An awkward situation

Re: An awkward situation

Or will the aloo get stuck in the throat?

There are many excuses to make:

1) Sorry but I am looking for guy from India/Pakistan(incase you are living abroad)

2)Sorry we are looking for a proposal from abroad(Incase you are living in india/Pakistan)

3)Sorry we have had a discussion about her marriage and she says she is not at all prepared and wants two more years.She has applied for a scholorship with x and y university...

If I were in your position,Madam,I would tell them openly that we do not prefer to have this alliance.Ultimately it's our (your) daughter's life and if you do not find something not right with they guy,.what's harm in telling them?Indeed ,if they are sensible enough they will understand it and will make the necessary corrections.

I would refrain from putting anything on the daughter's shoulders......these sorts of tactics will haunt her in the future. Desi society is ruthless.....if we say things like "She is not ready for marriage" etc, etc....the rejected potential MIL will be on the phone two days later telling her confidant how stuck up the girl is and suddenly Sakeena has a reputation for being "picky", "stuck up" or "vain".

The only thing that I would hazard to say, if I had no other choice, is that Sakeena thinks of Abdul Qayyum as a brother and doesn't believe that she can change her mindset. We are nonetheless completely over the moon that you consider us worthy of family ties and with this in mind ask your permission to look for an equally khoobsoorat-o-khoobseerat bahu for OUR son. Do tell us if there are any particulars that Abdul Qayyum has on his list for his potential humsafar.......

^The president of GS, the highly esteemed Muzna, has chosen the “brother strategy” for rejection.

I WIN!!!

IN YO FACE…Nomiiica!!! :mocking:

Muawhahahaha!

I like the names Sakeena and Abdul Qayyum :hmmm:. JoRa acha hai.

This happend recently....my dad just said we dont marry outside of caste

You considered me worthy of competition :jano:

Agree with Muzna, was going t say same thing why put her on the spot.

Never say no right away.

Say, we are honored. We are gettng lots of rishta these days but ....Abhi Bacchi Parh Rahi Hai (etc.) and we have not thought about it seriously.

Finish samosa, can't let that wasted over such a trivial matter!

I would respond by saying 'maybe you should only have friends from your own caste too' and never speak to them again.

To be honest I know people want the best for thier children but sometimes marrying them into families you are close with is not the best thing to do. Look at all the drama that can occur with cousin marriages. I would not put my friend in that position in the 1st place.

To be honest your bhai approach sounds kinda lame. Family friends are family friends and unless you've been neighbours all your life and went to the same school etc. I don't see how a girl coming to see a family friend's son as a bhai is possible. And that the brotherly feeling is SO strong that she absolutely can't marry. I don't see that working, I'd think the other family would politely back off but they would still know you're bull****ting them.

Lol exactly, I didn't read this while I was posting, same thing.

1. Families have known each other since their kids were like 4-5 years old. So for about 20 years.
  2. Boy and girl have been friends all that time but not buddies...no Facebook, phonecalls, texts, just get togethers on Eids and family occasions.
  3. Here in the USA.
  4. The girl's parents are conservative enough where they've establish neat boundaries for their children. So even though the parents have been very close, the children of the opposite sex never really "mingled" or went out together.

^Based on that, the bhai excuse ain't working.

this is how my mother did. "thank you for considering our daughter. you guys are great, and may ALLAH SWT grant your son with a good companion. We are still not considering for her at the moment, but nonetheless, thanks a lot. It was really an honour."

my mom keeps it simple and minimal. in fact aunty jees are always like "inno nay baray achay tareekay say inkaar kia hai"

Nomi was up for some kind of competition?! Scary…

It could be excuses like:

Our daughter needs to finish up her studies.
We already have looked into some other rishta for her. Beshakh there shudnt b anyother lols.
I guess thts abt it.

The "bhai" reasoning was suggested because (to me) it seemed the more polite reason to give. I wasn't going with "100% fool-proof believable" here, Rizla...and people will vary in what they consider believable and what they think is bull. Rather, I was thinking of something that (IMO) would come across as least offensive. Saying that my daughter just isn't attracted, or has a higher degree, or is just different from your son, or that we're looking into other rishtas might even lead to resentment.

I thought that other excuses could even lead to the guy's family thinking that they should try again at a later point...or they might "push" the matter a bit more. That's why I suggested the "bhai" reason...because the parents or guy if he has an interest ....(IMO, and relax, it's just an opinion)...would be more deterred if they were told that the daughter can't see him as anything other than a brother, etc. While some parents....or even the guy...might think the excuse is lame/bull (as you put it)........other parents/guys might even think ...."Okay, the girl has the right to her opinion. If she doesn't see him in that way...then it's better not to pursue the matter any further." Again, my main purpose was to think of something that would seem the least offensive...and would bring the matter to a complete halt...and not let it linger or continue.

Sorry I don't get it, what was your main purpose again? :p

For once, your alive SAAS will come handy.....

That means Brother excuse can’t possibly work… as rizla pointed out earlier…

Nope man… she thought it was…

but now…i win again :dhimpak:

Girl doesn’t want = foolproof excuse…