Amir Muwiya's conversion to Islam

Re: Muawiya Sahab

:bism:

I will quote a reference to start with :

The Sunni scholar al Muhaddith Shah Abdul Aziz Dehlavi in Tauhfa Ithna Ashariyya page 191 Chapter 7 states:

“It is recorded in Sahih hadith that when someone praises a bad character person, Allah (swt) gets upset with him”.

In this post i will put few references that wud put some light on Personality and his Beleieve.

Mu’awiya on Siege of Hazrat Usman’s House***

**Imam Tabari says, it was related to me by Ja’far- 'Amr and 'Ali- Husayn- his father- Muhammad bin Sa’ib Kalbi:
When Uthman saw what happened to him and how many of people had been sent against him, he wrote Mu’awiyah bin Abi Sufyan in Syria: “In name of God, the Merciful, the Compassionate. To proceed: The Medinese (i.e. Uthman reffering to People of Madina and not of Egypt) have become unbelievers (Kafirs), they have abandoned obedience and renounced their oath of allegiance. Therfore send to me the Syrian soldiers who are at your disposal, on every camel you have, whether docile or stubborn”.
When Mu’awiya got the letter, he delayed action on it, for he did not wish to differ openly with the Companions of Messenger of God, since he knew that they concurred [on this matter].
When Uthman became aware of the delay, he wrote to seek and from Yazid bin Asad bin Kurz and the Syrians, he stressed his rightful claims upon them, and mentioned Almighty God’s commandment to obey the Caliphs. **
History of Tabari, English Edition, vol. 15, page 185 (Translated by R. Stephan Humphreys)

Mua’wiya Cursing Mola Ali a.s

When Mu’awiya went for Hajj, he held the hand of Sa’d bin Abi Waqas and said to him: ‘Oh Abi Ishaq! We are the people who abandoned Hajj because of wars until we almost forgot some of its laws, so we performed Tawaf (circumambulation) to imitate your Tawaf’. When they completed (the hajj), he (Muawiya) entered upon him (Sa’d) in a conference room and sat with him on his sofa, then he (Muawiya) mentioned Ali bin Abi Talib and cursed him. He (Sa’d) said: ‘You brought me to your house and made me sit on your sofa and then you have begun to curse Ali?’
[http://www.answering-ansar.org/aDecors/html_ico.gif

Al Bidayah wa al Nahayah, Volume 7 page 341, Chapter: The virtues of Ali](كتاب: البداية والنهاية **|نداء الإيمان)

Allamah Shibli Numani writes:

“Traditions were first formed in book form in the days of Ummayads, who, for about 90 years, throughout their vast dominions stretching from the Indus in India to Asia Minor and Spain, insulted the descendants of Fatima and got Ali openly censured in Friday sermons at the mosques. They had hundreds of saying coined to eulogise Amir Muawiya.”
[http://www.answering-ansar.org/aDecors/image_ico.gif

Siratun Nabi Vol.1 page 60](http://www.answering-ansar.org/answers/muawiya/sirat_un_nabi.jpg)

Prophet s.a.w on Mu’awiyas Beleive and Khilafat

Waq’at Sifeen page 217 and Tarikh Tabari Volume 8 page 186 that Abdullah ibne Umar narrates that he heard Rasulullah say:

**“Mu’awiya shall not die on the path of Islam”. **

Ibn Katheer in al Bidaya wa al Nihaya, Volume 8 page 133 records this Hadeeth:

**“If you see Mu’awiya on my pulpit then kill him” **

Mu’waiya a Nasibi ?***

A modern day Pakistani Hanafi scholar Maulana Sayyid Lal Shah Bukhari in “Isthakhlaaf ai Yazid” page 216 admitted:

“The founder of Nasibi ideology was Mu’awiya”.

Al Muhaddith Shah Abdul Aziz Dehlavi declared in “Tauhfa Ithna Ashariyya” page 6:

“The Ulema of Ahl’ul Sunnah regard the enemies of Ali, the Nasibis as the worst party that recites the Shahada. We regard them as equivalent to dogs and pigs”

I am not sure if this is what u are looking for, please let me know if u need something more.

