always low on energy(sleep disorder)

I’ve been constantly low on energy during the day and as a result suffered lapses in concentration etc for the past 2 yrs or so now.

Its even had me depressed, irritable and grumpy for long periods of time.

Ive tried everything.

At first i thought it was lack of iron, so tried loads of iron and vitamin B12.
Then i thought it was the excessive weight training, so i cut down on that.

Then i thought it was sitting in-front of the pc too much, so i tried cutting down on that.

Ive tried a million remedies.
Loads of water, cardio excercise.
Trying to cut out the stresses in my life. Even when ive not had recurring stress, the energy levels have got no better.

Its 12pm right now. i went to bed last night at 11pm, and woke up at 7am, and already im ready to go back to bed, and i have 5 hours to go before i finish work :frowning:

Ive tried sleeping lots and lots, and on the other hand ive even tried sleep restriction, but still to no avail.

I came across something today, which i hadnt thought of, which is sleep disorder. Though i do not know which one i may have.

i think its apnea. Where there is lack of oxygen during sleep, and therefore even when you’ve done your hours , u havent got as much rest as you should have due to the lack of oxygen.

Im trying desperately to find a cure for this, and also looking for a sleep specialiast to help me, cos this thing is seriously affecting my life.

Can anyone please help me, im in a poor state.
I found a sleep specialist in London, but thts very far from me as i live in Sheffield (UK). If anyone can help at all, with advice or someone to contact or any feedback i would greatly appreciate it

jazakallah khair in advance

Oie balance. The reason why you have so many problems is that you have been going to extremes. Try balancing it all out. Sort times for heavy work and sleep average 8 hours. When you sleep 5 hours one night make up for it on the next.

eemo,

We don't know your environment hence we would be unable to ascertain the cause of the problem. You should contact the specialist you found in London albeit the inconvenience due to the distance. What's a little discomfort to gain a lifetime of proper sleep and health?

instead of trying to sort out the problem yurself y dont u go to the Dr for adivce? actually scrap that theyll probably just give u anti depressents and ull sleep thru the rest of ure life

*Originally posted by CM: *
Oie balance. The reason why you have so many problems is that you have been going to extremes. Try balancing it all out. Sort times for heavy work and sleep average 8 hours. When you sleep 5 hours one night make up for it on the next.

I havent been going to extremes. thats the point i was trying to make.....well only recently to see if it made any difference. but normally i try to have a balanced regime. I easily manage 8hrs of sleep a day and i always make-up for the sleep i lose, but i STILL feel drained, and can easily sleep more without hesitation.

LuxuryItem The centre in London wants frequent trips, and i cant get that kind of time off work to keep going down.

Im kinda stuck

^^

eemo,

Swallow the bitter pill and make trips to the center since you don't have any other choice.

I wish you luck whatever your decision might be.

Eemo,

If what you state is accurate, then it may indeed be sleep apnea. i just saw a brief segment about it on tv last night. It was a Canadian news programme, regarding a Canadian doctor who has come out with a new device that measures the level of oxygen in your blood during your sleep. The ‘device’ is basically an insert that fits into one of your thumbs attached to a machine. The next morning, after you wake up, you take the machine to a doctor; he analyzes the amount of oxygen and from then onwards it goes to a specialist. They tried this on a 5 year old boy who was suffering from sleep disorders/irregularities. They found that his oxygen intake was extremely low at particular, regular times of the night - sometimes by as low as 40%. Instead of having to wait months or even a year to see a specialist, he saw one at once and is now on antibiotics which have improved his sleeping schedule according to his parents. This was in Canada, it’s a brand new thing.

Try out these links: http://www.sleeping.org.uk/contents/homefrm.htm

http://www.esrs.org/

http://www.sleepmatters.org/

The Canadian doctor i mentioned above (sorry i don’t remember what his name was! :frowning: ), was from this province - i don’t want to raise your hopes for nothing but it might help you out Insha’Allah, i am not certain http://www.sleep-apnea.ab.ca/

Here are some general links from an American website: http://www.sleepapnea.org/links.html

Nadia i knew i could count on you for a decent response.

thank you.

