala Quwwata Illa Billa

Why is it that we must split hair over the smallest of things. Beard is sunnah, and for that reason alone it should be appreciated as a noble act for anyone that keeps it. Anyone that does not, has a personal choice not to.

It's not to say one person is better than another person, there are people in the world who have more taqwa than the best of us, yet they are unable to grow beards due to health-related reasons. Let us not assume "no beard=an-naar". Rather it's a noble act if you follow it, then Allah rewards you. If you try to follow it and fail, Allah rewards you for the effort, inshaAllah. And if you don't keep a beard, you're still a muslim and being a muslim try to do better in other things to attain the taqwa and earn Allah's pleasure.

It's an easy deen; why must we be so tunnel-visioned as not to appreciate the different dynamics of it as far they're related to things where flexibility is present (clothes, shoes, cologne, language, etc.).

It is very troubling that whenever muslims start to talk about religion, the first things they zero in are the differences rather than the common good that may be used as a foundation to unite on; whether it's matters of Sunnah, or interpretation of Quran, or other matters.

Really sad.

Peace All,

Just wanted to share this video.