Ameen

We have an Ameen to go to this coming weekend for an 11-year old girl. I have never attended an Ameen before so i am not sure what to bring her.
Please share ideas??? Thank you!:slight_smile:

Re: Ameen

what is an Ameen? :konfused:
sorry i dont know so am asking :slight_smile:

Mahru...perhaps a nice copy of The Holy Quran..???

I don't have any experience n don't remember much from my own Ameen but I think I recieved all the age appropriate stuff you would get on a birthday.

Well we went to one and gave $30 cash (you can also give a gift card) to the kid, another aunty gave a little jewelry set kind of thing, and another one gave some toy stuff.

Sidz, Ameen is when the child finishes the Quran (for the first time), parents either do it by themselves or arrange a little thing where they read the hat mul quran dua and few other things and then entertain you with some good food.

i remember gettting alot of moneyy on my Ameen..ofcourse my desi parents took all of it ...:)

umm..11 yr old girl wuld luv sum girly stuff..so i think u should probably go to the mall..and look around for sumthing like a cute handbag, a lil jewelry box, sum cute lil jewelry, lock diary, colorful gelpens..etc..what else?

my cousin recently finished her quran
and my grandfather got her a pair of gold earings from pakistan cos she finished when he was there.

Thank you everyone for some great ideas! Keep them coming. I m leaning towards a $50 giftcard.

Afia's idea of the Quran reminded me of a very good Quran learning game from www.astrolabe.com. I think i am going to check that out too.

Please don’t give clothes…all the desi aunties do that :rolleyes:

maybe u can get her a nice hijab... even if she doesnt wear it on a daily basis its always nice to have one... i know i want one badly for when im at work i can use it to pray.... at the moment i have this real horrible dupatta...

neeeways

on my cousins ameen.. he got things like Quran's and i think even Jaanemaz...

well for my neices' ameen (she was 8) i bought her these small gold stud-type of earrings to wear everyday-type...for an 11 year old girl....hmm...liek someone said..girly stuff is alwasy good....a jewellery box is nice...

what is an ameen?

we have to go to an ameen as well this coming weekend - what an odd coincidence :-D I think we'll give a gift card too

I got MONEY MONEY MONEY for my aameen. More money than I ever had before, which in the grand scheme of things wasn’t that much :cb:

That link was really good...mahru

Nia: yes, i always go there to pick out stuff for my billa, Ahmed:) and soon will be buying Islamic stuff for my own baby, InshaAllah!

Rukhsar: wow, that is odd. What is the location of the Ameen that you will be attending??

Mywish: According to Lusi, Ameen is when the child finishes the Quran (for the first time), parents either do it by themselves or arrange a little thing where they read the khat mul quran dua and few other things and then entertain you with some good food.

I remember getting a copy of the Quran with translation, cash, a little locket and a lot of shalwar kameezes for my ameen.

Umm..i didnt get NEthing when i finished my Quran the first time...!

The day I finished my Quran. I got a Danda from the maulvi sahib for making a mistake.

for my ameen , my pohpoh (who was also my teacher) had given me a bike, but somebody stole it the next day..lol..thats what i got for living in rexdale....lol....