An interesting article by NFP on Salman Ahmed

I have enjoyed NFPs articles since I was young. His satirical exposes of the 90s music scene are always fun to read. here are his views on Salman’s latest foot in mouth feat.

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/images/images4.htm

From the wrong end

By Nadeem F. Paracha

Trust former Junoon guitarist and rather self-duped solo act, Salman Ahmed, to continue with his cornerstone habit of shooting himself in the foot while always trying to jump on various social and political bandwagons to remain in the picture. The latest example is Salman’s rather theatrical letter that he wrote and circulated in the media a few days ago in which he ogled venom at the MQM, alleging how the party members threatened him in the ’90s for not playing for Altaf Hussain on his birthday.

The letter is another case of Salman’s knee-jerk tendency to jump in and proclaim himself as some kind of a mistreated hero when in reality, and as usual, all he really ends up doing is sounding silly and overbearing. Especially whenever he is trying to throw his weight to push a cause espoused by his idol, Imran Khan.

Imran’s commendable boldness in trying to speak and serve the truth on various political issues almost always ends up seeing him flounder and hesitate whenever certain sticky happenings of his personal and political past are raised by his opponents. On most occasions, he’s been found speechless or simply repeating that he never claimed to be a clean and pious man in the past.

This begs the question, if such is the case, then on what moral grounds is he trying to judge the ethical, political and social behavior of others? Salman is even worse. There is nothing consistent about him, and unfortunately, good as he was as a guitarist, he isn’t good as a thinker. His band, Junoon’s early cultivated image was of a group driven by left-leaning angry young men, unafraid to write politically-tinged lyrics with a persona and posturing that flamboyantly mocked the complacency of their more apolitical and corporate-sponsored contemporaries.

However, in 1996, when Junoon decided to record their long-awaited third album, Inquilaab, it was suddenly made clear that Junoon were no more about a political revolution, but a “spiritual revolution.” What caused the shift from the political to the spiritual? As it turned out, out went old dusty books by Faiz, and in came Salman’s new-found fascination with the great Iranian Islamic scholar, Ali Shariati.

An insightful writer, Shariati was to Irans 1979 Islamic Revolution what Rousseau had been to the French Revolution. So did this mean that by “spiritual revolution” Salman meant an Islamic revolution? But more so, did this also mean Imran Khan had been reading Shariati too?

After the success of Inquilaab, Salman returned and announced he was working on a “very important song.” The song’s name was Ehtesaab (accountability). In 1995, Imran had formed a lobby with ex-ISI chief and staunch Islamist, General Hamid Gul and a number of Gul’s well-placed Islamist supporters. The lobby was to “pressure the president into taking action against the Benazir Bhutto government’s corruption through a rigorous process of accountability.”

This is another case of Salman’s knee-jerk tendency to jump in and proclaim himself as some kind of a mistreated hero when in reality, and as usual, all he really ends up doing is sounding silly and overbearing. Especially whenever he is trying to throw his weight to push a cause espoused by his idol, Imran Khan

This is the same lobby which, when it tried to approach Abdul Sattar Edhi, was rebuffed by the great philanthropist as being reactionary, fascistic and anti-democracy. Edhi also went on record, saying that since he had refused to join this lobby, his life was in danger. Surely, the lobby’s aims were far wider than just accountability?

Soon it also became clear that the idea of the song Ehtesaab was to become a campaign tune for the lobby and eventually for Imran’s brand new political party, the Tehreek-i-Insaaf, for the 1997 elections.

Some journalists present at the press conference held to launch the video of the song confronted Salman, suggesting that since his band had made great use of the Benazir Bhutto government’s liberal cultural bluster by travelling regularly with the then PTV MD, Rana Shaikh’s moving media circus, he was being hypocritical in now attacking the same government at the behest of Imran’s party.