Wasalam
Aqeel

Note: The picture links in this post and all the references r taken from Answering-ansar.org, I cudnt open the picture links on my home computer… I beleive its my computer, i hope the links r working for u

Re: Amir Muwiya's conversion to Islam

When people accept Islam it is necessary that those around them should treat them as family ... There is no room for suspicion - that comes from the devil even if the suspicion is justified.

In the case of the Sahabah (RA) who were close to the time of RasoolAllah (SAW) ... we have nothing on them and hence should be silent regarding them. Learn from the hadith and that is it.

its funny how people have responded to aqeels posts :) trying to stay away from important issues or realities ! its is tres important to know the history to differentiate between right and wrong also cuz we have so many firqas and only one is on the right path how can you just let it go/? how can you just leave everything and say Allah knows when Allah has given you aqel ! when Allah sent so many Prophets and imams just to guide us and this book holy quran this is for us this is not just to keep in our houses! PEACE PEACE PEACE!

For the past 1,400 years Muslim scholars have developed and studied the science of rijalism where Sahaba are categorized in categories ranging between being an apostate and a liar, to the one whose faith is established and reflected through his acts and words. The foundation of this study is the verse of Quran that commands the believers to check the character of person before taking a news from him or her. And you will agree that no news can be of more significance to a Muslim than the news that the religion itself relies upon. Your thoughts are noble but not realistic.

In the case of the Sahabah (RA) who were close to the time of RasoolAllah (SAW) ... we have nothing on them and hence should be silent regarding them. Learn from the hadith and that is it.

So does it make them immune from Islamic laws ?
For instance, would Islam allow me to take my religion from a killer or would it allow for me to set myself a role model a person who is know to have lied or violated the laws of the religion?

Thats all bro... u do see it justified, to mean its like getting paid for time i spent on this thread.

Now lets clear ur mind on evil. To you justified suspicion is evil, lets see what Quran has to say about EVIL.

[Pickthal 63:1] When the hypocrites come unto thee (O Muhammad), they say: We bear witness that thou art indeed Allah's messenger. And Allah knoweth that thou art indeed His messenger, and Allah beareth witness that the hypocrites indeed are speaking falsely.
[Pickthal 63:2] They make their faith a pretext so that they may turn (men) from the way of Allah. Verily evil is that which they are wont to do,
[Yusufali 63:2] They have made their oaths a screen (for their misdeeds): thus they obstruct (men) from the Path of Allah: truly evil are their deeds.
[Pickthal 63:3] That is because they believed, then disbelieved, therefore their hearts are sealed so that they understand not.
[Pickthal 63:4] And when thou seest them their figures please thee; and if they speak thou givest ear unto their speech. (They are) as though they were blocks of wood in striped cloaks. They deem every shout to be against them. They are the enemy, so beware of them. Allah confound them! How they are perverted!

These Ayats also show that, just becoz they were around Prophet s.a.w doesnt necessarily mean they were best. Learn from Hadith; of course, But dont ignore Quran either.

Re: Amir Muwiya’s conversion to Islam

Please be patient, will get back once i get free.

In the meanwhile read this.:slight_smile:

When Shias use sunni reference they do pick and choose from our sources rather presenting the complete picture. Further more our believe is not based on narrations from Hadrat Muawiya:razi: so for us as narration for his virtues are more then historical biased accounts of the wars among sahabah. We hold Hdrat Ali:razi: more then Hadrat Muawiya:razi:

Transmitted by Majlisi in “Bihar” (32/324); Burjardi “Jamiu ahadeth ash-shia” (13/93):

• قرب الإسناد: ابن طريف عن ابن علوان عن جعفر عن أبيه أن عليا (عليه السلام) كان يقول لأهل حربه: إنا لم نقاتلهم على التكفير لهم ولم نقاتلهم على التكفير لنا ولكنا رأينا أنا على حق ورأوا أنهم على حق.*
      *٢٩٨ - قرب الإسناد: بالاسناد قال: إن عليا لم يكن ينسب أحدا من أهل حربه إلى الشرك ولا إلى النفاق ولكنه كان يقول: هم إخواننا بغوا علين

297 - al-Humairi by his chain: ibn Tareef - Ibn Alwan - Jafar - Father - 'Ali (alaihi salam) used to say regarding those who fought against him: **We do not fight with them because we make Takfeer on them, and we do not fight them because they make Takfeer on us. But we see that we are upon truth, and they see that they are upon truth.

298 - al-Humairi by his chain: **'Ali didn’t attribute anyone from those who fought with him to shirk or to hypocrisy, but he used to say: Our brothers which revolted against us.

Explanation: 'Ali (ra) and his team did not fight Mu’awiyah (a) and his team because they thought they were Kouffar or Mushrikeen or Munafiqeen, And Mu’awiyah (ra) and his team did not fight 'Ali (ra) and his team because they thought they were Kouffar or Mushrikeen or Munafiqeen. Each team saw that they were doing the right thing and that they were upon truth, 'Ali (ra) used to call his opponents as his "Brothers who transgressed against him.

Some copy paste :slight_smile: in reply to copy paste from answering ansar.

I will be surprised to see anyone try to prove Muawiya or his jamaat as 'kafir'. Hazart Ali himself described them as 'qasitun' and pointed verse 14 of Surah Jinn in reference to Muawiya.
Rasool Allah too described the group tht will kill Ammar Yasir as the 'rebel' group which was again Muawiya. You can find the hadith in the Sahi Muslim.

What was the criteria for appointing someone as Katib e wahi? :hmmm:

Urdu Columns: Katib-e- Wahi Hazrat Ameer Muawiya Razi Allah o Anho

^Muawiya being scribe of revelation? Perhaps it will help to go back to the original question of Code_Red as to when and where Muawiya accepted Islam. (It is certainly not as simple as the article above implies).

By the way, is this discussion going anywhere?! may be the original poster could join back and direct this.

Peace aqeel123

What are you implying by this? I do see what justified?

Thanks folks for addressing my queries. I appreciate you time and energy consumed for this effort :flower1:

I neither have time nor inclination to discuss petty issues based on assumptions and suspissions. For that matter, I am not interested in knowing how many people had a dream that Mr. Muawiya converted long before Fatah Makkah. Same way, I am NOT looking for any proof or more elaborated reasons / conspiracy theory of Hazrat Hasan :razi: Shahadat

I hope The transition of power From Amir Muawiya to Yazeed was better than we see now the crown changing heads from Kim jong ill ----> Kim jong Un

Just like Sulah Hudaibia is a historical fact; same way, there was a written, documented, signed and stamped contract between Hazrat Hasan :razi: and Amir Muwiya

My question :
Was that contract implemented in letter and spirit ? If not, then who is responsible for that breach ? Is it not sunnah of holy prophet (pbuh) to honour pledge or contract ? The above mentioned charter at Hudaibia is prime example of this sunnat.

I want breif and concise sunni perspective. thanks

You got some copy paste from Quran in reply to copy paste i did from Quran ?

Off topic:

Yaaar kahan kahan sey bhago gey ? Sir cover kertay ho to legs cover nahi rehtieen, Legs cover kertay ho to sir nanga ho jata hai.

Now atleast admit that sending lanat is okay. YAZID per lanat !

And by same token, lanat on those who started cursing Imam Ali a.s and those who followed them.

Psyah bro, i honestly think u dont belong to this thread, now i feel bad from replying to ur post earlier.

^ Aqeel , mind answering what i wrote/copy pasted? :)

We can shift the discussion to my blog if code red is no more interested in discussing this.

Mind what ,,,, what u have quoted ? Quran says There were munafiqs between people who claimed to be Prophet s.a.w's Companion ? u want me to buy what u said over Quran ?

Actually u should ask urself, how can u trust anything from such writers who wrote stuff contradicting to Quran

Imam Ali a.s was never in favor of raising sword first or you wud have seen civil wars in Islam before Jamal.
Thats bcoz he didnt want Disunity among Muslims.
Same applys in the references u posted... Imam Ali a.s still wanted unity in Islam and he did realize he was fighting Muslims. It wasnt Mu'wiya alone he was fighting. It was the whole army.