The information confirms some of the information that i read earlier today. Im going to make a mention of it to my doctor this monday. I hope they take note.

Ive also ordered a breathe aid in the meantime which should increase the space in my airways for easier breathing. But all in all i need more oxygen at night

:flower1:

i just remembered, they took out the tonsils of the 5 year old boy. That was done in order to help him get more oxygen.

i’m going to try and find out that Canadian doctor’s name.

I would personally recommend u 2 join a gym & work out 4 2 hrz everyday, get that metabolism flowing in ur body....release all that energy. Some release their energy by hurting themselves(I'm talking karate, not suicide), & others listen 2 hard rock...:P

I listen 2 trance & dance 4 like 2 hrz be4 goin 2 bed, it really helps.

These aren't from a site or a source I remember, they're more common sense. If you're having problems with getting enough oxygen, try to change your environment. If you have a tendency to just sink under the covers, get thinner blankets or something. Make sure your bedspread is well aired and fresh. Try to have good circulation, such as opening a window or a door. I had trouble getting to sleep and getting enough sleep, so I opened my door at night and it seems fine. Occasionally, I open my window (no matter the weather) and let some fresh air in. Try to wear clothes that don't restrict your chest. I would also suggest picking up a hobby or sport like mal1k suggested, or even an instrument, to increase your lung capacity. Good luck!

Yes, i opened my velux window last night which helped get some more fresh air, and i tried not to use the radiator too much, cos it makes the room very stuffy.

With regards to the gym, i already do plenty of exercise, but its not helping in the slightest, it only makes me even more sleepy.

I do punch bag training, running and a little weight training, on the weekend. During the weekdays im so exhausted because of the low energy levels that i cant train when i get home after work, otherwise i wouldnt be able to go to work the next day. the situation is quite grim

Doctor’s name: Robert Brouillette [email protected]

Eemo, My apologies to yourself. i was inaccurate about three things: first, the child’s age is actually 2, not 5; secondly, the doctor in question is not from the province i originally believed and told you. The test was carried out in a western province for the first time ever in Canada, the doctor himself however is from eastern Canada; the insert fit into the toe, not the thumb. On the tv news clip, i could swear that they showed the kid’s finger, though. Khair those are the three factual errors i made. Sorry about that.

Here’s the article i was talking about, that discusses the oxygen-monitoring device:

~ ~ ~
http://www.canada.com/montreal/montrealgazette/story.asp?id=E396CB93-9B9C-49D9-8D25-C2A7282D6C01

Two-year-old Matteo used to stop breathing 500 times a night, until a new procedure developed at the Montreal Children’s Hospital allowed doctors to diagnose the cause.

Baby Matteo would stop breathing repeatedly though the night.

Fearing he might never wake up, his parents and grandparents took turns watching his crib as he struggled to breathe.

“It sounded like he was breathing though a small straw that got progressively smaller until it shut down,” Diego Mazzone said of his 2-year-old son. “You could hear him gasping for air.”

Matteo had severe obstructive sleep apnea. He’d stop breathing about 500 times a night. But a new method of detecting the disorder that was developed at the Montreal Children’s Hospital put him on a fast track to treatment.

Diagnosis of Matteo’s apnea took one night. He was sent home with a tool called a pulse oximeter.

The machine does a simple test via a light-sensitive probe strapped to the child’s toe. It records dips in blood oxygen levels associated with sleep-related airway blockage.

That night, Matteo’s blood oxygen dropped as low as 40 per cent.

“An hour after I returned the machine, the hospital called and told me to bring him in right away - today,” Mazzone said.

The boy had his tonsils and adenoids removed the following day.

He now sleeps “like a baby,” his father quipped. “It’s made a world of difference. The problem shaped his personality. He was calm, he couldn’t run around or talk without stopping for breathing breaks.”

