all right, here's another one (quiz)

All right Chann Ji tussi waday punjabi bann de oo, sanu aay dasso (i think its too easy for you though)

chait
bisaakh
jaith
haard
saoon
padoon
assu
katta
maggar
poo
maagg
phagan

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

arent those names of the months? … my late grandmother used to use those

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/teary3.gif

chait - Chaitra
bisaakh - Vaisakha
jaith
haard
saoon
padoon -
assu
katta
maggar
poo
maagg - Magha
phagan - Phalguna

oops!!
Sorry. I was giving the Sanskrit equivalents I could identify.
There are 12 months in my language too.
But we practricallly use the Sanskrit words.

Sehar, so what was the quiz?

It is the month of 'poh' right now...and 'maagh' will start in the middle of January..14/15/16..don't know exactly when..it varies every year.

ok here is my quiz then. What is the First day of these months called? Andhra you chup oye.

[This message has been edited by ChannMahi (edited December 19, 2001).]

pehli?

i donno that one, but hey you got to give me credit for a lot of other stuff i know :-p

and I knew all the other stuff (mang/seyp) in the other thread

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

awwain tussi keh rai si ke Naiko te pathwari ji de siwa hor koi paindu nahi aay

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

Sehar ~a sincere paindu~

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/queen.gif

*Sehar ~a sincere paindu~

well, i'm only a wannabe paindu..

sehar my love, can you pls explain these months? I've never heard them before

Apun ko pata hai biRu!

chait - Chaitra
bisaakh - Vaishak
jaith - Jyesth
haard - AashaaD
saoon - Sraavan
padoon - Bhadrapad
assu - Ashwin
katta - Kartik
maggar - Margashirish
poo - Paush
maagg - Magh
phagan - Phalgun

queer "punjabi-tapori trunslaytor"

Haya,a these are names of desi months. As Queer posted the names are drived from their Sanskrit equivalents and its variou versions exist in most other desi languages.
Bascially Maagh starts in the middle of January and then they go as listed by Sehar. Now Poh just passed the coldest month there and Maagh is month when LohRi is celebrated. Phagan and Chait are most busy for weddings. Vaisakh is when harvest season starts, Jaith and HaaRh is hot summer and Saoon(saawan) is the mansoon rainy month, Bhadon is full of humidity. Asso, katteiN and maghar is the romantic season as nothing else to do in the farms, miThi miThi ThanD starts, ripe sugarcanes and garma garma guRh…ok that may not be everyone’s reason to be romantic

but any way you got my point.

chait - Chaitra
bisaakh - Vaishak
jaith - Jyesth
haard - AashaaD
saoon - Sraavan
padoon - Bhadrapad
assu - Ashwin
katta - Kartik
maggar - Margashirish
poo - Paush
maagg - Magh
phagan - Phalgun

Queer,

Yeh koi translation hai .?Its practically same.Every where in India East To West ,North to south its same with slight pronounciation variation shooo

Muharram,
Safar,
Rabi' Al-Awwal,
Rabi' Al-Thani,
Jumada Al-Ula,
Jumada Al-Akhirah,
Rajab,
Sha'ban,
Ramadhan,
Shawwal,
Dhul-Qi'dah,
and Dhul-Hijjah.

How come if Hindu calender is Lunar like Islamic ,they are not short of gregorian by 10 days as Islamic year is ???

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

first of all, i dont know if it's accurate to call it "hindu calendar". it's a cultural calendar. secondly, i doubt if its a lunar calendar - if i am not mistaken, there can be cases when there are two full moons in the same month. thirdly, does it match with the gregorian calendar?

How come if Hindu calender is Lunar like Islamic ,they are not short of gregorian by 10 days as Islamic year is ???<<

For one thing, both the calendars posted by ChanMahi and queer are similar.
If you are following the Calendar posted by ChanMahi you were folllowing a Hindu Calendar all along

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

That flame aside, it is interesting.
I don’t know too much about Lunar/ Gregorian stuff. I was struck by the similarities whgen I saw ChanMahi’s post and tried to translate two of them and Queer completed the job.
Thanks Queer.
I hope some body wil talk about Calendar stuff

I would like to know what is the Islamic calender.

The names of the months Queer has clarified are of the HIndu Year. It was based on Lunar cycle. But the ancient Hindus knew that the seasons were based on the Solar Cycle and they understand the difference. So they modified lunar calender by adding and subtracting days from months to ensure that the seasons follow the lunar months. So some months have more than 28 days to make up for the difference.

Surprisingly, the Arabs were also aware of the Solar cycle very well. However some how they did not adjust their lunar calender to match the seasons. The result is that Ramazan falls in summer and in winter.

Whereas Baisakh is always in spring , Poh is winter and Sawan is in summer.

This is a interesting question. Why the Arabs, the masters of Astronomy, could not adjust their calendar.

I will research this out. But my hypothesis are as follows:

1. The Mullas of that time did not agree because it probably went against the Koran, which was and is still taken literally.

2. Since Saudia ARabia is basically desert, with limited agriculture, accurate knowledge of the seasons was not considerate necessary. So why aggravate the Mullas.

3 Besides, the Gregorian and Hindu Calenders were always available for use if they need accuracy, as has been done in India since the arrival of Islam. And in those days communication between India, China and Europe was quite common and each others knowledge was respected.

I am not aware if the Islamic Lunar year is ever officially corrected. So the Islamic year will soon catch up with the GRegorian and go past it one day.

How do muslims measure their ages! if you are 18 by the Islamic calender , then you are actually about 522 days younger or 1.4 Christian or Hindu years younger.

Very Interesting indeed !

OK now these I recognize

Muharram,
Safar,
Rabi’ Al-Awwal,
Rabi’ Al-Thani,
Jumada Al-Ula,
Jumada Al-Akhirah,
Rajab,
Sha’ban,
Ramadhan,
Shawwal,
Dhul-Qi’dah,
and Dhul-Hijjah.

The Desert explanation is the most likely one.
Arabs didn't have to deal with seasons much.
And they are a conservative lot.
No doubt they used other calendars when they have to.

Queer

Whatever you call i dont mind.

But Your Durga Puja ,Holi ,Deevali correspond very closely to gregorian calender .Namely they fall in Oct ,March ,Nov. mostly although not on the same date every year.

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

But Your Durga Puja ,Holi ,Deevali correspond very closely to gregorian calender .Namely they fall in Oct ,March ,Nov. mostly although not on the same date every year.<<

Is it because we follow a Solar Calendar?
One thing I never understand is why there should be controversies among Muslims when they sight the moon to stop their fasting in Ramadan. What's up with that?

The Hindu Calender is a Lunar calender with modifications(days are added to some months) to concide with the solar cycle. So for all practical purposes its a solar calender now.

Muslims are supposed to end Ramadan by
actual sighting of the moon. In the good old days there was no Radio or TV or Tepephone. So in different parts of the world muslim would look at the local moon and end the Ramadan without any problems.

Now when the moon rises in India, It has not risen in America yet. So the discussion is which moon rising to use as the end of Ramadan. the one in India or the USA or Saudi Arabia.