Amitabh to sing with Pak singer Abida Parveen

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cms.dll/xml/uncomp/articleshow?msid=40661665
Amitabh to sing with Pak singer Abida Parveen

MUMBAI: Music composer Aadesh Shrivastava has decided to bring together Amitabh Bachchan and Pakistan’s sufi vocalist Abida Parveen for a song.

A visibly excited Shrivastava said: “I’m recording a sufiana song with Abida with voice overs by Amitabh for Baagban in April. Since Abidaji isn’t getting a visa to come to India we’ll go and record her in London and dub Amitji’s voice in Mumbai.”

Ever since he composed the hit songs Sona Sona (in Major Sahib) and Shava Shava (in Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham), Shrivastava is known to share a very close relationship with the Big B.

"Amitabh, whom I call Dada, had been my Ram bhagwan from childhood. I’m his Hanuman. And I can never say no to him. I’m often called his chamcha (sycophant). But I don’t mind. Even being his chamcha is a blessing.

"He’s such a lovely person. And my item numbers for his films in Major Saab and Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham have been roaring successes.

“Amitji has sung three songs including the fabulous ballad Main Yahan Tu Wahan Zindagi Hai Kahan, in my forthcoming soundtrack Bagbaan.”

Shrivastava’s other idol is Lata Mangeshkar. "A lot of today’s composers are so unfortunate, they’ve never had Lataji sing for them.

"I’m singularly lucky to have had her sing about 10 songs for me. In fact she sang my first ever composition for the unreleased music in Kanyaadan.

Unfortunately, Shrivastava cannot claim to be equally fond of his brothers-in-law Jatin-Lalit, whom he accuses of unfair practices.

"Though the song Shava Shava in Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham really helped me, I was hesitant in contributing to that score since my brothers-in-law Jatin-Lalit were the main composers. I had done it only on the insistence of Amitabh.

"At that time my brothers-in-law used to chide me for being spineless in agreeing to do a few songs in scores composed by others.

“Now look at the irony. In Shah Rukh Khan’s home production Chalte Chalte for which I’ve recorded five songs my brothers-in-law have done two songs. I guess the wheel has turned a full circle,” Shrivastava says wryly.

The restless composer plans to go international soon. Back home he’s extremely perturbed by the way popular awards are given to music scores in Bollywood.

“It’s really sad when plagiarised songs get nominated for popular awards. When I was nominated for my background score in Border, I lost it to the score in Satya when the whole thing was lifted from a commercial CD-Rom,” he said.

“I did ask the awarders why my efforts in Border - where for the first time in an Indian film I had composed a raga-based symphony - went unnoticed. Learning music is a form of penance. Then when the plagiarists get nominated it feels terrible.”

Shrivastava added thoughtfully: "The music industry is said to be in a slump. But I feel good music will always sell. This so-called slump has taught all us music directors to pull up our socks.

“I get very upset when I have film makers telling me to copy a Pakistani or a Western tune. I tell such copycats to please listen to what I’ve composed so far. I’ve never lifted a song and I never will.”

So the truth is finally revealed. :rotfl: :rotfl:

I think its great to have Indian artists working alongside pakistani artists....

^ yeah , it's great for the Indians :D