Ammie wants to visit me at school/uni

I am going to make this into a question instead of explaining all that.

What would you do if your parents wanted to visit you at school and sit in all your classes and talk to your professors and even study with you and interact with all your friends? Have you ever experienced this?

Please shareeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Thank you.

Re: Ammie wants to visit me at school/uni

yaar aisi bateiN write in your journal!!

munni now y does ur mum wana do that?

Never experienced it but i wouldn't mind at all. I think parents should know how does ur prof teaches, whom do u hang out with or talk to in a class.

my parents never ever in their lives visited my school or college
or asked any of my professors..

:slight_smile: i love them … they have always made me proud :smiley: :hehe:

I hate to remember this one but in college we had Mrs. Cheema as our class teacher. I am talking bout DHA college Karachi. What happened in the begining of the second year she took a test and as a result called our parents. My dad went to see her and he was like :mad:

Khair do char din laga life ko normal anay main or phir ham thay or …:balley:

This is like the Desi version of Hockey moms and dads. Pretty soon they'll be yelling at your profs for not giving you an A. It's time to draw the line between your homelife and your own pursuits. Parents shouldn't interfere in your studies only if you ask for their help. But it's a good idea to have them know your friends. Why not suggest a night out like movies with your friends and parents.

That's carrying it a bit far. Visiting your apt or dorm room is one thing. But sitting in your classes?????

It can look kinda bad in college and grad school ... your parents following you around.

Hi Munni smile

I haven’t faced such issue BUT I have had similar request in the past. My mom used to visit my high school during open house sessions but never in College. However, sometimes she wants to visit my office. Not to investigate or anything, but her reason is “Mujhe dekhna hai mera beta kaam kartey huey kaisa lagta hai”. :smack: I’ve been making excuses for a while because my real office building was damaged due to the hurricane and right now our department is in another department sitting on tables, instead of having our seperate offices. So I tell her just wait mom, let me get back to my office, then you can visit me there. Nobody’s parents visit anyone but if you must, hold on til I move back to my office.

Maybe you can try to tell her that you are not a munni anymore, you are a grown up munni now grin Just tell her how no one else’s parents visit classes and talk to professors. Maybe she’ll understand. I don’t know what’s with desi parents. No matter how old we grow, we will still be babies for them and they will always take care of us as if we can’t take care of ourselves. It’s all good but sometimes it really annoys me :hinna:

Maybe letting your parents visit your school once will get them off your back. Sometimes parents just need to be reassured that all is well with their child.

Ammie wants to come in the labs also. faint

I am in graduate school mash'Allah. I dont know how to break it to Ammie, or even if its right for me to do tell her its not a good idea. afsoos

oh .. use the school's policy flag on her..

"if u r not a student, u cant be present in labs, lectures or near school equipment" sorry ammi, thats just the way it is...

its like my family, wanted to visit my workplace, wanted to see pics of environment i worked in etc..(and due to the nature of work i am in, its impossible)

If your mom shows up in shalwar kameez and sneakers with hair tied in a single braid, then this is a sign that your mother is a sadist who derives pleasure by humiliating you. Take action now.

Hint: Release brake fluid.

Nahinnnnnnnnn. She dresses fine, its not that. It’s the whole issue of being involved in everything I am doing, and a matter of independence.

I lub my mommyyyyyyyyy, I dont wanna hurt her feelings.

Munni,

Her feelings will not be hurt. Seriously, she's your mama they don't take stuff to the heart so talk to her. I had to think for a moment when u posed the question and honestly, it'd be a little weird for my mom to want to sit in lectures with me, in GRAD school ?!?

lolz, honestly your ammee seems so cute!

I've never had any situation quite like that, except that my abbu jee always wants to go thru the college admissions process with me, which is fine with me. I guess, them being in teaching profession lets them know a lot..

In your case, since your ammee is so enthusiastic, why not let her visit? It does mean a lot to parents. May be, not the lab, but i think ur prof will be ok if she sits through the lecture, and then you can just show her around the university, n I feel she'll be all happy in this.

oh:eek: brake fluid me like !

Munni just ask politely to your mom thats why she want to visit your classes and meet your prof ,and discuss it in details and tell her your feeling that what other will think about that,inshallah the things goes fine then.

IN GRAD SCHOOL? Yikes!!!!!

Ok... meet her on campus and take her to ONE lecture... make it a seminar actually and you and her can sit in the BACK (she is there to observe, not to participate so the last row of seats is just fine), show her your desk space and explain what you do if you are a TA or RA or whatever, then take her to lunch, walk her around the quad and show her some of the buildings, introduce her to a COUPLE of friends and then send her shopping!

You are obviously all grown up now, so while it is fine for your Ammi to get a sense of what you do, she does not need to check out every friend, and every place you hang out at. If she is doing this because she needs to control you, you need to have a serious talk with her. If she is trying to be a "friend" and participate in your life, honey, a mom needs to be a mom (albeit one who gives you space) not a friend!

This is nothing!

My aunty use to take my cousin to her college. When i say that i mean personal drop off in front of the class and waving as she leaves the classroom *grin - This is when she was 21. Thats nothing Aunty was going around to find if she knew any girl and went " meri beti ko bhi apni dost banao woh abhi nai hai". :D

so consider yourself lucky ...

I have had Ammie come to campus on two occassions that I remember very distinctly. Lets just say that Ammie is not one to just walk around the campus and sit in one class and go shopping. I guarantee you that. And this is my serious concern, especially with the fact that my roomates have threatened to tell her about my poor eating and sleeping habits here, two of my professors have said they want to have a long chat with Ammie about my studying habits or lack thereof, and Ammie will definately want to go into lab with me, this I know. I also know Ammie will make pals with all my friends, this is her personality, and I dont mind that, its just that I know some of my friends wanna tell her how I goof off sometimes and Ammie will take it lightly infront of them but not when we get home alone. And when she finds out I have so many guy friends, I dont want her to think anything. Uff Allah!!! I am not doing anything wrong with them, but if they joke around with Ammie, Ammie will PANIC. afsooooooooooooos

I dunno what to dooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.