Re: Aleem Dar admits of wrongly adjudging Tendi out during the last ODI of Natwest Se
Dar should avoid making such statements.
By acknowledgign a mistake it does not stand corrected and umpires cannot be expected to make 100% correct decisions.
Re: Aleem Dar admits of wrongly adjudging Tendi out during the last ODI of Natwest Se
Dar should avoid making such statements.
By acknowledgign a mistake it does not stand corrected and umpires cannot be expected to make 100% correct decisions.
big flipping whoop. tendulkar konsa waisay bhi koi run banata hai.
so whats the hoopla? don't most people recognize that longer Tendulkar stays on pitch it goes against India?? So Pakistanis (the ones who love to see India lose) should be complaining why Aleem Dar gave Tendulkar out while Indians should be joyous!
^hahahaha
In a India vs South Africa match once Ganguly, in an effort to complete a single run, ran into two South African fielders and tripped and fell both times. Needless to say he never made his ground. The umpire gave him out but Hansie Cronje asked Ganguly to come back and continue batting.
Video here: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?p=5394019
Did Tendulkar ever apologize when he had clearly snicked in a recent ODI against Australia but did not walk? Why the hell did Aleem apologize to him. No need for that.
BTW Kartikh also edged during the last ODI against Aussies @ Mumbai when India were 8 down. India eventually won the game by 2 wkts. It was once again Aleem Dar but this time gave the decision in favour of India ![]()
Did Tendulkar ever apologize when he had clearly snicked in a recent ODI against Australia but did not walk? Why the hell did Aleem apologize to him. No need for that.
Who asked Aleem Dar to apologize ? I don't think anybody did.
Where did you get that from.
Where did I get what from?
I agree with whoever said up there, that Aleem Dar (and other umpires) should just shut up and remain quiet about such things. There is no point. No one is going to give them brownie points for being a truthful but errant umpire. Good and bad decisions are part of cricket. God knows, most of us want 100% correct decisions, but as long as the human element remains, wrong decisions are part of our life. No need to bring fresh controversies on issues that are in the past and people have moved on already.
I actually remember one incident where the umpire gave a wrong "out" decision and then imemdiately change it to "not out" after the batsman showed that he had nicked the ball. This was the final cricket test between Indian and Pakistan in Bangalore, 1987 (Pakistan won that test) and I think the batsman was Iqbal Qasim. A ball from Kapil dev hit him on the pads in front of the stumps, but it had hit the bat first. The umpire gave him out, the batsman stood his ground, pointing to the bat, and the umpire immediately changed his decision to "not out".
I think that was the right thing to do. If you already know that you have given a wrong decision, you should change it before the game resumes.
I actually remember one incident where the umpire gave a wrong "out" decision and then imemdiately change it to "not out" after the batsman showed that he had nicked the ball. This was the final cricket test between Indian and Pakistan in Bangalore, 1987 (Pakistan won that test) and I think the batsman was Iqbal Qasim. A ball from Kapil dev hit him on the pads in front of the stumps, but it had hit the bat first. The umpire gave him out, the batsman stood his ground, pointing to the bat, and the umpire immediately changed his decision to "not out".
I think that was the right thing to do. If you already know that you have given a wrong decision, you should change it before the game resumes.
Lokesh the umpire never gave iqbal qasim out.
I am sure both sides have alot of similar stores to share.
I remember one occasion during 1986 Pak India series when there was an LBW shout against Iqbal Qasim and the ball had cleared touched the bat first. I think the bowler was Madan Lal or Binny. As soon as there was that appeal umpire started to slowly raise his hand as if as he was just waiting for an appeal. What happened next was too funny to forget. Iqbal Qasim almost cried and pleaded that the ball hit his bat and the umpire's hand suddenly started going down as if saying, chal beta maaf kya... tu bhee kya yaad karay ga...
I am glad that period of zero accountability is over when umpires use to influence the match result.
If you already know that you have given a wrong decision, you should change it before the game resumes.
Thank You...this is exactly the point I was trying to make.
There is no hiding behind "Human Mistake" excuse thing...if the "human"(Umpire) realizes that he gave a wrong decision before the play has resumed. There is no justification here for not recalling the batsman.
Umpires doesn't even admit they made a mistake let alone call batsman back. We have to deal with that as long as ICC doesn't do anything about that.
^So then let's all agree that Umpires are basically dishonest folks....and move on.
The problem with the Tendulkar scenario that umpire's realization of a possible wrong decision came only because the batsman stood his ground. Of course, the batsman is a biased party in this case and his reaction cannot be a basis for decision making in his favor. Most batsmen would pretend they didn't nick the ball when they did.
If, on the other hand, it were a runout and the umpire discovered the bails weren't dislodged or the ball wasn't in keeper's hands when he dislodged the bails, then of course the umpire would be justified in reversing his intial "out" verdict.
That's why I think Dar was wrong in apologizing. At that time his decision was correct based on the evidence... the ball appeared to the naked eye to pass close to the bat, there was a sound, there was an appeal, hence the batsman nicked the ball. The batsman's subsequent reaction bears no relevance.
At that time his decision was correct based on the evidence... the ball appeared to the naked eye to pass close to the bat, there was a sound, there was an appeal, hence the batsman nicked the ball. The batsman's subsequent reaction bears no relevance.
Perhaps you did not read the first post.
Aleem Dar says that he was busy looking at Flintoff's foot for the no-ball and so his concentration was disturbed. So obviously there was an element of DOUBT in his decision from the onset.
And as they say - BENEFIT OF DOUBT should have gone to the batsman.
Even so, my comment above is not specific to this Tendulkar incident....but the general conduct of Umpires when they realize their mistake immediately after they make their decision.
The only reason they seem not to recall batsmen is SHAME and EMBARRASMENT....nothing else.
i agree with your point Some1, buts it not fair to blame the umpires either.
ICC has to give instructions to umpires to let them know if and when they can call back a player. the rules are little vague, and they should be cleared up as soon as possible. But i agree completely that if umpires realize they made a mistake, they should reverse their decision.
During ind-eng series, the commentators were mentioning that how come peiterson was given out and he didnt leave the ground and later was called back but how tendulkar was not out and was not called back...too many double standards being shown