About one to three per cent of children are affected by the condition.

“If it’s not picked up promptly, it can cause problems with growth, overload the heart and in some cases, delay development,” said Robert Brouillette, professor of pediatrics at McGill University.

Brouillette is the lead author of a study on the new method of detecting sleep apnea published in the January issue of Pediatrics.

Apnea is most common in children age 2 to 7, a period when the tonsils and adenoids can become too large for the air passage.

Symptoms include snoring, difficulty breathing when asleep and sleep disturbances.

“What’s new is that we can rapidly make the diagnosis when we have children at risk like Matteo,” Brouillette said. “He wouldn’t have gotten tested anywhere else in Canada except Calgary.”

Children tested on the pulse oximeter are fast tracked to treatment - usually adenotonsillectomy.

The Children’s has three such machines and tests about 12 children a week.

Where it used to take months before diagnostic facilities were even available, now the problem can be detected and treated within days, Brouillette said: “It’s revolutionary.”

Matteo’s family is now watching over his twin sister, Maia, who recently developed sleep apnea.

Article’s author: [email protected]

~ ~ ~
Here are some more links that you might find interesting; when you visit your doctor, do try to bring up some of these issues with him/her. The medical article from Pediatrics will only be accessible while it’s still the current edition so if you find it useful, print it off or save the text somewhere so you can access it later after they’re removed it off their website:
http://www.mcgill.ca/releases/2000/february/apnea/
http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2004-01/mu-mrd010504.php
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/cgi/content/abstract/105/2/405
http://ww2.mcgill.ca/muhc-ri/newsletter6 [Just contains his e-mail/mailing addy, it’s a pdf file]
Yahoo News: Latest and Breaking News, Headlines, Live Updates, and More Something different
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/cgi/content/full/113/1/e19

jazakallah khair again Nadia,
im really looking into this, magr the thing is, im not sure if my breathing stops at night . ive never noticed having any breathing difficulties, but i guess its worth looking into.

Anyway , allah bless you for ur help

:frowning: hmm. Acha.

i hope somehow you find a solution for it Insha’Allah. If it’s not breathing difficulties… is your bed next to a vent or a heater or something like that - any source of air? Do you sleep next to a window? Relative to your bed, where’s your closest source of fresh air? This sounds like a stupid question, but do you have plants in your room?

Some people suggest not eating a couple hours before you go to bed. i’ve heard past 7 in the evening, you should only have fluids or fruits at the most - no heavy meals.

i hope, Insha’Allah, you figure it out yaar :flower1: Sorry yaar, i really wish i could offer more help.

i appreciate the help auntie nadia

little tip for u - dont call guys 'yaar', dont suit you :P

anyway, my bed is next to a heater and i normally have very little source of fresh air. i sleep under a velux window, one of those that point 45 degrees to the sky. i have NO plants in my room, and i should shouldnt i? cos they give oxygen na?

I been trying to take in the fresh air anyway, and it IS helping albeit leaving me very cold and giving me earache with all the noise of the dogs barking and traffic and what have u.

anyway, thanks again for the help, and lets hope i can really sort this out

by the way what kind of plants do i go for? or wil anything do?

i dont wanna attract insects and creepy crawlies etc . im arachnaphobic.... :(

plus i got hayfever so i dont wanna be sneezing all the time.

i went to see the doctor today.

The doctor says its not sleep apnea.
Its very high levels of stress that are causing the loss of quality in sleep.

Jazakallah khair to all those that tried to help. I appreciate the help

would personally recommend u 2 join a gym & work out 4 2 hrz everyday, get that metabolism flowing in ur body....release all that energy. Some release their energy by hurting themselves(I'm talking karate, not suicide), & others listen 2 hard rock...:P

I agree, nothing like a good adrenaline boost every morning, wakes you up like anything and it relieves stress, better than getting pissed.