America breeds Racism?

Salams guppies :slight_smile:

I have thought about this topic quite a bit and I’ve come to the conclusion that this so called land of ethnic and cultural diversity…AMREEKA…actually is the hot breeding ground for R.A.C.I.S.M.

I grew up in Pakistan and came to America in my late teens for college, I NEVER in my life even cared about or knew what race my friends were from in Pakistan. In my school and in our neighborhood we had people from all races and backgrounds and different cities of Pakistan. Punjabi, Sindhi, Urdu speaking, Pashtoon, Balochi, mixes of these etc etc. Nobody cared at all and nobody gave a second thought to these things. We all grew up together and nobody ever cared or mentioned this kind of stuff. My own group of tight friends was completely multiracial and we spoke to each other in Urdu. Till llike one or two years ago I never even knew the ethnicity of some of my friends whom I had grown up with because we always communicated in Urdu and I never asked them whether they were Punjabi or Sindhi or Pathan or what…One of my friends used to speak Sindhi at home so I knew she was Sindhi but that was it…us ke ilawa I knew some friends used to go to other provinces for summer vacations but I never thought of them as Punjabi or Pathan etc…never ever…

This could just be a part of me growing up and becoming more aware of the world…I dunno…but ever since I came to America it seems like the people around me are obsessed about race and background and this has rubbed off on me :bummer: Or maybe I am just turning into a racist? :confused: :crying:

I actually asked one of my best friends whom I have grown up with what she was…like Sindhi or Punjabi etc…when I went home in the summer and she was like whoaa why r u asking that Irem…I was like matti pao I don’t wanna know I’m going crazy :bummer:

Sure, I guess America makes one aware of her/his identity and enhances the sense of identity in an individual. However, I feel it breeds more friction among the ethnic groups rather than cohesion…!!!

Some of my best friends and cousins got into interracial marriages in Pakistan and I was discussing this with one of them just now and she was shocked at the polarised statements and views I was coming out with she told me I must be living in baba-e-adam ka zamana and had become RACIST and she noticed it in me that I’m much more interested in knowing people’s backgrounds now and I never used to ask such questions before…:bummer:

I dono but suddenly I feel I’ve become hecka racist and I don’t wanna be but for some reason I just can’t help it what am I supposed to do I dont want to be racist :crying:

In Islam kisi arbi ko ajmi ke oopar aur ajmi ko arbi ke oopar fazeelat haasil naheen…then whats wrong with me why am I becoming a RACISTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT :crying:

You are 100% correct.
especially the areas around New York is the nest where racism is breeding.

But since you as a pakistani, are living in US na going through all of those conditions, i think its natural for u to feel over whelmed with yr thoughts.

fikar not...you are perfectly normal! :)

monashaaaaaaaaaa :hug:

yaar kitnay achay thay na saint michael’s walay din when we dint ever think of these things :frowning:

Re: America breeds Racism?

yawn

:wave:

*Originally posted by irem: *
**came to America in my late teens for college, I NEVER in my life even cared about or knew what race my friends were from in Pakistan. **

you had friends of different races in pakistan? africans, chinese, european? or are you looking at sindhis and punjabis and balochis as diff races?

**Nobody cared at all and nobody gave a second thought to these things. We all grew up together and nobody ever cared or mentioned this kind of stuff. **

right…when did u come to US, were u there when behari-pathan riots took place and how about the sindhi offensive?

This could just be a part of me growing up and becoming more aware of the world…

yeah probably

**Sure, I guess America makes one aware of her/his identity and enhances the sense of identity in an individual. However, I feel it breeds more friction among the ethnic groups rather than cohesion…!!! **

my experiences are different. if you are speaking of ethnicity and background, i lived in a fraternity house during all 5 years of undergrad :wink: there were ppl of irish, italian, german, greek, croatian, polish, asian background and all fdiff religions, that was never an issue.

Some of my best friends and cousins got into interracial marriages in Pakistan **

please define race…a sindhi marrying a balochi is not an inter-racial marriage like a chinese marrying an african..please compare apples to apples.

**she noticed it in me that I’m much more interested in knowing people’s backgrounds now and I never used to ask such questions before…:bummer: **

almost everyone does it in pakistan, “aap ka taluq kahan say hai” to find out your background, in most cases its just to know and in some cases its used to socialize or to not socialize etc.

**I dono but suddenly I feel I’ve become hecka racist and I don’t wanna be but for some reason I just can’t help it what am I supposed to do I dont want to be racist :crying: **

a starting point would be to stop blaming the surroundings, if u feel u have become racist. u need to figure out why, and more than that how can u contain it.

**then whats wrong with me why am I becoming a RACIST **

whats wrong with u, aside from god or yourself only a counselor can help. we can all guess but thats not going to be worth squat.

Salams guppies :slight_smile:

I have thought about this topic quite a bit and I’ve come to the conclusion that this so called land of ethnic and

Irem

Its part of growing up.

