am i right not to give antibiotics

she vomited whatever she ate 3 days ago and diareah and had fever. she stoppe vomiting after a day. bu todays 4 thday and she still has diareah no vomiting or temperature now. shes eatn ok bananas and has startes drinkn her milk again not usual amount but more than yday. shes not crying anymore either. yday she was crying hysterically like she had a stomach ache. shes drinkn around 6oz of oral dehydration solution.

so i think its gastroentritus (sp?)

the docs and ppl here are quick to put kids on antibiotics. but i didnt want to. so any thoughts? am i right not to give antibiotics? evryone heres against me for it?

also her tongue is white think its " pakki hui" so she cant eat. plus shes got bad nappy rash. any remedies?

Re: am i right not to give antibiotics

do what the doctor says

sometimes, antibiotics are necessary and you are right in India/Pakistan they over-prescribe antibiotics…i think you should do what the doctors say because they know better than we do. in your case, to me it sounds like stomach flu which is a viral infection and lasts 24 hours or so…antibiotics don’t work on viral infections…they go away on their own…don’t give your child any dairy or dairy products…give her flat pop and electral [the mineral supplement]

well its day 4 now. too late . plus shes much better now but still “dheeli”

of course, after the bout with diarrhea, she will feel Dheeli Dhaali…poor girl…:frowning:

the doc didnt say antibiotics sorry, i meant alot of relatives and most are docs, said antibiotic dedo, yaaha pe sab antibiotic dete hai, which i disagree with.

i do disagree with that too…vahan to flue huaa nahiiN k 3 davaa de dete haiN

1. antibiotic
  2. vit B12 capsule
  3. vit C

nahaane ko mana kar dete haiN aur khaane meN khichRii bataa dete haiN :cb:

did you take her to the doctor? if not then do so.

shes ok now. we did want to take her but my husbands friends a childrens doctor and he said its normal not to worry just give her Oral dehydration sol and somethn for her gut a natural remedy and panadol.

ok am worried now :confused:

shes only drinkn formula . im worried now as alot of ppl say nt gve milk but thats the only drink she will take and about 6oz oral dehydration solutiob

I think you need to take her to the doc. If she has diarrhea, wont milk and bananas contribute to it? Plus a white tongue shows that theres some infection, either tonsils or stomach bug…Take her to the doc but continue with ORS (if thats what you’re giving her) as it replenishes body salts too. Give her bread and butter…

All this is based on what my mom used to do with me and my younger sis…but a doctors opinion would be best, shes already been unwell and weak for 4 days if giving an antibiotic helps and she would be better in 2-3 days inshAllah then why not…

am i right not to give antibiotics

Why have you not taken her to the doctor yet??? You live in Pak now. Do you not have a designated pediatrician for her? Please stop listening to random family friend and relatives even if they are doctors. Do your research and find your kids a competent primary care doctor.

There is nothing wrong with giving antibiotics if there is a genuine need for them. But again,only a pediatrician can assess that.

u have to take her to a doc and follow his/her advice.

Antibiotics should only be given for bacterial infections. The symptoms u described seem to be of the viral type. Best to avoid antibiotics I say.

nobody can tell you better than doctor like everyone said plz take her to doctor

Antibiotic is not a magic solution for every cold,stomach bug out there. You’re right to use wait and see approach but you can give your daughter a probiotic to help improve her gut flora…it’s harmless and a lot of doctors recommend for children.

if she is not running fever, antibiotics are not needed imo

like CA said, you can give her probiotics Enflor and Smecta (you’ll get under same names like I wrote in pharmacies here) mixed in juice alternatively thrice a day. they always work for me.

Nadz give ur daughter wat prototype has suggested, these are very effective and are similar to dirolyte - similar to wat we hav in d UK.