How exactly is Allah Hafiz is holier than Khuda Hafiz ? what is the opinion of members on this issue
Re: "Allah Hafiz" culture
How exactly is Allah Hafiz is holier than Khuda Hafiz ? what is the opinion of members on this issue
When did this become an issue?
Maybe all of the aunties and uncles say it out of fear/respect. I am still used to saying Khuda Hafiz.
What is the fear of aunties and uncles?
what do you think about it?
It is not holier than the other
Re: “Allah Hafiz” culture
Khuda Hafiz is used by persian. Some Pakistanis use Allah Hafiz and Khuda Hafiz. Both interchangeably use in departure.
Wohi Khuda hai beautifully sung by Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.
I supposed Khuda is a generic term for God, so maybe that is why it is frowned upon. I think a few years ago, all of the adults in the generations before me started using "Allah Hafiz". Did someone make a ruling? :D
What is the fear of aunties and uncles?
That they are upsetting Allah by using Khuda :)
I use a lot of terms at departure... Depending on mood and the person I'm saying it to.
Can you give few example of terms at departure? ![]()
Khuda hafiz, Allah hafiz, fe aman Allah, salam(yes at times at departure too), see you, bye.
Khush?
Btw I started using Allah hafiz due to GS. Ussey pehle Allah hafiz suna bhi nahi tha
Fe Aman Allah is the best :halo:
Khuda is the Persian word for the idols which they worship, and Hafiz comes from the Arabic root word hifz meaning "protection". So literally, means "May the (Persian idols) be your Guardian." They worship these idols even presently in Iran and other places. And when you say Hafiz
(protect) with it, you mean May Khuda (the Persian idols) protect you.
and Wikipedia says this:
Khuda or Khoda ( خدا ) is the Persian word for "Lord" or "(monotheistic) God", formerly used of Ahura Mazda, today mostly of God in Islam by Persian speakers, and as a loanword also by speakers of Hindi and Urdu. The term is originally from a Middle Persian honorific.
The term derives from Middle Iranian xvatay, xwadag meaning "lord", "ruler", "master" (written as Parthian kwdy, Middle Persian kwdy, Sogdian kwdy, etc.). It is the Middle Iranian reflex of Avestan xva-dhata- "self-defined; autocrat", an epithet of Ahura Mazda.. Sanskrit has the cognate root noun sva-dhā "self-power, inherent power". The Pashto cognate is Khwdai (خدای).
Prosaic usage is found for example in the Sassanid title katak-xvatay to denote the head of a clan or extended household, or in the title of the 6th century Khwaday Namag "Book of lords", from which the tales of Kayanian kings as found in the Shahnameh ("Book of kings") derive.
Assalama alaykum respected brother Das Reich
Ever since Indo-Pak Subcontinent was ruled by various Persianized Central Asian Turkic and Afghan dynasties Persian got used as the state language
Thus the Persian word ‘Khuda’ was used whenever referring to God.
As Urdu and other local languages had a lot of Persian influence the word ‘Khuda’ was used whenever referring to God.
Allah Almighty can be addressed by any name as long it carries the Meaning of Him being Supreme Creator and suits His Majesty.
Say: “Call upon Allah, or Call upon Rahman; By whatever name ye call Upon Him, (it is well): For to Him belong the Most Beautiful Names”.** [Al Qur’an 17:110]**
The most beautiful names belong to Allah: so call on him by them; but shun such men as use profanity in his names: for what they do, they will soon be requited. Surah Al A'araf 180
But as Allah Almighty prefers to ‘name’ Himself as Allah – I would give preference to Allah Hafeez over Khuda Hafeez
Allah.there is no god but He! To Him belong the most Beautiful Names. [Surah Ta Ha, 8]
"Indeed, I am Allah . There is no deity except Me, so worship Me and establish prayer for My remembrance." [Surat Taha, 14]
In my opinin since the word ‘Khuda’ is not mentioned in the Blessed Quran and neither did the lips of the blessed Prophet (Peace and Blessings be upon him) ever utter it, it loses ‘holiness’ in favour of Allah.
Ibn Sadique, It is a language thing Khuda is a Persian word that's why not used in Quraan Sharif. Similarly Namaz, Roza etc are not used in Quraan Sharif. But still we use it like, namaz parhnay ja raha hoo ya aaj roza rakha. 20/25 years ago almost everyone use to say Khuda Haafiz if you get chance to see old PTV dramas you'll notice they used Khuda Haafiz frequently at farewells.
few more commanly used parting phrases are, Alwida, Allah Nigehbaan, Allah Beli etc
WiseGuy - I was just giving my opinion ![]()