Amsterdam

Although I have never had good terms with ANY Dutch guppy but I just wanted to ask a few questions so please be kind enough to answer.

a. How is Amsterdam airport, what to do and what not to do, the dos and the don’ts’.
b. Is there something worth seeing in Amsterdam in 5 hours or is it better to stay at the airport.
c. What entertainment can I find in the airport?
d. Most importantly, people who have traveled through the airport, which restaurants to visit, what’s the price of beer?
e. I don’t like burger king nor do I like MacDonald’s, what else is there, I am very particular about what I put in my tummy.
f. Where to get the best breakfast at Amsterdam airport.
g. Don’t point me to the website I have been there (personal experiences please.

Thanks.

Re: Amsterdam

a.) Its like any other Airport. If you dont look like a mullah then you can do anything, if you do look like one - then may Allah protect you. :stuck_out_tongue: [list of do’s and donts’]

• dont carry any explosives with you when at the airport.

• dont carry any weapons, knives, etc

• dont brag about you being some big shot terrorist and that you’re gonna blow up this building

• Do stroll around at the airport, there is a Schiphol Plaza at the ground floor where you can shop around at some fancy shops, eat and drink - plenty of cafe’s restaurants and a super market there.

(add your’s here)

b.) 5 hours is not enough but you can visit the city center and go for a round trip by one of many boat excusrions that you’ll find around the canal’s of Amsterdam.

c.) If you walk out of one of many main gates, you’ll see a huge TV screen which always has something interesting on so you can stand or sit there and watch TV :halo:
(on a serious note) see reply to** a.)**

d. / e.) Like I said, the Schiphol plaza has a number of cafe’s restaurants and a Burger King. But all of them are not halaal. you can eat veggy food or have some french fries. I dont drink so cant tell you the price of beer.

f.) At one of the above mentioned cafe or restaurant. :halo: depends waht you wanna have for breakfast. I bet you will not like to have the typical Dutch breakfast, which is mostly a fried egg with ham and more ham with something else, tea of coffee. They don’t have desi chai, Dutch tea put a tea bag in hot water add sugar if needed and drink.

Anything else?

when you coming here?

5 hours stay is not enough for a good city visit, though u can hop out take a train from airport to Central Station, have a look at Dam Square & take the same train back to Schiphol.

In the airport, I'd advise walk around, & find according to your taste there are loads of places inside the airport to eat, choose one.

If u are asking for price of "beer" I guess u dont care about haram or halal ... so I wont mention what eat what not eat while u are in schiphol. BTW, I dont know the price of beer.

Thanks gizzy, will let you know the exact dates soon , will be in the first week of jan.

Najim: how expensive is the train and how long does it take to the central station?

When I last travelled by train from Schiphol to Central Station it was six Euroes, u can check the fare at http://www.ns.nl (click on English for english version).

On a Snel-Trein (quick train) it takes around 15 minutes on one sided journey.

I’ll be travellin through Schiphol on jan 2nd so do tell me if you’ll be travellin then :smiley:

gizzy bhai.. kya information di hai aap ne..:hehe: every single detail is mentioned..

hai na zabardast :smooth:

^ lagta hai ke aap rooz schiphol aate jaate rehte hain..:hehe:

^-- haan aksar jaata hoon :snooty:

Amsterdam sucks. Like a big village. Hated it. Nice statue of Ghandi in a park though, that was cool.

Also ppl were nice.

^ ur rite.. Amsterdam sucks..

The Hague rockz..:biggthumb

Thats in The Hague not in Amsterdam :halo:

^ i never saw a ghandi in a park..:konfused:

je hebt zeker van die foldertjes meegepkit die je kunt krijgen op Schiphol, staat alle informatie in :devil: :stuck_out_tongue:

heb jij zeker gedaan :stuck_out_tongue:

Ik he nooit zoiets gezien :snooty: