who hates poetry? shair-o-shairi has got to be the laziest hobby i know. Youve got to have lots of time on your hands to indulge in poetry. No offense ![]()
arched eye brow
Kahaan hay maira danda?!
;)
Akif...u r 200% right.....I just can't stand this poetry and poets.....Nikammay nalaiq log.....huh...Allah en ko aqal de...Ameen
Btw nice name "Akif"... ;)
*Shhhhhheeeeesh....Where is my Ghulail Ppl!!!*
oeyyy chal oeeey MuRGE bun...abi murgaa bun jaoo..haya apna danda doond rahee hia...chal shabashh...
- yaar yahan loogoon ke tuteyhuey DiL hiankuch kheal karna...sari duniya chor kar cchali ghi un ko sirf poetry baki reh ghi un ka zakham bharney/meetaney ke leye..take it easy bro...*
Jaawan
Till next time*K_I_S_S*©
Naik ji..looks like we are two of a kind. Haya ji..shairon ko danda chalana ata hai kiya?
By the way, if u rearrange the above two lines so that the last words of them rhyme, it will become a shair. and frankly, thats what shairi is. bahut hi faarigh logon ka kaam hai suchi.
naiku ubh janey bhi dow…
i was wondering abt his name too ![]()
akif
http://www.pak.org/gupshup/biggrin.gif
[This message has been edited by zainab (edited December 26, 1999).]
i gree akif, dont worry, if it does not rhyme, it is free verse, in which most newspapers are written.
Akif, Tum aur dosray Moderators..... if you guys/Mods are RIGHT...then lemme say:
Allam Iqbal, aur saray baRay baRay shair....not only they wasted their time....but till now, buhat souN ka ajj tak waste ker rahay haieN..... jo etnee lambee lambee SHAYREE type ker kay hum sub ko ENTERTAIN kertay haieN!!!!!
hahahahaaa hehehe....Akif tum per nahaieN kesee aur pay hansnay ko jee chah raha hay! hahah hehehehee
Cool Young Man!
Nadeem
[This message has been edited by Nadeem (edited December 26, 1999).]
This is from the Holy Quran. Go figure :)
26:224
And the Poets,- It is those straying in Evil, who follow them
26:225
Seest thou not that they wander distracted in every valley?
26:226
And that they say what they practise not?
Akif! Every Single Ayat of Holy Quraan is on top of my head I mean Quraan ka hukum ser ankhouN pay.....
But plz tell me who was Hassan Bin Sabit Razi Allahu anhu...The Poet of Holy Prophet Peace be upon him.
Once Hazrat Labeed Razi Allahu anhu read a poetry verse in front of our Holy Prophet. Rasulullah has said, "Labeed kee baat sub say sachchee hay". The correct Arabic root is "Ma khall laha batilouN" means whatever is other than Allah is going to an end. Thats how Holy prophet peace be upon him has said, "He is almost right" and for your info it was poetry.
Could I count down the name of Poet/Poetess those who were among SAHABAs...
Hows about Hazrat Aysha Razi Allah Anha, Hazrat Fatima and others.
Imam Bukhari Rehmatuallah alyah has written down a book by the name Adab Al Mufrad it would be good to give you the record of Sahabs, who were setting up poetry.
Tabqat Ibne-e-Saad also gives you the details of Sahabas who were doing poetry.
Hows about Nateya Poetry in praise of our beloved HOLY PROPHET..peace be upon him.
It was Abu Talib who has praised Holy Prophet in the form of poetry and our Holy Prophet has admired it after the death of Abu Talib. (Read Ibn-e-Hishaam, Vol 1)
Dr. Abdullah Abbas Nadvi, the ex-President of Oxford Islamic Center had written down a book about the Nateya Poetry in Arabic during the days of Holy Prophet..plz read that book,it is available in London. This was his research thesis for his PhD from Leeds university.
Hows about Imam Bukhari(the author of Bukhare Shareef - the best book after holy Quraan), Maulana Rome, Imam Busayree (the greatest Arabic poet for Nateya Shayyree, author of Qaseda-Burda), Khuwajah Moin Uddin Chushtee Ajmeeri, Baba Bulhay Shah, Baha uddin Zakreya Multani, Data Ganj Buksh, and others.
I hope that these Scholars/Sufi Saints had understood the above verses of Holy Quran better than anyone of us!
Nadeem
PS: Akif! As far as Naik is concerned, she loves poetry, thats how she is always visiting/posting in this forum frequently. And I feel that she is among few who has very very good taste of Urdu/Punjabi poetry. Recently she posted the Ay eshq hamay Barbad na ker of Akhter Sheerani and that is the best ever posting I've seen since last couple of weeks. Whatever fun 'am making its a different story. I just wanna change the taste!!!! Aray yaar haree merchaien khanay may baRa maza ata hay!!!!
[This message has been edited by Nadeem (edited December 26, 1999).]
Nadeem....you gave a lot of references, and I wont doubt them, or their sources. However, in response to all of them, I will ask you to repeat my earlier post, in which i posted a saying of Allah SWT. Whose word would u regard higher? Allah's SWT or anyone elses?
Oh and yes..Prophet SAW never expressed his displeasure with poetry or poets, but he didnt exactly 'like' it either. Once while sitting with Hazrat Abu Bakar Siddiq RA, he SAW recited a shair by a noted poet of the time, and he recited the last verse first, and the first verse last. Hazrat Abubakr RA corrected him, to which Prophet SAW replied that he didnt care much for poetry, which is why he didnt know the proper way to say a shair.
Shall I move this thread to the Religious Section?
Faqat
Shaira
Shaira....YahiN rehnay du... :)
Akif....haaN ji sahib....lemme increase ur knowledge....Prophet(PBUH) did express his displeasure against poetry...
Sahih Bukhari Vol.8 Book 73 #175:
Narrated Ibn 'Umar:
The Prophet said, "It is better for a man to fill the inside of his body with pus than to fill it with poetry."
176:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah's Apostle; said, "It is better for anyone of you that the inside of his body be
filled with pus which may consume his body, than it be filled with poetry."
But there r many incidents where we see that Prophet(PBUH) favored poetry also.....
There is another hadith in sahih bukhari in which Prophet (PBUH) says..
"Some poetry contains wisdom"...(#??)
so that means that islam doesnot disapprove poetry altogether...there is certain kinda poetry which is prohibited or disapproved or discouraged....
*Sighs...Rab naiko ko muaf kare....she is in to that kinda poetry:-(*
PS. and don't forget Hamd and sanah r also forms of poetry....
PSS. Zainy...huh huh....I saw him first ;)
[This message has been edited by Not*So*NaikLarki (edited December 26, 1999).]
Shaira! plz leave it here.
Akif I hope so that what Naik had mentioned is more than enough for all of us.
In the end I would say, Quraan & Sunnah both make up the Islam. It would be much better to look into both the two.
Nadeem
Akif I hope so that what Naik had mentioned is more than enough for all of us.<<
Naik quoted ahadees. I quoted the Quran. So hadees is more than enough for you?
Nadeem...Quran is the 'protected' word. So we know that we are obligated to follow whatever is written in it. Sunnah and hadees is heresay. There is a possibility of it being tainted and misquoted, something which isnt possible with Quran. So if Allah SWT says a verse against poets and poetry, we are to believe that. And if there comes out a sunnat or hadees which says something contrary to that, we are to assume that its a misquote, because there is no way Prophet SAW ever said or did anything that Allah SWT didnt permit or like. I just think that poetry has become such a common 'evil' that noone cares of it being a disliked thing. In poetic lingo, its called ghalat-ul-aam.
Shaira....one more post and u can move it to the religion forum :)
Naik and Zainab..thanx :)
[This message has been edited by Akif (edited December 27, 1999).]
Akif,
By nature, I don't like to argue ppl coz its of no use. But here, as a friend, I like to say something to you personally. Hope you would read it with open mind.
If only Qurann was enough for mankind, then Allah would have send it to any Publisher and that would be published 1000 and 1000 of copies and would be distributed accordingly & thats all. But it was revealed within 23 years, time to time, as per the requirements of the then society. Thats how a prophet was also sent and he (peace be upon him) would be the first person who EXPLAINED the holy words of Allah and then so on.
So it is clear that the First MUFFASER of the holy Quraan was our beloved Holy Prophet and then Sahabas. In this regard, few of the things came to the prophet directly (I mean Hadees Qudsee) and they have not been reported in Holy Quraan. Thats how, you can't say that Quraan is only authentic book and hadees is not acceptable in front of Quraan. Under these cases it would be better to see that what sahaba had done under these situations. The actionsof sahabs have been explained to you in detail.
BTW, before you, few ppl (like Mirza Ghulam Ahmed Qadeyani, Dr. Ghulam Jilani Barq, Dr Parveez, Dr. fazlur Rehman and few others) have decided to take Quraan only. And it is very very clear what they achieved in the end. They came out with sincerity in their minds, but finally, you know which path they (& their followers) are heading today.
The very nice example of taking Quraan only is NAMAZ. How many rakaats are there in Fajir, Zuher, Aser, Maghreb, & Esha. Its not at all mentioned in Quraan, our Holy Prophet had mentioned it in his sunnah. If I follow Qurann only,, *I can perform only one rekaat in Fajir, 2 in Zuher, 3 in Aser, 4 in maghreb, and may be 5 in esha, depending upon my will. * Will it be okay???????
'am leaving the answer upon you as you seem to be a very sincere guy in your understandings.
For poetry, 'am not in favour of any GANDEE/FEHASH poetry, and in that sense, am totally agreed with you.
Thanks for bearing these lengthy details.
PS: As far as Naik arguments are there, one would understand it very easily and what she said, is evident. She told you that both the two paths have been confirmed in Islam and it is crystal clear.
Nadeem
[This message has been edited by Nadeem (edited December 28, 1999).]
ok..big misunderstandings going on here.
BTW, before you, few ppl (like Mirza Ghulam Ahmed Qadeyani, Dr. Ghulam Jilani Barq, Dr
Parveez, Dr. fazlur Rehman and few others) have decided to take Quraan only. And it is
very very clear what they achieved in the end. They came out with sincerity in their
minds, but finally, you know which path they (& their followers) are heading today.
Dont compare me with any of these guys now. I dont know about the rest, but mirza qadeyani? please! Anyway..this issue about Quran or Hadees/Quran and hadees has been discussed in length in a religious post that came up a few months ago. I wont repeat it here. I think u just misunderstood me.
I am not blindly questioning the validity of ahadees and sunnah. I believe Islam is a blend of Quran and Sunnah, and that Quran is the basis of it all. I was pointing to instances where we come across Ayaats and ahadees that somehow seem to contradict each other in meaning. In such a case, you are always supposed to go with what the Quran says....not the hadees. Because even if the hadees is correct, it is probably because the hadees was quoted before the ayaats negating it were revelated. Bottom line is, a Quranic ayat is never wrong, nor is there ever a 'hidden' meaning in it.
Akif....i completely understand what ur point is....and i know where u stands....but u r not trying to understand what i am saying....lets put aside hadith for a while ...just for ur sake:)
u r very right that Quran shud be the first source for us to seek the answers....so lets discuss the verse u quoted:)
u just took a verse out from a suraa and trying to argue on the basis of its literal meaning....i don't think this is the right way to understand "Islam" or "Quran".....
The right way is that we have to understand the background of the verses and we have to know and understand the circumstances in which that surah or verses were being revealed.....
U quoted ayaa #224 from surah-e shuraa'h
lemme quote ayaa#227:)
"Except those who believe (in the Oneness of Allâh Islâmic Monotheism), and do righteous deeds, and remember Allâh much, and reply back** (in poetry) to the unjust poetry (which the pagan poets utter against the Muslims).** And those who do wrong will come to know by what overturning they will be overturned."
even if we go literally...my point is being proved right there in the same surah.....that islam does not discourages poetry alltogether....it discourages a certain kind of poetry and from the aayaa above we get an idea what kind.......
And if u go check the background of surah-e shu'ara...u'll find out that this surah was revealed at a time when the disbeliever were refusing to accept Prophets'(Pbuh) message and accusing him(Pbuh) of being a poet and sorcerer.....
I have nothing more to say:)
PS. and i am not trying to justify this poetry we r posting here:)This is badd badddd badddd:)
PSS. about that "Thanx":)....Pleasure is all mine:)
Akif,
Naik has mentioned the Shan-e-Nazoul of those ayats and hope you understood it properly.
Totally in Consonance with naik
Well Guy! there is no misunderstanding!
Cheers!
Akif! hows about this poetry!!!
http://www.ee.rochester.edu:8080/users/malik/iqbal/jshikwa.html
PS: Very busy, should came here just to say few words to you.
Nadeem
[This message has been edited by Nadeem (edited December 28, 1999).]
Allah SWT has said in sura Qamar several times "I made Quran simple for you to understand"
This ayat holds true for Quran translated in its original form, not with any paraphrasing, which is bound to include the translators own interpretations. And thats exactly what u did in ur translation above. There are loads of scholars who have translated The Quran into English, and if u read them, you will find this ayat translated different ways.
"Except those who believe (in the Oneness of Allâh Islâmic Monotheism), and do righteous deeds, and remember Allâh much, and reply back (in poetry) to the unjust poetry (which the pagan poets utter against the Muslims). And those who do wrong will come to know by what overturning they will be overturned."
The material in parantheses is man-induced, and is always a deduction. How does one assume that the replies that the righteous ones will give will be in poetry as well?
I do know the background of sura shuaraa, and i know the kind of allegations that the kuffaar leveled against the Prophet SAW. About you differtiating between "good" poetry and "bad" poetry, I dont think Quran intends to do so. Assuming the Holy Quran was (naooz-u-billah) a book of poetry, with all the surahs written in the form of poetry, would that be considered "good" poetry? I would say yes. But Allah SWT has refuted that himself in the Holy Quran, saying in surah Yaseen, "We have neither taught him poetry, nor is it upto his standard. We only taught him Quran which is clear and concise"
Allah SWT made it a point to say that the greatest book in the world, The Quran, is in no way a form of poetry. And mind u, Quran is mostly Hamd-o-Sana.