Salman had moved from being a Faiz-thumping rock revolutionary to a “spiritual activist,” to becoming an enthusiastic part of a clearly reactionary lobby. The truth is, the threats he got from the MQM that he so emotionally, dramatically and suddenly writes about in his letter, were not even half as serious. Secondly, most pop acts (including Junoon) were more prone to get deadlier threats from religious groups for playing in concerts. In fact the threats from religious groups were far more frequent.

However, in 1997, when after allying himself with Imran Khan and Hamid Gul’s shallow “born-again” agenda, Salman actually struck a deal with the Jamaat-i-Islami’s student wing, the IJT, which helped the band in organising a concert at Nishtar Park in Karachi. Now the question is, how come if the MQM, which is so powerful in Karachi and was supposedly anti-Salman, actually allowed him to conduct a concert in the heart of one of Karachis most pro-MQM areas, and that too with the support of its arch political enemy, the Jamaat-i-Islami? Whatever happened to the threats?

It was interesting to note that at the height of the growing pop-phobia in the country, when all sorts of religious groups were threatening the land’s pop acts from Abrar-ul-Haq to Sajjad Ali, Junoon’s Nishtar Park concert was actually provided with electricity from generators donated by nearby mosques.

Salman’s swing to the right did not hamper him from eventually turning Junoon into a modern corporate puppet of a cola giant, but more disturbing was the changing nature of Junoon’s audience. Because at the start of the new millennium, a bulk of Junoon’s audiences comprised mainly the emotionally reactive youth, singularly identifying with Salman’s growingly reactionary stands on various issues but totally incapable of grasping the awkward bundle of ideological contradictions he had become.

He remains a bundle of contradictions, now more desperate than ever, especially in the event of Junoon’s lead singer, Ali Azmat, finally walking out on him due to what Ali described as Salman’s “overbearing” and “exploitative” ways.

Re: An excellent article by NFP on Salman Ahmed

Like Imran Khan, Salman Ahmed is also stuck in awe of himself.

Incredible!

is hamaam maiN sub he nangay haiN

So all a case of seeking some publicity?

A self proclaimed communist/anarchist criticisng someone who has rediscovered his faith..hmm i wonder why :hoonh:

You beat me to it ashtray!

It was a good read and I was thinking of sharing it too.

Nadeem "F***head" Paracha???

The guy is a joke.. a bad one at that. He asks some questions but has no answers.

Salman's stature has been recognized by global groups, so Nadeem "F" Paracha's bakbak means zilch.

he should go back to writing 'music reviews' for pop artists and be a celebrity gossip bizzatch that he is.

Haris, can you kindly change "excellent" to "interesting" in the title. I in no way think that this is an unbiased account. As Zack mentioned, NFP may have a few axes to grind, however it was interesting to note a different perspective on Salman's affiliations and motivations.

When have supporters of Mush and Altaf taken into account the credibility of those supporting their idealogues into account...as long as they are spinning and hacking in Mush's and Altaf's favor...they are paragons of truth and objectivity...If BB has a change of heart over night and makes a deal with mush and is full of praises of him...watch this space to see this same lot jumping on BB bandwagon and how much of an astute stateswoman she is...

plus NFP is a has been, I guess attempts to ressurect his shambling career may be leading him to take a shockjock approach. He was at best mediocre in his prime, a third rate ‘expert’ of a third rate music scene.

Some interesting snippets:

In 1995, Imran had formed a lobby with ex-ISI chief and staunch Islamist, General Hamid Gul and a number of Gul’s well-placed Islamist supporters. The lobby was to “pressure the president into taking action against the Benazir Bhutto government’s corruption through a rigorous process of accountability.”

Another example of Imran Khan's agency connections.

This is the same lobby which, when it tried to approach Abdul Sattar Edhi, was rebuffed by the great philanthropist as being reactionary, fascistic and anti-democracy. Edhi also went on record, saying that since he had refused to join this lobby, his life was in danger. Surely, the lobby’s aims were far wider than just accountability?

