I am afraid that I will not only bring the finer points of our culture to your attention, but other aspects of it too which although not highbrow culture icons are defintely are a unique part of our culture that add their own color and have their own place.
So, earlier I had posts about writers, poets and societal issues. This is something lighter but definitely a part of our culture, pop culture really.
Now… what slogans can you remember on the back of rickshaws and buses.
Some general ones are
maan ki duaa or maan ki duaa, janat ki hawa
papoo yaar Taang na karr.
Hum chalay dushman jalay.
Anyone else have the slogans of these uniquely desi artisans?
[This message has been edited by Fraudz (edited April 26, 1999).]
I was writing more about the rickshaws but once I started thinking about buses
several other slogans came to mind.
Half of the shiny minibuses in Karachi have "khyber express" written on them. I saw
one "Jutt express" as well.
Another thing I remember is a name on the bottom corner " haji mahfooz bodymaker"
and.. many buses upgrade the model each year. Rickety old bus ..model 1998.
Offcourse in 1999 they changed it to 1999.
1) Jo maa ko sata-e-ga
rikshaw chala-e-ga
(now why would one write that on the back of the rickshaw; and more importantly, why would one drive the rickshaw which has that written on it??? Wondered about that one for a long time)
Well im surprised u missed;
" Cricket ki duniya ka betaaj badshah..
Kafeel bhai.. left arm, right arm, swing , fast bowler...... "
this appears on EVERY bus painted in a small village along the national highway from Karachi. I cant recall the name of the town but it will come to me soon :)
Hummm, lets see if I remember any slogans like that:
1- Haran do rasta lo
2- Mehran ki shezadi
3- Fouzia (mostly written on the taxies, I don’t know why)
4- Bilal Tayara
5- Pakhair raghlay
6- Rasta maang kar sharminda na karain.
7- Laal pari
Uncle Sargam:
hahahhaha, yup that is one of the most famous slogans. And I have always wondered “Who is this man?”
Once, I saw one documentry on the bus painters and they interviewd this most famous Kafeel sahib. And then they showed a German guy in Pakistan painted whole of his car typical bus style. And he was quite happy with that, he said that he will take that car with him to Germany. I was quite surprized by his choice.
Mr. Fraudia:
Ab main aksar aap ke section main paai jaaon gi… Mujhay pasand aaya hai.
Sadaf i saw that documentary too ...
Also an interview that appeared in The NEWS .. sometime in 94-95 i think.
The documentary showed 'Kafeel Bhai' in a full cricket kit playing some sweeping shots ..
but since i dont know a Googli from a silly mid on .. i dont know if he was any good :P
As for slogans ... this is something i saw recently on a rickshaw on the streets of Lalukhet ...
'abay kis ko dekhta hai?'
on that note ... i remember something else ..
I was in karachi for Eid-ul-fitr and was doing some shopping in Saddar ( Zainab Market specifically) and saw some novel traffic controlling prcedures introducded by the Karachi Traffic Police.
Imagine this : A Toyota Hilux Pickup ,with big blaring loudspeakers fitted on the top.
and a guy going on like..
' yeh safaid gari walay agay barho .. abay haan tu! aur kitnee safaid garian nazar ati hain tujhay?? ,...