Is there different meaning for each of them? Can someone post their meaning also?
Allah = Arabic for God
Khuda = Persian for God
Hafiz = a persian word anyway. "Allah Hafiz" is never said by arabs.
^ Actually, the Arabic for God is Ilah...
Allah is the name of God
*Originally posted by gupguppy: *
^ Actually, the Arabic for God is Ilah...
Allah is the name of God
Arabic for god (as in a devine entity) is ilah. On the other hand, God (capitalised, meaning a specific entity, the only devine entity, is Allah.
Subtle difference ...
It's like how the English for Allah is God, but how the English for ilah is god.
^ The capitalised God - meaning a specific entity as you put it - in Arabic would be al-Ilah or Al-Ilah or Al Ilah, however you want to write it
The English for Allah is Allah, not God. Just like the English for Einstein is Einstein, not Scientist
note the difference.
*Originally posted by gupguppy: *
^ wrong. The capitalised God - meaning a specific entity as you put it - in Arabic would be al-Ilah or Al-Ilah or Al Ilah, however you want to write it
Al-Ilah is precisely what "Allah" was derived from.
^ No it isn't. Allah is a proper name, not a derivative or a contraction of Ilah and the definite article, Al.
If it were as you suggest then the Arabic vocative expression Ya before Allah would have to be Ya Ayyuh Allah but it is not, we say Ya Allah
*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *
Al-Ilah is precisely what "Allah" was derived from.
Its not correct. Allah is Isme-Zaat = personal name of the God. Ilah (in Arabic) or Ilahi (in Hebrew) is God (not the name of the God).
Its better to say Allah Hafiz, as it symbolizes that its said by a Muslim to a Muslim. Khuda Hafiz is also used by Zoronists in Iran, refering to their false God.
^ Actually it is best to say AssalmuAlaikum.
*Originally posted by Muslim_Queen: *
Assalaam Aleekum
This is what I do. But people get shocked If I say Assalaam Aleekum.
And I stopped using Jazak Allah.
Take Care
yaar.. Allah also used to be an idol in Ka'ba in pre islamic times. So if something happens to have the same name, does that mean you're referring to the idol/landlord/whatever?
bachkana batein.
Khuda = Anybody's god...
Allah = Muslim's God alone...
Hence, Allah Hafiz is more appropriate...
yaar.. Allah also used to be an idol in Ka'ba in pre islamic times. So if something happens to have the same name, does that mean you're referring to the idol/landlord/whatever?
ravage, care to provide reference plz?? As far as I know, there was no idol in the Ka'aba name Allah. Illah (as in La-Illah-a illa - Allah = there is no Illah but Allah) was in use among the Arabs refering to Abraham's God + Illah was also refered as Ultimate God of all those Idols in Ka'aba, in other words Ishwar concept of Arabs).
Guys, don't lose civility in your discussions and try to keep on point.
listen to zakir naik and he will tell u the difference between what Lajawab wrote (god) and what u thougth he wrote (God)…
So I can't say "Khudafiz" ?
If someone says "Allahhafiz" and i say "khudafiz" back, is that wrong?
*Originally posted by Sara516: *
So I can't say "Khudafiz" ?
If someone says "Allahhafiz" and i say "khudafiz" back, is that wrong?
u know sara ji intention what matters.if u've something in your heart and u say something else from your mouth np :D
Thats correct.
*Originally posted by Muslim_Queen: *
Of course not.
(message to don.I dont like you.
)