Most damning evidence of agency interference in Pak politics and their cronies (Imran Khan) doing their dirty work.

Soon it also became clear that the idea of the song Ehtesaab was to become a campaign tune for the lobby and eventually for Imran’s brand new political party, the Tehreek-i-Insaaf, for the 1997 elections

That was one way of currying favor with agencies.

The truth is, the threats he got from the MQM that he so emotionally, dramatically and suddenly writes about in his letter, were not even half as serious. Secondly, most pop acts (including Junoon) were more prone to get deadlier threats from religious groups for playing in concerts. In fact the threats from religious groups were far more frequent.

Every music lover can vouch for the duplicity of Jamaati ghoondas who wud disrupt all social activities yet were ever so willing admirers of the music bands.

However, in 1997, when after allying himself with Imran Khan and Hamid Gul’s shallow “born-again” agenda, Salman actually struck a deal with the Jamaat-i-Islami’s student wing, the IJT, which helped the band in organising a concert at Nishtar Park in Karachi. Now the question is, how come if the MQM, which is so powerful in Karachi and was supposedly anti-Salman, actually allowed him to conduct a concert in the heart of one of Karachis most pro-MQM areas, and that too with the support of its arch political enemy, the Jamaat-i-Islami? Whatever happened to the threats?

It was interesting to note that at the height of the growing pop-phobia in the country, when all sorts of religious groups were threatening the land’s pop acts from Abrar-ul-Haq to Sajjad Ali, Junoon’s Nishtar Park concert was actually provided with electricity from generators donated by nearby mosques.

Same happened with Imran Khan post born again muslim phenomena. Before he discovered Allah, Imran Khan was hounded by the religious lobbies as a jewish agent, once he discovered Islam he is being hailed as the next messiah.

Messiah or not Imran is not a murderer like Altaf Hussain.

Niether is he (Imran Khan) the next messiah. And, I find your reasoning of glorifying Imran Khan by reminding us of Altaf Hussein as a lame excuse based on typical desi mentality ie chunga hai, khatha hai tho kee hai, sub ke saath khatha hai. Well, for your information Mr Khan is another politically cloned product of the agencies who also has more than a few skeletons hidden in his cupboard. Sooner we realize that, the better.

Excellent article indeed. Thanks for sharing.

Che, you are guilty of what you accuse others of doing. Due to your anti musharraff bias, you brand people as pro musharraf and since they are pro musharraff they are pro MQM and pro Altaf.

Why cant you read a perspective that differs from yours with b*****ng me to a camp?

ashtray, cant you speak two lines without uttering censorable stuff. yaar sharafat koi chiz hoti hai.

Off coruse, if you are pro-musharraf then you are definitely pro-mqm, at least tacitly...if you still are insistent that the two are mutually exclusive, then you should evaluate your support of Mush in light of the recent events...

ravage, ****** :mad:

Funny thing is when everyone was on the Musharraf bandwagon, I was skeptical about him. Even now I do not support him 100%, but that does not mean I support anybody else on the current Pakistan political scene. My responses just seem pro musharraff because I am trying to create a balance on GS. Too much hate and people with very biased agendas twisting everything to their advantage.

Although I dont need to, but let me declare it once and for all. I am not an Altaf supporter. I do however support the MQM concept (and I am not talking about the mohajir agenda here) with leadership from within the masses and not a handful of elites. Pakistan needs such movements, minus the violence, all over the country, and mark my words if the current politicians dont straighten their act, it is going to happen. People eventually will be so fed up that there will be a complete turn around, I am just hoping that it is not as bloody as it was for Karachi.

Some of you may have heard/ read of what happened in Gujranwala. Gujranwala is one of the dirtiest cities in the world according to a study. People became so sick of the local body leader's in-action that they started collecting all their garbage and dumping it in front of the Nazim's house. The situation got fixed with-in days. Same thing will happen all over the country, lets see if the revolution is peaceful or bloody red.

We have a rocket scientist here!