Alarm bells go off as Investors rethink

Both Imran & TuQ are solely responsible for this … Shameless Traitors

Economic commotion: Alarm bells go off as Investors rethink

By Saad HasanPublished: September 8, 2014

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/759219-refinary-1410124223-113-640x480.jpg

At $6 billion, the 250,000-barrel per day (bpd) Khalifa Point Refinery would have helped save millions of dollars the country spends to import petroleum products including diesel. PHOTO: STOCK IMAGE

Karachi: It was the single largest foreign direct investment in Pakistan. At $6 billion, the 250,000-barrel per day (bpd) Khalifa Point Refinery would have helped save millions of dollars the country spends to import petroleum products including diesel.**

But it never moved out of the drawing board.

“They were serious about it,” said a senior industry official, referring to **Abu Dhabi’s International Petroleum Investment Company (IPIC) **– the main sponsors.

“UAE wanted a channel other than the Strait of Hormuz for the refined petroleum products to reach world markets.”
Contradictory to popular belief, the project that was approved by the Pakistani government in 2007 was not put on the backburner due to economic slowdown — it was in fact a casualty of political turmoil.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Executive-of-the-pre-privatisation-consultancy.jpg

“Fast-changing political climate, which always creates fear of change in official policy, was damaging for such a large investment,” said the official who manages a crude oil refinery in Pakistan.

“IPIC kept on waiting for some sort of certainty in the policy and state of affairs.”
The recent showdown in Islamabad has simply reinforced investors’ fears about the economy.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Senior-industry.jpg

“Everything has been put on hold,”** said an executive of a company, which is vying for pre-privatisation consultancy for various state-owned organisations.

“Privatisation Commission Chairman Mohammad Zubair wasn’t able to go to his office for two weeks, what do you expect would happen?”

**In the past two weeks, the government was due to hire advisory consultants to prepare for privatisation of power distributions companies, which have been beset by losses due to rickety distribution systems and rampant theft.

Industry officials say that the delay in taking decisions, paper work and requisite approvals are not the biggest of problems.

“The whole drama in Islamabad has actually sent out a signal that the government is toothless,” said the executive of the consultancy. “What would they do when thousands of Wapda employees come out on the roads (against privatisation)?”

Handing distribution companies to private investors would be particularly challenging for politicians who come from areas with high level of theft. The long battle K-Electric fought on all the fronts to convince people to pay their bills is an example before everyone.

Political stability and steadfastness on part of the government would be imperative for many of the projects to materialise, officials say.

But what many people were not prepared was the reported postponement of Chinese President’s official visit in wake of the protests.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/034.jpg

Local companies behind the coal-fired plants have made it clear that only China’s banks have the financial muscle and commitment to fund the much-needed projects.

“International financial institutions like the World Bank are not ready to fund coal power plants. We are talking about $600 million of debt for a 660MW project. Chinese state-owned banks are our only option,” said CEO of a power company.

The importance of the projects cannot be overstated. As the reliance of the country increases on furnace oil to generate electricity, the power tariff has increased. And so have costs – from households to factories.

“Having our power generation switch to coal is the only way we could counter the challenges.”**

Published in The Express Tribune, September 8[SUP]th[/SUP], 2014.

Re: Alarm bells go off as Investors rethink

maybe NS can invest his trillions and trillions in Pakistan, rather than UK and other countries.......how about that??

Seriously? That isn't even honest. We lost out on FDI. That is a loss for the country. Think about the common man instead of the politics.

yes the common man would be a lot more benefitted when all that corruption money comes back into the coffers. Rather than in foreign bank accounts of these fake leaders who run to Dubai as soon as they have a fever.

Bring back all that money and perhaps we won't need any investments from those desert-sheikhs.

Cautious approach: Investors play safe, want quick settlement

By Farhan Zaheer
Published: September 8, 2014

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/759221-crowd-1410124470-540-640x480.jpg

The situation took a sharp turn in mid-August when long marches and sit-ins by two political forces forced investors to play safe while considering their short and long-term investment plans. PHOTO:REUTERS

KARACHI: **When the PML-N took the reins of the country in June last year, few businesspersons would have thought that the government, which is perceived to be pro-business, will face such a strong protest movement within 15 months.

The situation took a sharp turn in mid-August when long marches and sit-ins by two political forces forced investors to play safe while considering their short and long-term investment plans.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Kamran-Y-Mirza.jpg

According to some investor accounts, persistent protests in Islamabad have not only hurt the economy, but more importantly, have dented the confidence of local and international investors in the country’s economic progress.

**“The on-going protests and sit-ins have put a question mark over political stability, which no business, whether small or big, can afford,” **said Asad S Jafar, President of Overseas Investors Chamber of Commerce and Industry (OICCI), an association of over 195 multinational firms operating in Pakistan.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Asad-S-Jafar.jpg

OICCI, whose members come from 35 different countries, conducts surveys regularly to determine the mood of investors.

It released on Friday a quick survey on the on-going agitation against alleged election rigging. About a third of the respondents expect a fresh review of their investment plans for the next three years, indicating that the investors are perturbed about the prospects of future capital injections.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Zakaria-Usman.jpg

Earlier in an interview with The Express Tribune in May this year, Jafar had, however, said despite unfavourable conditions OICCI members were planning to invest around $3 billion over the next five years.

**In the survey, over 50% of respondents said recent events had caused the postponement or cancellation of scheduled business meetings in Pakistan with overseas shareholders and regional management.
Apart from long-term repercussions, there was some immediate ripple effect on business operations and product distribution. About 40% of respondents expect a decline in sales and profitability with a possible drop in tax payments.

Similarly, a majority of them (62%) foresee serious damage to the 2014-15 fiscal targets of the government.

“Pakistan is a country that offers a lot of business opportunities and that’s why many of our long-term investors look at it positively. But yes, the protests are detrimental to the investment plans, especially for the short term,” Jafar added.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/025.jpg

Bearing the brunt**

Talking to The Express Tribune, Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FPCCI) President Zakaria Usman said investor confidence had borne the brunt of the political standoff as it had been shaken to the core.

“The current crisis will continue to haunt the country at least for months, if not for years,” remarked Usman, who represents the apex trade and commerce body of the country.

Endorsing the OICCI survey, he said multinational companies must have been disturbed by the political impasse.

“Nobody will invest when your country and the government are stuck in such a crisis.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/06.jpg

He was of the view that the politicians could not even estimate the loss businesses had suffered in the past few weeks, adding many of the business people were just looking at factors that were tangible and could be calculated like the loss of factory output, decline in exports and imports, etc.

“But what about the impact on future investment that may get late or probably will never come. The decline in confidence of investors, especially foreign investors, is intangible and irreversible,” he said.

Taking a cautious stance, Pakistan Business Council Chief Executive Kamran Y Mirza stressed that it was too early to say that investor’s trust in the economy had been badly hit and investments would drop in coming days.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/042.jpg

PBC, a business policy advocacy body that represents 44 leading conglomerates of Pakistan, enjoys a considerable influence in the policymaking circles.

“It is good that the situation is still in control of the authorities. But we wish to see it (political crisis) settled as early as possible,” Mirza remarked.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 8[SUP]th[/SUP], 2014.*

ah yeah they dont want the people to wake up and demand their rights, so they can keep making corruption money while the awam sleeps

Seriously? Man you PTI supporters. There sheer level of stupidity is amazing. The FDI would have helped us. Its a loss. Regardless of the government its a loss. But you are too busy being an internet politician to care.

Political turmoil leads to dollar appreciation by 5 rupees in a month | Pakistan Today

I am not a politician, nor a PTI supporter. But if I vote, I would vote for PTI......

So we didn't get FDI. Too bad. Shayad isi mein Allah ki behteri hogi.

LOL Now using religion in your political statements. Man you should join the JI.

PMLN should've known this the day decided to deny justice.

:chai: Politics on the internet again. sigh I wonder if you PTI followers actually care for the country or only for IK.

We care for justice :chai:

So not Pakistan. Good to know.

Imran Qadri is a power hungry traitor.

Damaging Pakistan in their lust for power.

Exactly!

Good conclusion, good IQ :k: … yes, I care for justice as that is what a govt/functional-society is supposed to provide unless you want a country to feed hungry vulture elites.

Damage caused to Pakistan by power+money hungry status quo (PPP+PMLN+minion parties) has been far far greater than any loss of FDI.

Any one ever bother reading the terms of these FDIs before lamenting their supposed loss? PMLN went to the supreme court in 1997 to nullify the IPP contracts signed by PPP govt, which guaranteed 15% dollar returns, citing the return as exorbitant. I doubt any of those crying over the loss of supposed FDI bothered to read the details of all the investment deals and loans being signed by the 'experienced' team of PMLN? Id suggest reading up an bit and comparing it to 1997.

Just as i said. Postponement of Chinese president’s visit will not effect the projects that are already agreed upon and those projects will go on as per schedule. It will only delay another photo op for our leaders. I guess Chinese know that show must go on. Kisi k aaney janey, milney aur na milney sai projects nahi ruktey. It only happens in Pakistan.

Oh yes. A photo written in urdu with no link. Yes that is valid.