alif laila....

i am sick and tired of ppl using this word over and over again…
so lets plz clarify it once and for all…

its is NOT alif laila…
its ALF LAILA…

alf is an arabic word which means THOUSAND
laila is an arabic word which means NIGHTS

so the arabian night stories r also called the thousand nights’ stories r translated into uru as “ALF LAILA”…

since ALIF and ALF r written with the same letter but different aaraab (in ALF laam has aa jazam while in ALIF laam has a zer) and in common writing aaraab r missing, hence ALIF has become popular…

whats more annoying is that even book publishers publish them as ALIF LAILA…

plz put an end to this jahaalat…

its ALF LAILA and not ALIF LAILA…

and it more ironical when u discover that the actual title is not ALF LAILA but ALF LAILA wa LAILA (which means thousand and one nights)…
so in the conversion we have also omittied one night…
and then converted the thousand to ALIF…

urdu zabaan ka janazah jald hi nikalne wala hai… :frowning:

Re: alif laila....

Yeah it's the same ALF written for Mujaddid ALF-E-Thaani - The Mujaddid at the beggining of the second thousand year :-)

Or the ALF mentioned in Surah Al Qad'r - Khairum min ALF-e-Shah'r

i liked stories of alif laila and the comedy program alif noon :)

i always thought it was qais and laila

alif was kamal ahmed rizwi ... he was sooooo booooring ..... anyone remember his '6 fut ka khargosh' drama? .. what the f.. was all that about???

isn't laila the host of 'house of rock'? on IM? :)

I thought alf laila meant a thousand baby sheep, they are called lailas.

BTW is Aladin part of alif laila? Cause the caliph and his daughter rock man, I would convert to islam a million times just to know the lil daughter. She shouldnt get married to the grand wazir.

Re: alif laila…

yeah I remember that drama. The name was ‘mera humdum mera dost’. I think it was based on some English novel.

I thought Alif and Laila were two lovers like heer ranjha, saasi pannu, romeo juliet etc.

thanks for clearing it up!

^^Rb that’s laila majnu yaar

p.s. armughal bhai PM kar dia hota :halo:

Those who have read it know what it is all about. No need to get so upset over Alf or Alif or Alaf.

:jhanda: