Am I expecting too much?

About 2 months ago, my MIL was going to Pakistan. One of my nands lives in Pakistan. A few weeks before my MIL left, we were talking and she told me that my nand had asked her to bring winter clothes for her son. My nand and her husband only dress their son in clothes from Canada or US, they never buy anything from Pakistan for him to wear. About a week later, my nand messaged my husband and said “can you please buy some winter clothes for my son, and if you are too busy, can you ask bhabi to do it”. My husband is just starting out in his career, and I cant work here due to visa issues. So we live on a budget right now (Alhamdulillah we are doing fine, but we just dont have a lot extra to spend extravagantly), plus we just bought a new car, and we are expecting ourselves right now. So my husband told me to go to the mall and buy $150 worth of clothes for him. I know its not too much, but its what we could spend comfortably at that time (because she wasnt going to give us the money, she was just expecting us to send clothes for him). So I went to Gap, Macys and Gymboree, and I bought exactly the styles she had asked for. We were planning on mailing these clothes to my MIL (we live in US, they live in Canada), but she asked us to meet her half way instead, because she wanted to meet us as well before she left. So we drove 3.5 hours and met her.

After my MIL was in Pakistan, my husband messaged his sister and asked her if she liked the clothes we sent. She never answered that message, and never said thank you for the clothing.

**a little background: my husband tries his best to keep in touch with this sister, since she is so far away. He also encourages me to call her once in a while as well. Whenever we call, she never answers, and then 2 days later will message us on viber or whats app with the same excuse every single time “my phone battery died”. Even when my MIL told her we were expecting, she didnt message or call to say congratulations, not even to her brother (my other 2 nands called me).

My MIL is now back from Pakistan. I was talking to my other nand on the phone, and was asking her what she got from Pakistan. So she was telling me what she ordered, what my MIL brought for her, and then she goes. “oh yah, I sent some stuff for “sisters son” so she bought me a couple of kurtas from Khaadi as a gift”. I didnt say anything to her, because it has nothing to do with her, but I felt bad for my husband. Leave me out of this, Im only her bhabi, but she could have atleast sent something for my husband - he is her older brother!!

Am I expecting too much from her??? The least she could have done, was at least say thank you for the clothes…or is that even asking for too much, since she knew were going to send because she asked for them?

I havent said anything to my husband, because its his sister, and if he is ok with the fact that she didnt even say thank you, then its not my place to start anything between them. But Im just wondering if I was expecting too much???

Re: Am I expecting too much?

you are very right at your place!! sorry but dont know y i see nands having these feelings that bhai hy to hmara haqq hy and blah blah but i dont know y do they forget k bhai bhabhi k bhi kuch huqooq hoty hen. i just hate these types of women. dont worry..your patience will never be wasted :flowers:

his sister, his family. if she's not close to him, she isn't. why worry so much? next time don't waste a lot of time and effort, buy online, ship direct to matajee's ghar. dhanyavaad.

^ wise words

eh, you're right but I would let it go. after reading tehse posts you should know worse nands are out tehre.

I know dear how you feel as I had gone through similar situation..

My NAND is like that too.. She never appreciate what ever we gift her instead she would say Hamara haq hai.

You should tell your MIL like did SIL liked the clothes we send her as she didn't even inform us that she already received it..

This is very strange - that your SIL asks you to buy her son clothes but doesn't bother to reimburse you or even gift something as a token of appreciation. It shows a certain...sense of entitlement.

Anyway, to answer your question....do nothing...say nothing. If you do, it will only rock the boat. So don't. You're not expecting too much but if you think you can fix this, you can't.

^ This! :k:

u are expecting basic courtesy from someone. thing is, it's not your place to expect it. always stay out of inlaw dynamics inasmuch as they directly concern your spouse.

Why would I even buy her anything after this? and I worry, because I know it bothers my husband, but he wont say anything about it, because that is just the way he is. And I would never say anything to his sister either, because I know its not my place to say anything. I just think she should have at least said thank you to my husband, her brother!

Im not expecting any courtesy from her to me. In her eyes, I am just her brothers wife, I have no relationship with her. But her brother has always been there for her, in the worst times of her life, the least she can do is say thank you to her brother. That is what I was expecting of her.

I dont think u expect to much....but i believe that nowadays u cant expect nythin.... U n ur hubby r tryin ur hardest to please her... Butsome ppl are just like that... Specially nands

Just njoy ur life with ur hubby n trynot to take these things really hard on ur self :)

I wouldnt bother because I wouldnt expect ! no surprises. behn bhai ka maslaa hai. And I would shop for her in future too because my husband wants me to, just for his sake.

I totally understand you. I have been in similar situations but I have learned that it is husband's issue and my feelings on it are really quite irrelevant.

THIS

And next time, get them clothes from Walmart. She won't ask again. What a total b....

Behno ka bhai pe haqq hota hai. don't you know?

You wrote in the OP that you knew she wasn't going to pay you guys back....that she "expected" the clothing for free. Right there tells you A LOT about her personality. And yes, having known that about her.........expecting ANY type of courtesy from her is pointless.

Unfortunately since your husband doesn't seem to mind being disrespeted by his sister....it's not worth it for you to interfere and cause tension over this. Always remember that you're not buying anything for her......you're putting in the effort to buy the items to make your husband happy.

P.S. I 2nd the idea of going to Wal-Mart next time.

U guys are talking as if only cheap/crappg ppl deserve stuff from Walmart. That's not very nice.

You're smart not to get involved and keep this to yourself and vent on the board. Like most people said, just don't get involved and expect nothing.

Nands are the new MIL's <3