American thrown out of Puri temple

Sarath Mama/Sampad Mahapatra
Friday, March 2, 2007 (Puri):

In another example of intolerance in the places of worship, an American visitor to the Jagannath Puri was thrown out of the ancient temple.

There was commotion at the temple after the American tourist was spotted near the sanctum sanctorum, an act that amounts to desecration.

According to tradition only Hindus are allowed to enter the 12th century temple.

A 59-year-old American engineer from New York identified as Paul F Rodgier and his two Indian friends were escorted to the police station and released shortly after being questioned.

Unaware of ban

Rodgier claimed he wasn’t aware of the ban on entry for non-Hindus.

“I had no idea there was quite a fuss and I was escorted out of the temple. And I did that,” said Rodgier.

Paul and his friends were let off after paying a fine of Rs 209 for purification rituals. No further action will be taken against them.

“It’s practically not possible to identify each and every devotee and we are releasing them because there is no provision in Law to take any action against for entering the temple,” said Alekh Pahi, Inspector, Town Police Station, Puri.

Purification rites

*The incident has led to a series of purification rites including a Mahasnan of the deities and dumping of cooked Bhog worth over Rs 2 lakh. (Crazy fellows)
No fresh offerings were made to the deities for over 18 hours.

The sevayats accept the American’s claim of ignorance about the temple’s traditions and want the administration to publicise the entry rules as this wasn’t the first such incident.

“The American and his friends were probably not aware of the rules,” said a devotee.

“Is it not the duty of the temple administration to publicise the rules on larger boards outside the temple,” said another devotee.

There is no discrimination based on caste but a board outside the temple says only Hindus are allowed inside.

A right that applies to Jains, Sikhs and Buddhists from India and neighbouring countries but not on American ISCKON devotees.

There have been demands to open the temple to everyone. Until this happens such incidents will continue to create ripples.

http://www.ndtv.com/morenews/showmorestory.asp?slug=American+thrown+out+of+Puri+temple&id=101638&category=National#

+++++++++++++++
*I wonder how these idiots would have behaved if a muslim would have entered the temple.

Re: American thrown out of Puri temple

Mods..Please delete this blank post.

What's wrong with their treatment? Accidentally entered. Escorted out. Paid fine. Done deal.

They blamed themselves. They've even proposed opening it up to everyone. A hindu worshipper said "The American and his friends were probably not aware of the rules".

Seems to me they treated pretty rationally. You on the other hand, didn't :

Woah...did you miss their tolerance and forgiveness? Did you read the article? Or did you just read one sentence and get too angry to finish.

Here's what I didnt read - I didn't read about any hindus greeting the white boy with death chants. Compare their treatment of this one innocent man to the way we treat foreigners in Makkah. I wonder how muslim idiots would react if a Jew or Atheist wanted to enter Makkah. We sure as hell wouldnt escort them out, give them a 4 dollar fine, and let them free. We'd put them in jail. We sure wouldnt sit down at a table and say "you know what, if these non muslims are interested in islam - maybe we should let them all in". Who's the idiot now? The hate mongerer (you the muslim) or the Hindus?

Quit fanning the flames of hatred and grow up. You've some how made this situation into another racist put down on our Indian brothers and sisters when praise is due. You might also want to learn how to read .

No I stick to my guns that there should not be any restriction for a person to enter a religious place..whatever his/her faith might be. Such attitudes showcase putting God into slots.

Strange to note that God becomes dirty if a human being not belonging to HIS category comes closer.

Common people will simply ignore such 'intrusions' but it is the priests who need to understand scriptures well.

I am a f........g Indian who knows how to accept criticism and shortcomings our Indian society has because that gives me the right to criticise others. :)

Mind explaining what exactly pissed you off? What's the issue at hand? Throwing food away?

If someone who has not done wudu comes into a mosque and touches a cushion, would you yell at us for washing or throwing it away?

You might be Indian, but you sure don't know what you're criticizing.

Arre yaar shanti rakho kyon bina vajah ke bhadakte ho?. I am a Hindu but not a fanatic like RSS or Bajrang Dal activists. This episode showcases intolerance but certainly not comparable to the possible scenario you have explained. Throwing food away sends a signal that it got contaminated by 'germs of a christian' and hence it should be thrown away.
And if you believe in washing a cushion because somebody did not enter a mosque in 'physically neat & clean condition' (although he might be having all the evil ideas in his mind) then change this rule as well.

Your knowledge of Islam is mind boggling…All Muslims can learn so much from you…

hskhan, I agree with you. I think the issue got overplayed (as any religious issue usually is). The guy wasn't treated as badly as some people make it seem like.

However, I do support the change in the rule. Anyone should be able to enter the temple, regardless of his religion. Original hindu principles do not disrespect people from other faiths, and it's shameful to see these guys are not allowing christians muslims etc to come in. Why the fk not?

I believe ANYBODY (from any faith, or no faith) should be able to enter any religious place (mandir, masjid or church).

Kool!....Hindus have their own kind of racism against the whites and low cast Hindus.