Akram cant do commentary in CL: India

KARACHI: Pakistan former captain and expert commentator Wasim Akram has been denied permission by the Indian government to do a commentary stint in the Champions League tournament starting in India from October 8.

According to a report in a Karachi daily, Wasim, who was in Johannesburg covering the Champions Trophy was all set to fly to India for his fresh stint in the Champions League T20 tournament.

“But at the last moment he was informed by the organisers of the tournament that his services were no longer required in the tournament,” the report said.

“Wasim was surprised to learn about this and was later explained unofficially that the Indian cricket Board had told the organisers to avoid inviting Wasim to India because of policy instructions from the government,” the report added.

Akram cant do commentary in CL: India,10/5/2009 2:24:26 PM

Re: Akram cant do commentary in CL: India

*I'll wait for Indian guppies to comment on this

check kero zara :chai:

this makes me so sad
W Akram is not a bad man
Its a shame that Indian government always intervenes and ruins it for the sports fans.
Animosity is one thing but this goes way too far. Dil baro karo Indian government please won't hurt you, your a big nation so take some responsibility.

yeh and then they blame us all the time for the bad taste :chai:

So, Akram is saved from putting his foot on the dirty soil. :smokin:

Hundreds of academies and coaches countless leagues IPLs and ICLs etc. india has yet to produce a genuine fast bowler.

Honestly, Akram would be wasting his time on bunch of losers anyway.

i think indian govt have done right ....................

wasim akram is a very irresponsible person having no regards for the political tension and indian govt open hostilty towards pakistan.

they dont want pakistani's sport players in their country pata nahi is ku wahan ghusnay ka kia shouq hay...........

Well there is one guy who wants to be good friends with India
and his intentions were good i think
political tensions are there since Pakistani independence and they will remain for couple of decades more i am afraid.
If Wasim is so wrong then i think all the artists that went to India and vice versa are wrong.

I think the Indian government should not meddle in sports only when it concerns national security of India then they have any right to say something.

but now sitaution are getting worse ............

aray sub ku ban kar daina chahiay.................. pakistani's sportmen should show ghairat atleast coz india did not come to pakistan to play cricket.

untill the thing do not cool down no one shud go to india neither for sports nor 4 film/music.

You know Maverick
yesterday i was talking with my friends
and i was telling them that i know about Pakistanis
i can talk for hours about bad habbits of Pakistani community because we are not pefect and
we do have lot of issues to deal with.
India and Indian maybe and certainly are better then Pakistan in many things i won't lie about that and that because of the good governnance and much better leadership then of Pakistani leaders. But when it comes to big heart we Pakistanis have a much bigger heart and jighra then Indians we are more generous then Indians believe me.

Therefor i do agree with you the tit for a tat policy but thats very easy and obvious step na
now what happend is that Indian government ko sharminda hona chahyee not Wasim Akram.

And i think most of sports enthousiast will be dissapointed at the India governents decision bc they like Wasim Akram alot and they know he was a Legend in Cricket.

Its sad that it has to come to this :( Wasim Akram is one of my favorite cricketers and is extremely well liked in India, and I (and a lot of other Indians) would definitely like to see more of him in India.

However, this is a policy decision by the govt., and in some ways is justified. Pak has been flip flopping on the issue of cross border terrorism and at such a time to invite/welcome a Pakistani in India (however big his fan base in India might be) will cause a domestic backlash.

Even so
lets for a second agree that
Pakistani government is flip flopping
what has that got to do with Wasim Akram yaar

He is an indiviual that has nothing to to wtih the Politics
If it was Imran Khan then mein samajhta keh justification hai but not in this case.

Thank you Indian government for couple of things

• First of all, for exposing your hypocrisy... ok exposing it more i guess ...

• Saving us from crap commentary of Wasim Akram (what a B-U-T-FOOL shot, walk and talk ,,,,,,, repeat this work after every 5/6 words) :)

As great player as he is, he should not step into commentary box ever again (ok he is better than Sidhu and few other crappies from India but still...). As of today I guess Ramiz is the best that Pakistan has to offer.

That is your view and you are entittled to it. However, from cricketing point I hope Wasim Akram learns a lesson from it and also Pakistan should bar all Indian commentators from commentating on future matches during Pak series.

I see your point :) However, after 26/11 the Indian govt took a decision to put on hold ALL India-Pak cricket exchanges. I guess this is just being covered under that blanket policy.

I wonder how this will affect IPL given the fact that Akram is the bowling coach for KKR and a lot of Pakistani players are contracted for IPL.

As of now, it does not look like a a cricketing series will take place in Pak for some time to come. So I dont know if Pak govt will get an opportunity to reciprocate.

Totally agree. His tips made Irfan Pathan what he is or was 3-4 years ago. He should learn a lesson and never share his experience with any Indian player.

I dont know if its true but i heard some other reason why
Wasim was banned. Its got to do about his commentary he said HUM (us, meaning Pakistan) instead of just PAKISTAN. As commentator one should be impartial and he made that mistake.
I do not mind him making this mistake because he is just a rooky but does anyone know about this ???

I knew you were going to come with this argument. Pak will be hosting home series in UAE and England over the next year so plenty of opportunities to reciprocate.