We all went through the bachpan ka zamaana when every body loved everyone else.But thats is why they ae called INNOCENTS days & least complicated simple .You get what you see :kiss:

But as we age ,we travel ,we move ,we work at different areas with different challenges.Yes at times it will make you cry & long for those innocent days .If you are lucky may be you ll find one but for many only option is to FIGHT .You have to do’ JAd O JaHaD '…Jehad actually is struggle ka naam hai be it rascism ,prejudice ,ignorence sexism you have to fight you have to do jehad every day like a soldier .Against EVIL :mocking: people ,against Narcissistic :disgust: peoples against :devil: otherwise life would not be said"Life is not bed or roses Irem " :flower2: :k: Fight Fight Fight :rocket:

Irem, it’s part of growing up. Enjoy. :flower1:

Re: Re: America breeds Racism?

Originally posted by Fraudz: *
**came to America in my late teens for college, I NEVER in my life even cared about or knew what race my friends were from in Pakistan. *

you had friends of different races in pakistan? africans, chinese, european?

in place of irem, I wud say that:

"yes. the convent we studied in was the ALMA MATER of different people from different countries living in Pakistan. chinese and europeans along with Indians were very common in every batch, wether mine or Irem's!
there were even a pair or espanol twins in my class.

despite of knowing that we are Pakistani's and they are not or that we are muslims and they are not, never lead to any rudeness, reluctantness or attitude problem.

i think that since irem is know all by her self in a different place then Pakistan, and that she has entered a mature phase of her life, the difference b/w ppl is more clear to her now!

Re: Re: Re: America breeds Racism?

*Originally posted by monasha: *

Originally posted by Fraudz: *
**came to America in my late teens for college, I NEVER in my life even cared about or knew what race my friends were from in Pakistan. *

you had friends of different races in pakistan? africans, chinese, european?

in place of irem, I wud say that:

"yes. the convent we studied in was the ALMA MATER of different people from different countries living in Pakistan. chinese and europeans along with Indians were very common in every batch, wether mine or Irem's!
there were even a pair or espanol twins in my class.

despite of knowing that we are Pakistani's and they are not or that we are muslims and they are not, never lead to any rudeness, reluctantness or attitude problem.

i think that since irem is know all by her self in a different place then Pakistan, and that she has entered a mature phase of her life, the difference b/w ppl is more clear to her now!

There are Chinese, Europeans, and Indians studying in your school in Pakistan? Amazing. Any Cubans?

yep our head girl was a chinese.

and the indian girl, now with me in cbm as well was very prominant in sports.

there were a number or european guys too who had hardly spent a few childhood years there and then came to PK.

how ever those spanish kids couldnt adjust there so left in 2 yrs after flunking every class.

*Originally posted by monasha: *
yep our head girl was a chinese.

and the indian girl, now with me in cbm as well was very prominant in sports.

there were a number or european guys too who had hardly spent a few childhood years there and then came to PK.

how ever those spanish kids couldnt adjust there so left in 2 yrs after flunking every class.

Why do you study in co-ed school ?arnt there girls school ?

Naqsh, can you be my mentor? i love your posts.

why do i study in a co-ed school and why not in a girls school<

allright....

when all of us girls talk easily with guys without the sick idea of attraction towards them...ie. talking to them as class fellows or collegues, then whats wrong in studying in co-ed.

when we know that later on in life, we shall be standing alone facing the world full of men in proffesional colleges, uni's or even work places, then why not study in a co-ed now and learn to maintain our dignity as well as confidence with men from the very begining instead of later on being intimidited by them.

i dont see any harm in studying in a co-ed when a girl can maintain her self respect and sanity in her own eyes as well as the other people there.

There is another kind of racism among Desis. If you talk to Pakis or Indies living in USA for decades many of them have never invited even one GORA to their home eventhough they work together. They make friends with their own people and never mix with people from other races.
In USA they are just curious where you are from most of the times. However for Desis where you are from forms the basis of whether there will be any future correspondence or not.

^You will always be welcome at my place Rifak.... Do you like Mutton ki karahi?

Because both Boys & Girls do there BEST if they study in UNI SEX schools according to LATEST research of Education Dept .In AMREEKKKA !!! I bet once you had seperate schools then British came & taught to you gulluible that it was BARABARIC to have seperate schools & You & Your parents like Naive & Gullible Pakistani impressed by the Gora Brit followed suite & you are just parooting the words taught to your westernised modern parents !!!:eek: :smooth:

Girls get disturbed by Boys like Queer who are here only for the Testerone hormone boiling in him.

Besides Girls develop into woman in 6 th grade & become shy coy & innocently object of attraction .The boys like queer mature LATE so by now when Queers classmates GIRLS are now mother of 3 children & looking like aunties his testerone just kicked in .:hehe: :rofl:

After 12 yrs school girls are smart enough to know that when Queer is volunteering with the bunch of college girls ,at least you wont think like the girl in 6th grade that he is not MAHTAMA GANDHI:rolleyes: but …:nahnah:

I know that :Its never too late to start over again ANEW :hula: :hula: :hula:

Here is to your mentorship :bhangra:

Monasha

if you go back and read Irem's post, it was equating sinshis/punjabis as diff races, which is very diff from race.

as far as convent schools in pakistan, yes there can be a few ppl from other races, but thats it..few. from a racial perspective there def is not the type of richness you will see in London, NewYork, Los Angeles or Chicago.