American tourist gang-raped in India

I wonder what would have been reaction of world media particularly Indian’s, had this happened in Pakistan?

https://www.yahoo.com/news/india-police-arrest-four-over-us-womans-gang-150642374.html

India police arrest four over US woman’s gang-rape

Indian police on Monday arrested four men accused of drugging and raping an American tourist at a five-star hotel in New Delhi earlier this year, an officer said.

The woman told police that she was part of a tour group visiting India in April when her local guide gave her a spiked bottle of water and raped her with four acquaintances inside her hotel room.

“We arrested four of them a few hours ago. And they, as in the tour guide, driver, cleaner and another hotel employee, have been charged with rape,” Delhi police spokesman, Dependra Pathak, told AFP.

He said the victim, who returned to New Delhi last week, had already recorded her testimony in court and would be able to fly back home in a few days after identifying the suspects.

Police launched a formal investigation earlier this month after the woman filed a complaint through an American charity.

She has told local media in the past week that she had no memory of the assault for nearly three months.

“The first two nights I was drugged, physically assaulted and sexually assaulted,” she told NDTV news network, covering her face with a scarf to hide her identity.

“I had no memory of what happened to me while I was in India. I regained my memory three months later around the end of July and that’s when I took action”.

The assault in April was one of the latest in a series of sex attacks on foreigners in India, reigniting concerns about women’s safety in the country.

A 35-year-old Japanese tourist was raped in southern India last month.

In June, five men were jailed for life for gang-raping a 52-year-old Danish tourist in New Delhi in 2014.

India introduced tough laws against sex offenders in the wake of the fatal gang-rape of a student in the capital in December 2012 that sparked mass street protests.

But high levels of sexual violence against women continue.

Similar stories:

American tourist gang-raped in India - BBC News

https://www.yahoo.com/news/five-arrested-india-over-japanese-tourist-gang-rape-061755939.html?ref=gs

Danish tourist gang-raped in India

Re: American tourist gang-raped in India

Clearly the acts are despicable. It appears the assaulters are getting their due punishment and or have been charged.

Clearly Pakistan is involved in this somehow. There is no way on earth that this can happen in Incredible India without the interference of Pakistan.

They found Naveed Mukhtars DNA inside the victim.

Who is Naveed Mukhtar? :slight_smile: Indian media run by cunning bunyas must be thinking of something of that sort, how it should be related to Muslims, Islam, terrorists and Pakistan :slight_smile:

Why Pakistan media is silent on this? It is a very good opportunity to equal the score against India whose present government and media always find ways and means to malign Pakistan, mostly on non-issues.

woh bhi kya din the jab goray aor gorian freely Pakistan main goomtay phirtay the and tourism boomed at that time.

Cunning baniyas? What does being a baniya have to do with this?

The Jewish people also have been portrayed in this manner. Isn’t that how injustices happen?

Criticize the country if you must. But targeting a community with stereotypes is not constructive.

Racism and bigotry seem to be deeply ingrained in the subcontinental mindset, and doesnt seem to be going away any time soon.

demonetization will force the foreigners to stop coming to India. this will solve the problem as police is unable to.

guess what! I was discussing the same with my friend just now. He also thinks that this will adversely affect tourism as newspapers were telling this but a recent report shows 9.3 % rise this november as compared to the last year’s same month. However he doesn’t believe govt figure, says he applies common sense and these making of these reports are in the hands of executives (and in turn ministers). Such crimes have tarnished image, if police continues to fail then consequences will be severe. Well medical tourism will remain unaffected, I think.

Lookie here. SJW to the rescue. The point to be noted here is that “Sachaydino](http://gupshup.org/gs/members/sachaydino/)” said Buniya NOT Hindu Baniya. But noooo SJW have to say what is more fashionable and what projects them are proponents of rights and equality. :rolleyes:

Oh and the stereotypes about Jewish people have been propagated by Christians not muslims. Plus you don’t have to worry about the baniyas because Shahrukh Khan will soon glorify the “muslim baniyas” in his next movie. I am sure you have heard the dialogue ““Baniye Ka Dimaag Aur Miyanbhai Ki Daring”” :wink:

https://scontent.fzty1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15741300_1209064555845906_1110404178549322148_n.jpg?oh=73b355d1e602d5a3b547923f7dd550c5&oe=58DCA9AF

Southie, I live in America and I have noticed a number of times after new love with Trump, Hindus of India leave no stone untured to malign Muslims and Pakistani origin the most. The hatred is so much if any baniya phart, it is the fault of Muslims. While returning from Pakistan to JFK this month, I was travelling in an airport service to Philadelphia PA, a Hindu lady was also travelling with me. After knowing that I came from Pakistan she immediately said was I harassed at the air port as Trump said he would stop people coming from Pakistan? I controlled my anger and told her I got out immigration and customs in just five minutes never ever that happened before. Next I asked her where the hell Trump singled out Pakistan? A guy from KSA was also travelling perhaps she thought he would support her lie. He said Trump did not say that and some of his speeches about Muslims were purely stupid and not based on facts. So shut the fup. Lady did not spoke a single word till I got out from the vehicle. :slight_smile:

I instruct all my family to not discuss faith and politics outside of the home. No one at my work or neighborhood knows about my personal information. Generalising is a very dangerous thing. There are good and bad amongst all of us. One of the most touching experience I had in my professional life was thru an Indian family. I had sprained my ankle and was walking with a limp and this young man asked his wife who is a physiotherapist to take care of me and she got on the floor and examined and readjusted my foot. In my 20 yrs career, this is the kindest anyone has been to me. If I had been prejudiced I would have missed on this beautiful display of humanity.

This reminds me of beautiful “I hate when people turn their facebook pages universe and life in itself” quote by one of our senior member.
At times, most of the people including me generalise things and become prejudiced. At one moment we say something and at other moment some different thing based on our thinking that time. Our thinking also changes with experiences, observances and circumstances, it is worth to remember that we are living in post-truth age. Facts and figures can be easily shown in favour of what suits our motive/agenda. Also rapid flow of information sometimes undermine understanding of things.

All of what you said is absolutely true. Well put. :k:

I am not generalizing. Me and my daughter met the same situation. Definitely you don’t want me to ignore such ugly people who are really very narrow minded and prejudiced. This new love with Trump has created a lot of hatred against Muslims. This should be stopped immediately. I suppose you are an Indian, should stop any one who acts ugly in your community.

You might need to expand on your statement my friend. I am not sure if I fully understand what you are saying.

No I don’t want you to ignore bigotry and racism but that was an ugly hateful person you met and you might meet hundreds more and one day you will need the nicest person, punishing the nice person and hating him would be wrong based on your experiences with others. We really have to be careful to not let this anger fester in our children also. My boy gets profiled and gets pulled out at the airport and this time they put chemicals n chit on his hands and he was quite angry. I did not support his anger. We have to be chill and happy to thrive in this society. I told him to channel his anger into being a lot more successful rather than festering in anger. All visible minorities will feel the hatred including Sikhs and Hindus. Recently a Sikh place of worship was vandalized in our city. So let bigots support bigotry and time will tell they will be targets themselves. And no I am not an Indian but I believe in human values above any nationalistic values.

there are a lot of these incidents, and we expect them to increase in future.
perhaps in 10-15 yrs we will have to move back to Pak :wink:

Still much better place to live where there is rule of law and there are majority of law abiding friendly, honest and very hard working intelligent people live who made this country a super duper country on earth. :slight_smile: