All Hindu street names of Lahore to be "Islamised"

Re: All Hindu street names of Lahore to be “Islamised”

you were Hindu much longer than that - several Yugs as a matter of fact.

Ashant!!

hindus live in a castist society and hence the obsession with blood and ancestry. Who a person’s ancestors were and what they did for a living 2000 years ago determines his/her worth as a human

Re: All Hindu street names of Lahore to be "Islamised"

Hmm.. so the street Sant Nagar & Krishna nagar will also change.
But what the big deal that it is a hindu name? Not all the streets souds
hindu to me.

Hindu blood? What the hell is Hindu blood? Don’t you mean Indian blood?

Yes the ancestors of most Pakistanis were Hindus for a period of time, Buddhists after that probably even Sikhs, Sufis, and Zoroastrians at one point in history, some of them may have been those aborigine pagans (Dravidians of Indus valley prior to Hindu Brahmin invasions) but SO WHAT?

The religions and ideologies of our forefathers are irrelevant to us, they had their ways and we have ours, even the Prophet Muhammad SAW’s own mom and dad were Pagans whose religion was similar to that of present day Hindus. Everyone was something else at one point in time but that doesn’t mean I’m tied to the beliefs and practices of my forefathers.

I admit my ancestors or at least some of them may have been Hindu, I don’t claim to be of Arab descent and I’m quite content with my own ‘nationality/ethnicity’ but that doesn’t mean just because my ‘nationality/ethnicity’ were Hindu or any other religion for a period of time I have to be too to prove my loyalty to my ‘nationality/ethnicity’, nations have always changed their religious affiliations and I’m a proud Muslim, I make lots of slip ups but at the end of the day everything feels odd and I only feel at home with Islamic ideology and religion, it’s very hard to follow no doubt about that but it’s perfect, I’ve no desire to be Hindu like my foremothers or possibly forefathers were. So shut up about trying to make us feel as though we’re not true to our roots, typical Hindu mentality, I know it’s in your scriptures… Also stop trying to kid us you’re not from Karachi you’re some Hindian or probably some Paki Hindu.

Maybe you meant Hindu to signify Indian, as nationality and not religion which is also untrue because India (or Pakistan for that matter) are nobodies nations, nations are ethnic groups such as Punjabi, Sindhi, Pashtun etc. India (or Pakistan) is only a country, united as one empire only under certain rulers (mostly foreign Muslim) before that they was all independent. Also the racial make up of today’s Pakis even if it is predominantly of ‘Hindu descent’ is different from most present day Hindus of India, as we’re mostly Vedic Aryan (like Advani sahab) with less Dravidian blood but towards the east and south the Hindus are mostly Dravidian blooded (the ones conquered by the Vedic Aryans).

Another thing (going of tangent a bit) as Muslims we’re allowed to identify ourselves with our respective nations but affiliations (political in particular) should be on the basis of religion and ideology not tribe, tongue or nation.

If I’ve been rambling on without making sense (nought new) forgive me I’ve not had me tea yet, having roast beef (holy mother goddess) dinner on a Yorkshire pudding with all the trimmings. :yummy:

southindia is not called hindustan despite being hindus so it may mean more ethnic than religen.hindustni music as opposed to karnatic music nothing to do with religen

good - you’ve answered your own question.

you should better inform yourself before using terms like ‘most’, ‘most;y’ etc. BTW congratulations for being proud of sharing the Advani group of Hindu blood:D

Don’t think you’re allowed to identify with anything other than islam but if you say so!

Merey Bhai/Behn !

I wonder why you were not able to notice “sweet hindu” names in my post like Lakshami Mansion, Jain Mandir and sikh name Dayaal Singh.
Please read the complete post before jumping to conclusion :stuck_out_tongue:

Few more sweet names (hindu, muslim, sikh, Esaayee)

Wassn poora
Baghbaan poora
Misri Shah
Krishan Nagar
Sun’t Nagar
Harbans poora
Montgomry Road
Davis Raod
Abbot Road
Lawrance Garden( Baagh-e-Jinnah)

Gulaab Devi Hospital
Sir Ganga Raam Hospital
United Christian Hospital
Lady Aitchison Hospital

On top of that, One of the most Famous Chowk in Lahore is Called Laxmi Chowk it is the centre of most cultural and social acitvities and many famous people live around, including Allama Iqbal (Mcleod Road).

We do not need these names to be changed. Althoguh, new roads areas should be named after prominent pakistani personalities

^Why not Mirza Ahmed Qadiyani Chowk??

is this really a way for them to better themselves as muslims? what about the hindu culture which is so apparent among these muslims? shouldnt they go about changing the silly traditions which contradict Islam?

This is what I call living in a gutter and not knowing smell of shyt. Lahore itself is named for Loh, son of Ram Chander (the Hero of Ramayan). Instead of changing the street names, why not change Lahore’s name to Goth Qasim or Chak Mohammdi?

Good point but impossible - most pakistanis are of Hindu descent and are products of several centuries (to several thousand years, depending upon whether you believe only history or also mythology) of Hindu culture. Which is just as well - otherwise their psedo arabian pretensions would have imploded the country by now.

Time and time again you keep proving your not a Karachian but some smelly Bhindian.

We’re not allowed to identify with other religious identities but nationality/ethnicity is different, perfectly fine to be identified with our ethnicity so long as we don’t give that idenitity more importance than our religious identity.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, except for Islam no religion or ideology is hereditary.

It doesnt matter our forefathers WERE. we ARE muslims now and that is what matters.

Im all for the name change.. why should streets and places in a muslim country be called KRISHNA and LAXMI... these are hindu gods for christ's sakes.

some Indians streets have also changed from muslim names to hindu ones.

^ mem Saab just because some one else is doing it, is not a valid reason for us to do the same thing. I believe that it will be an islamic thing to do to leave the names as it is. Islam teaches us to remember the history so we can learn from the past and do make progress in future. Name changing serves no purpose it only will promote a sense of intolerance for other faiths, which from islamic point of view is totally unacceptable. I think the final decision of keeping the original name was the right decision. I am glad the government came to its senses. God Bless

• Gamma

^which ones?

India has preserved its thousands and thousands of prominent “Muslim” street names and city names. even Aurangabad, named after the most hated historical figure in the whole nation, Aurangzeb, remains intact…the examples are endless.

it was the Anglicized version of certain city names that were changed to their proper names…maybe that’s what you’re thinking of.

really? how about some examples? you just make up these things forgetting how big the muslim population in Inida is

why? so that you folks earn some punyaa when you say these holy names.

And how can something be Hindu for Christ’s sake? You think Christ needs some punyaa too?

very very funny
i cant understand why? i think they are blind , thay cant see waht is going on , on the stage of lahore, is it islamic calture or a pakistani calture??? and thay just want to implement the isalm to change the namse???very bad , and this step will demage the history of Lahore
Lahore is a caltural city

Does anyone really care what the street names are?
I'm not from Lahore, maybe thats why I dont care, but it seems really trivial to me.

No there is fierce competition between Zia and Mirza Ghulam Ahmed qadiani for this title :smiley: