There is no representation of Pakistan on the committee that has to decide ICC awards! I am
why does that always happen? I wonder if ICC thinks that we don’t have Past Greats to represents in these committees and we don’t have Present (commercial) stars that can attract the crowd. What do you guys think?
Re: and once again...
Who are the members of this award committee? Any link etc?
Re: and once again…
The five-man ICC Awards Selection Panel comprises Sunil Gavaskar (chairman), David Gower, Sir Richard Hadlee, Rod Marsh and Courtney Walsh.
Read full story here
is there such country as pakistan? :p
At least Wasim Akram should have been there.
This shows how much weight Pakistan carries in the cricketing world, ZERO. Countries like NZ and WI didn't even have to push for a place whereas PCB was pursuing this matter like crazy. Fault lies with the spinelessness of PCB, one only has to look for the current tour of England for their latest fiasco.
It is absolutely disgusting to see Sunil Gavaskar in each and every committee. Honestly speaking, I do not remember one single committee by ICC which was not joined by honorable Mr. Gavaskar. Undoubtedly, gavaskar was a great player with a wise head on his shoulders but so do Imran Khan, Zaheer Abbas and Waqar Younis. Probably players like Azharurddin, Asif iqbal and Wasim akram are not selected in such committees because of their questionable character and rightly so but there are many other players around the world who posses more knowledge and wiser personalities than Mr. Gavaskar. Not to mention, that this man Gavasker himself was an extremely difficult person in his playing days confronting Kapil dev almost throughout his career. And if that is not enough, let’s just look at Gavaskar’s captaincy record. Out of 47 test matches he captained India, 30 were drawn. He was a very negative captain playing for a draw always. Anyway, we have enough of Sunny and he should not be selcted any more for ICC committees.
So which Pakistanis do you lot suggest?...
what is wrong with Zaheer Abbas…he is a very decent person with ample knowledge and experience of international cricket. By all standards, zaheer abass deserves a place. Imran Khan is very busy with politics but i am pretty sure that if ICC contacts him , he should be able to spare some time. And if Courtney Walsh is good enough to be selected then Waqar younis is not a bad choice either to be selected.
I am proposing three names. Please tell me what is wrong with them
1 Imran Khan (World Class All-rounder)
2 Zaheer Abass (World Class Batsman)
3 Waqar Younis (World Class Fast Bowler)
I'd go for Zaheer and Waqar and I doubt Khan Sahib will even consider this even if ICC approaches him.
may be coz india is the biggest market for cricket and bcci is the richest board.thats y anything indian is given prefrence by the icc.just another simple rule of economics and might(paisa bolta hai janab)
SPOT ON!!!