Amidst Metro bus fanfare, Sharjeel Memon promises free WiFi for Karachi

Really? :rotfl:
This is not the problem of Karachi. Sharjeel Memon is issuing reactionary statement after seeing metro project in Lahore and Islamabad. I appreciate his intention, but free wifi is not needed item in Karachi. Please share your thought.

KARACHI: As strange as it sounds, Sindh Information Minister Sharjeel Memon seems to think that free outdoor WiFi may be the answer to Karachi’s many woes.

The announcement appears to be an attempt to catch up with the Sindh government’s counterparts in Islamabad and Lahore who successfully launched the Metro Bus Project between Rawalpindi and the capital amidst much fanfare yesterday.

“The whole of Karachi will have access to free outdoor WiFi through street lights,” Memon said during the inauguration ceremony of a sports complex in the city’s Landhi neighbourhood.
He also announced that the Sindh government would convert all street lights in the metropolis to Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs), adding that CCTV cameras would be attached to these.
The minister’s curious announcement came as the twin cities saw the launch of the metro bus service which is expected to facilitate around 150,000 commuters with 68 buses plying initially. Twenty-four bus stations have been built across the 23km track that consists of a 8.6km elevated portion in Rawalpindi. Each bus will have the capacity to carry 150 passengers and will complete its route within 50 minutes.
During the launch of the metro bus, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif also announced that the federal government planned to introduce a Green Line Metro Bus Service in Karachi and also offered to help develop such a facility in Peshawar and Balochistan.

Amidst Metro bus fanfare, Sharjeel Memon promises free WiFi for Karachi - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Re: Amidst Metro bus fanfare, Sharjeel Memon promises free WiFi for Karachi

Ab Thar Kai Bachoen ko Wifi Sai Pani Mil Jaiga

one thing I dont understand is that k logoon k pass khaney ko roti nahi tu wo cake keyun nahi kha laitey? huh? :confused:

Good initiative although I am seriously uncertain about this project seeing real light of the day. Now do something as well about the extinct sewerage system of more than half of the city Mr. Memon which is your actual domain. Will you please? No you wouldn’t. I know it already.

Aur pani ke bajae doodh se kyon nai nahate.. Bilawaja Water crisis ka shor machaya hwa hai… Ghareeb log :hoonh:

Street light ko LED laga kar us par CCTV camera fix karain gain…

Probably a dial up modem connected to a wifi router at governor house would suffice :smiley:

ah public wifi … time to take my rooted android and have some with peeps!

Last year when that Metro-infested PM the front part of the Ganjamen Brothers came to Karachi and in a lot of fan fare announced the GreenLIne Metro for Karachi … even promised to built it from Federations pocket…

this very gentlemen … if my memory serves me right … said something to the effect the PM should not interfere in the politics of Sindh … Period…

…Any way … I will give credit where its due… don’t know it this Gentlemen of some one else at the Top… but I see Karachi returning to normalcy after a blood bath from 1984- 2014 … especially that i love karachi movement which is painting karachi back to normalcy… its brilliant ..simply brilliant .