All About Achar

I like the taste of achar but I never really liked the texture or the thought of eating the actual stuff that was in the achar…then again I’ve often noticed dried pieces left in the plate so I’m assuming achar is not to be “eaten” but rather to enhance the flavor…

What exactly goes in achar?

and wha’ts your favorite kind?

Re: All About Achar

It does have a strong taste and I myslef cannot eat a lot.Just a lil bit to enhance the flavor of certain foods.I love carrot pickle or mango pickle.The carrot one is not that 'khatta'.

I love mango achar! I eat it with roti sometimes. mmmmm

I like the carrot achar best.

Have you ever taken a little of the achar masala (the spices) from the jar....and mixed it into mayonnaise? Just a little bit. It makes an good sauce.

Mango achar :yummy:

i love mango achar especially with pulao or any sort of rice

am i the only one who doesnt like achaar?

oh has anyone ever tried dailay ka achaar? my grandma used to make it ............i just thought the name was so funny ....dailay

what is 'dailay'...??

i think its amla.......i am not sure or may be another name for lasoora.

KKF must know this

but in punjabi...an eyeball is also called as daila

:hehe: I know…dailay ka achar…creepy..!!

I just have one question.
Why do they show pregnant females eating achaar right out of the jar on desi tv?

I couldn’t look at it or even smell it or even walk past it without feeling nauseous, let alone eat it rookha during any of my pregnancies. :hayaa:

Indian movie heroines always puke in front of room full of people to announce their pregnancy...or they faint. Then they chew on achar while rubbing their bellies. sajalina, get with the program here.I like mixed achar with dal chawal. I even put a tsp of it in aloo ki bhujia while it's cooking to make it so yummy!

^Haan tou kia correlation hai pregnancy aur achaar ki?
Why would a pregnant woman want something as strong smelling/tasting as achaar when even water is making her want to throw up?

It is all bollywood science and we cannot understand.It is just something like when daacter sahab can come and put the stethoscope on the heroine’s chest (who just fainted a sec ago) and declare in 1.5 seconds ‘mubarak ho…aap maa banane wali hai’…:rolleyes:

i only love achar with parantha when iam expecting.. mixed achar :biggthumb:

good question.. i wonder if iam the only one that likes achar during pregnacy hence the strong smell :konfused:

It's leemu ka achar usually as pregnant women are supposed to enjoy khatta stuff. Lekin, anyways, in Bollywood, anything is possible.

Mango achaar is my favourite, always have it with Daal and Chaval