Re: ‘All Sindh residents should write Sindhi in language column of census form’
Why can’t we learn to respect each other. Why can’t people keep their respective identities without being a threat to each other!
I am all for enrichment of local languages and cultures but this to me seems politically motivated
Lets have a compromise on this
‘Sindhis of urdu-speaking descent’
‘Sindhis of pashtoon descent’ etc.
This subject is not that simple as u mentioned. Just like Sindhi ppl r proud of their identity same goes for other ppl. Ppl of urdu descent have a very strong culture.
Under such case the demand of Europe will be correct wen they wants ppl of desi background get dissolve in European culture. It cannot be done in a year or so. It takes centuries.
It can be easy and fast if one set of community is very small
@Sachaydino I have posted similar thread in past where I told you that respecting other language is the key of success… How hard is to sum people of sindh who speak different languages… fund will be allocated for all communities based on total count… how simple is that?
ab waqt aa giya hia kay national integrity ki baat ki jaye… bajaye yeh kay tu urdu, tu punjabi, tu pakhton, tu balcoh…
sab milker aik dosry ko etram deain… apna culture bhi rakhian aur apni zaban ko bhi tahaffuz deain.. appp dosron ki zaban sekhian bahi aur apni zaban sekhain bhi…
Hyderabad, Deccan is a shinning city now - developing and progressing.
In the 80’s Altaf and company thought getting government job was the only way forward then. They started their movement from the point where arms struggle comes in the end - they asked to sell TV/VCR and buy weapons then. Had they been not a negative leadership (which was the case with all the leaders of Karachi and Hyderabad since 1947), Karachi today would be similar to like Hyderabad and Bangalore in the field of IT and others. They destroyed education and educational institution in Karachi by encouraging cheating in exams. And then their culture of weaponization resulted in youths becoming killers and dacoits.
True
Just look at the talent on TV - Moin Akhtar, Anwar Maqsood, Bajiya, Haseena Moin, Nazia-Zoheb just to name a few from Hyderabad Deccan. Grew up watching their shows, songs and dramas..
Multi-talented Moin Akhtar best comedian ever imo. died too young Also a big fan of alif noon. 80s was truly the golden period. cricket, hockey, TV dramas, even Bollywood etc.
Majority of urdu speaking people are decent but they keep quite while the churray maars decedents of some of the notorious communities from UP & Bihar are more dominant and these same people are in MQM.
While we are at it, my eldest sister got married in hyderabadis and hence learned and cooked their dishes. I think they have the yummiest food ever, especially if you like spices.
In Khi, there is a small area called hyderabad colony. All the exquisite dishes of hyderabad deccan are found there. Though some people say that the quality is declined now since its not made by the actual migrants anymore, it still has the best quality IMO.
As for the topic, I dont know about census form but I’m a very strong advocate of learning regional languages and adopting it when you live in that area. People underestimate it highly that this small change brings enormous harmony and also increase tolerance.
People who migrated to Punjab after Independence are a clear example of that.
I have heard and read mixed reviews about it. Apparently good quality food esp. their haleem but most people mark them down for slow service and poor hygiene.
Majority of people in Gujranwala division are Kashmiris. They speak punjabi with different dialect. Rawalpindi division speak both punjabi and pothuhari. Punjab is beauty of mixed cultures because of native punjabi being open and not being too conservative for thier language.
Let alone the south punjab, you can see sareki lingo just a 50 km from faisalabad which is in central punjab. Urdu speaking people have small towns in punjab mostly called behari colony, we never saw them speaking punjabi, instead punjabis converse with them in urdu.
Yes. Though Hindus dominated being highly educated and rich people. Not only Karachi but for whole of Sindh. Sindh was than most peaceful and most prosperous province of India. Karachi then was the most cleaned city better than the most cities of developed countries now.
Sindhi was the first language of subcontinent in translation of Holy Qura’an.