American Degree.

I do not have an American degree. All I have is a Pakistani degree. But being in IT , Alhumdulillah I have that dream job I wanted to have.
But still I wanted to have a degree from USA , I did some research to see if I can do an online Ph.D from some reputed US university. I filled an online form and I got a call from a lady , who told me it will cost me $75,000 dollars to get that Ph. D. :hayaa: . My company has a tuition reimbursement program , but they do not pay that much. I have a family to feed , mortgage to pay etc etc.
If I had that kind of money I would not be looking for doing Ph.D I would open a desi restaurant and live happily ever after.
Even a Masters degree costs an arm and a leg.
Any tips from those guru’s out there to get at least a MBA degree as a part time student from a reasonably reputed university of USA without incurring some big financial liability ?
No it is not a requirement from my company for further promotion. It is just that I feel I have a void in my resume without an American degree.

Re: American Degree.

if you dont midn tellign us which uni was saying its $75K for phd?
there are many good unis that have part time or online programs in different fields that you can do.

Let me know your area of focus and what city you are in and I can even dig up stuff for you.
there may be similar info on distance, online and part timr Mbas i gave to someone last year and if u search in C&A section u may find it.

I personally would say dont go for an online version unless you simply have no other option, your local area unis would have a part time MBA program, get started on that, or look for an executive MBA program.

Thanks X2 that is what I thought too. My company itself offers an MBA, all expenses paid, in collaboration with a reputed university but that is too binding from the perspective of minimum course load and time and effort required. My former boss started it but he quit pursuing it and told me not to go for it. It was his honest opinion. So may be local University it is. I will start exploring that possibility.

Mirch bhai... I agree with X2 on this. Enrolling in a part-time graduate program where you're taking one or two courses at a time is far better than an online degree. Also, even though most would recommend a tier-1 school for an MBA, for someone like you having a lot of work experience, I wouldn't discount the value of an MBA even from a State University.

An online Ph.D. for $75K is really unheard of ! A Ph.D. is supposed to be something one pursues out of their passion for research and 90% of the students complete it on some sort of scholarship or financial aid provided through the University or the research supervisor.

An institution charging an exorbitant amount for this sounds just like a commercial venture, and I would doubt the caliber of their research faculty to begin with... otherwise, they would have various types of grants to attract students etc.

Also, lastly, pursuing a Ph.D. is more than a full-time endeavor... I'm nearing the end of my 5th year (out of which 4 were full-time) so I should know - although I've been pursuing it alongside various other consulting engagements and work commitments.

Bhaijan, that is one guy's opinion, get some others opnions as well.
what you have to really think about is the differential in the level of effort, versus payback.
I say do everything you do as well as you can. and that 'as you can' varies from person to person based on commitments, approach etc.

aap kunwari larki ki tarah sharma rahay hain. and not telling me where u are, although i can go to that fraternity thread and find out where uare since u postyed a link from your city paper :D

and as far as MBA goes, what do u want to do in future, because that may determine a focus and that may have an impact on choice of uni.

agree with lucid on phd stuff thats why i asked uni nme, cuz it just sounds dodgy.

Short answer for now , I am in suburb of Charlotte , NC . I will discuss more after Namaz a Juma .

Mirch,

In addition to what everyone else has said. If you just need a US degree I would agree 100% not to go for the University of Phoenix and Devrys out there. A local university would be a lot better than these national online universities (some of which are not actually accredited).

If your company has a reimbursement program, then 90% of your problems have been solved. Ask them specifically if the reimbursement program covers the travel and boarding expenses. If they do then I’d go for an Executive MBA Program from a top 10 EMBA Program - Duke, Emory etc.

Also, MBA is not your only option; you can also go for a MS from a local university.

i think you got information from university who sells american degrees on bassis of experience

Ostrich - I believe you're right. Those are a big NO! I have seen a case where an otherwise qualified experienced candidate was rejected simply 'cause that person had a PhD. from one of these universities listed on his resume. Some help.

I know quite a few people who did their MBAs while working full-time. If you have the passion for further study, inshaAllah you can do it. I would say go for the MBA that your company is ready to fund. It sure is a valuable investment of time and effort. Just make sure that where-ever you do your MBA (not online) it is better if it is AACSB accredited. A good MBA can open many doors for you in future. Plus, it is a very interesting learning experience.

Regarding the online PhD for 75K, as others commented above, a big NO..

Mirch yaar, why don't you join a research institute?
Free PhD programs + you get enough funds for meeting your financial needs.

Don't know about USA, but in Europe there are plenty of such institutes...

I agree with Stork... an MBA is not the only option for a graduate degree - even though it happens to be a popular choice due to its corss-applicability to multiple disciplines and professions.

Sometimes, other graduate degrees may be more beneficial in the long term - especially if the programs are geared towards your specific line of work.

I teach courses in both an MBA program as well as an MSc program - and interact with student audience with a variety of study and training objectives. Many students in the MSc program already have an MBA and vice versa.

DW... unfortunately, the practice is less common in North America. Typically, a terminal degree is a requirement for entry into research institutes or R&D wings of multinationals.

I quite laud and admire the research oriented learning and development models in Europe esp. Germany where there is extensive collaboration among employers and sponsor organizations to facilitate research opportunities. Also, there's lesser bureaucracy and mandated progression paths for students who wish to pursue these options.

I wanted to do it with being a full time employee. I have a job which pays comfortably enough so I do not want to quit that job.
As for MBA , I already have an MBA from one of well recognized institution of Pakistan and lots of experience. So I thought that I might get some exemptions and could get the degree faster.

sarkar if you are an IBa dude, let me know, I may know some of you class fellows, i did no go to iba but bucnh of cousins pals etc went there.

if u have an MBA already, go for something else..maybe a specialized certificate, 2 MBAs would be a little well i dunno.

If hes merely interested in a 'US degree', then does it really matter whether he gets it online or through distance learning? Yes, he should make sure its not one of those 'purchasable' degrees. Almost all reputable universities offer distance learning combined with a little mandatory class time, with legitimate degrees. Since he said he doesnt need it for a promotion or anything, why not go for anything thats available?
But yes, if youre looking for advancement in your career, or a Phd, do it the right way. Get enrolled!