Re: Amma abba and ami Abu
Called dad "abu ji" if speaking punjabi or "papa ji" when speaking urdu. Mom "Ammi ji"
Mummy & Papa....once I got out of middle school the mummy morphed to Ammi lol.
We called my dadi Amma and my nani Nani Ammi while my nana was called Baba by all.
My kids call us Mama and Papa.
Yeah, that's cute when kids use Mama Baba, but what about fully grown up adults that still call their parents Mama Baba. I find it a bit strange tbh
Oh I love hearing it from adults too. In fact my desire of my kids calling me baba came from my teacher who used to call her dad "baba" it used to sound so sweet...
My parents addressed my grandparents as ammi jaan and abbu jaan. We started calling my grandparents the same. lol no one ever corrected us that it should be daadi ammi and daada abbu.
I call my parents mom and dad or mamma papa depending on my mood.
I like mama baba too.
I think ammi abu is urdu and amma abba (which is more old school) is Punjabi. it’s not that one is more casual than the other. But I personally feel certain punjabi words are kind of rude and I think amma abba falls in that category. When I picture amma abba, I picture someone old. ![]()
lol tu kya baray ho kar title change ho jaata hai?
Oh, on a different note, when kids call their taayi "bari ammi" and chaachi "choti ammi" I find that really cute :)
Ammi and baba
Oh, on a different note, when kids call their taayi "bari ammi" and chaachi "choti ammi" I find that really cute :)
i find it weird
Yeah, that's cute when kids use Mama Baba, but what about fully grown up adults that still call their parents Mama Baba. I find it a bit strange tbh
Simply cuz you're not used to it
Called dad “abu ji” if speaking punjabi or “papa ji” when speaking urdu. Mom “Ammi ji”
idk why I find this hilarious. Cute though!
I dunno know but saying AmaaN Aap ka kia haal hay or Ammi aap ka kia haal Hay feels different or may be its only for me.
in my exp and i may be wrong...people who migrated from urdu speaking provinces/cities such as lakhnao etc use words amman abba where in punjabi families, ammi jan/ammi/abu are more common. just watch fatimah surriaya bajya old dramas...they are caling amman/abba.
nothing is disrespectful. it just depends what you are used to listening.
lol tu kya baray ho kar title change ho jaata hai?
I know some people that did just that!
My parents addressed my grandparents as ammi jaan and abbu jaan. We started calling my grandparents the same. lol no one ever corrected us that it should be daadi ammi and daada abbu.
I call my parents mom and dad or mamma papa depending on my mood.I like mama baba too.
I think ammi abu is urdu and amma abba (which is more old school) is Punjabi. it’s not that one is more casual than the other. But I personally feel certain punjabi words are kind of rude and I think amma abba falls in that category. When I picture amma abba, I picture someone old.
Yup, my younger sister used to call my mum amma (god knows from where as none of us other siblings do) and my mum didn’t like this and told her to call her ammi/mama. I guess amma is kinda informal plus doesn’t sound as nice as ammi.
LOL I used to do the same with ammi jaan when I was younger cos I always heard my mum say that. Now it’s ‘Hey Grandma’.
Simply cuz you're not used to it
True true
I thought it was abu ji in urdu and papa ji in punjabi?
Called dad “abu ji” if speaking punjabi or “papa ji” when speaking urdu. Mom “Ammi ji”
This reminded me of the time i was at an asian restaurant once and I saw this big/tall asian guy with hugeeee muscles and a right deep voice call his dad Papa Ji. It was hilarious!
When I was younger I used to call ammi jaan, abbu jaan, dada jaan, nana jaan, nani jaan, mamu jaan, khala jaan :sid:
Later the jaan was removed.
I have this one friend that calls her Dad, ‘Deydi’. I found this absolutely hilarious as that was the precise moment she realised that she had been calling her dad the freshie version of ‘daddy’ ![]()
Call my dad baba...and call my mom, mom ya mama.
yeah, speaking urdu with dad was always nice but when he spoke punjabi that was trouble.
I thought it was abu ji in urdu and papa ji in punjabi?
Don’t know to be honest. You maybe right but that’s what I’ve been saying saying since day1.