I want breif and concise sunni perspective. thanks

Syedena Hassan RA pledged Allegience and,once made, his pledge was maintained
not only did he pledge but he RA made AL-Hussein (ra) pledge Allegience too

the pledge made Muawiya RA EMIR UL MOMINEEN. some of the shias say this made AL-Hassan (ra) humilliator of the momineen (he lost imamate for his children through it)

it is sufficient to know AL-Hussein ra moved at the time of Yazid and not at the time of Muawiya ra to know the bayah (pledge) was respected. and it is sufficient to know Al-Hassan RA FACED DANGER in whatever decision he made but with the grace of Allah SWT survived the attack on him by people unhappy at his peace treaty (we ASWJ are not of those people)

there was no humilliating clauses in the 'peace treaty', we also know Muawiya RA, during his caliphate, was keen to fulfill the ahlebayts rights or at least of what the ahlebayt were willing to accept of it. the agreement included giving the caliphate to AL-Hassan RA if anything happened to Muawiya RA (as Hassan ra had bayyah of a significant portion of the Muslims)

certainly Al-Hassan RA would not be the one to select Al-Hussein RA or ask for it to remain in his familly as he was giving the pledge someone else at the time! also his father, Ali RA, refused to name a successor, rather a portion of the muslims chose Al-Hassan RA.

the only similarity to hudaibiya is that the muslims kept women who fled from the mekkans and did not return them because they were not part of the agreement. what you are looking for, in handing Al-Hussein ra the caliphate, was not part of the agreement. although Al-Hussain RA is more then worthy of the Caliphate

sunnis do not hold Muawiya RA in higher esteem then Al-Hassan, Al-Hussein, (imo) rather other way round, but hold the one, who came later, who holds emnity towards Muawiya RA as hugely deviant. and the one who abuses Muawiya RA as kafir

What was the terms of this pledge? (I am not sure where you got the idea of 'allegiance' from?)
And how is it merit of Muawiya that Hassanain signed and stayed loyal to a pledge with him? If anything then it again shows the truthfulness and nobility of the Hassanain. If you are suggesting that Hassanain detested the idea of fighting Muawiya then you do not have to look too far back in Siffin when both fought along with their brother, Abbas and Mohammad, against the king of Sham. More than 70 veterans of Badr and Ohad took part in Siffin against Muawiya.

......who holds emnity towards Muawiya RA as hugely deviant. and the one who abuses Muawiya RA as kafir

Why does the son of Abu Sufyan gets to have this privilege but this is not extended to the son of Hazrat Abu Bakr. What about Ammar Yasir (one of the earliest person to be converted to Islam, also praised in Quran), Hujr bin Adi (a vetran sahabi)?

I am nobody to put down your beliefs but I do want to understand your rationale.

these questions are for you to answer first so we may understand each other

what was the manner of his pledge/allegience? did he cross his left hands fingers behined his back?
we believe Hassan RA is noble but in your religion how does it show the nobility of a man who liked fighting Muawiya RA, but is now giving such a man (as you view Muawiya RA) a pledge?
nobody is denying that Ali RA took his forces to Siffeen, Syria to gain the pledge from Muawiya RA and eventually had a battle. the battle was fierce and so were sentiments, yet no takfir.
and if you believe there was takfir then what about Hassans (RA) pledge and Al-Husseins (RA) rising during yazids time not Muawiyas ra (20 years)?

Why does the son of Abu Sufyan gets to have this privilege but this is not extended to the son of Hazrat Abu Bakr. What about Ammar Yasir (one of the earliest person to be converted to Islam, also praised in Quran),

they get same priviliges as Uthman RA, Talha RA and Al-Zubayr RA. they were killed during the Fitnah

Manner of Hassan a.s was same on treaty with Mu'awiya as Manner of Prophet s.a.w at treaty of Hudabia.

Y doesnt anyone put terms of treaty here so we can all benefit from it.

I will hold from commenting on many of your points but just say one thing that I think is important. It is strange that you say that Hazrat Ali went to Syria to seek the allegiance of Muawiya. In Madina alone Abdullah ibn Umar, Saad ibn abi Waqas along with some others refused to pay allegiance to him. Hazrat Ali was not the one who went around seeking allegiances for his rule let alone shed Muslim blood for it.

they get same priviliges as Uthman RA, Talha RA and Al-Zubayr RA. they were killed during the Fitnah

You said that if somebody curses or badmouths Muawiya then he is a deviant and a kafir, right?
I asked you if Muawiya alone gets this privilege?
You said that this honour extends to the likes of Hazrat Usman, Talha, Zubayr (meaning, to the grand companions, right?)
I ask you now then what do you say about the one that constituted cursing Hazrat Ali as the part of official prayers. And furthermore went on to kill Ammar Yasir, Mohammad bin Abi Bakr, and Hujr bin Adi along with his companions?