Ajmal Kasab

See latest from Times of India.
Ajmal Qasab again in news now.

Kasab denies all charges, claims forced confession

TIMES NEWS NETWORK & AGENCIES 18 December 2009, 12:20pm IST

MUMBAI: In a dramatic twist to the 26/11 terror attacks case, main accused Mohammad Ajmal Kasab on Friday retracted from his earlier statement  

Related videos

More Videos » and claimed he was forcibly made to confess. ( Watch Video )

Denying all charges against him, Kasab said the statement was made under duress.

Kasab today claimed before a special court that he was arrested on the night of November 25 and that he was falsely implicated in the 26/11 case.

“On the night of November 25, I was roaming in Juhu. I had gone to see a movie when the local police arrested me,” Kasab told the court.

He also told the court that he was arranging for a house in Mumbai.

“I had a passport and I’m not the first one to come from Pakistan to Juhu area. I was arranging for a house here. The local police first arrested me and then handed me over to the crime branch,” he said.

The Pakistani gunman also said in court today he had met US-based Lashkar-e-Taiba operative David Coleman Headley in jail some time after the attacks.

The lone captured terrorist further said that on November 27, he was produced before a magistrate who then took his custody.

“I have not given any confession before the magistrate and my statement has been falsely implicated,” Kasab added.

“I was not present at VT,” said Mohammed Ajmal Amir Kasab, referring to Victoria Terminus, the former name of Mumbai’s main railway station where he is accused of opening fire on November 26.

“I do not know what has happened. Witnesses have come and recognized me because my face looks similar to the terrorists,” he told the judge at the special prison court in Mumbai where he is on trial.

Kasab claimed that “The police have killed the main accused who resembles me and they told me that his name was Abu Ali.”

“I am his look alike. His height and face resembles mine,” Kasasb said.

“That is why I was picked up. I have been framed,” he added, speaking in Hindi.

Kasab, who claimed that he was 20 years old, also denied that he was with Abu Ismail during the attack at CST (VT Station).

He rejected the evidence of a witness, Bharat Tamore, that he was seen with 10 terrorists at Badhwar Park when they got down from a dinghy there.

Kasab said that “do baatein bolkar katham karna chaahtha hoon, aaj bhi mujhe bolne ka mauka nahin mila tho…” (I want to finish by saying two lines, if I don’t get a chance to speak then…)

The judge cut him short and told him that he had to answer questions the court put to him.

Kasab disagreed with Tamore’s version that he had seen the 10 terrorists at Badhwar Park wearing saffron jackets and carrying bags on their back and also a handbag.

Tamore had told the judge in his evidence that he saw two of the 10 terrorists closely and that Kasab was one of them.

Several questions were put to Kasab based on the evidences given by witnesses.

Asked about the dinghy, Kasab said that he did not know anything about the dingy. “I saw the dingy for the first time in the court,” he said.

The case of the prosecution is that the terrorists had reached Mumbai via the dingy.

The lone surviving terrorist captured by the police during the Mumbai attacks was scheduled to give a statement today on evidence introduced against him by the prosecution for his alleged role in the 26/11 terror attacks.

Kasab had made three confessions after his arrest. One was admission of guilt before police soon after his arrest, the other confession was made before a magistrate which is admissible as evidence and the third one was in the trial court when the accused accepted his guilt partially.

Clearly Kasab has decided not to stick to any of these confessions when the court recorded his version today.

Re: Ajmal Kasab

He was arrested red-handed so his confession is unnecessary

Are u dreaming?
If he was captured red handed then why this trial?
Why is he denying all this get real and wake up
are u Indian? I know u are but just asking.

red handed?

according to indian media right?

no sane person in this world believes in indian media which through out this 26/11 drama focused on one person who was named as Kasab from Pakistan and luckily all of his friends died in the operation except for him.....they seriously need to work on their script writing...

I think it's clearly written under my name that I am in Karachi Pakistan. And I am rather anti-Indian than Indian.

Then being a Pakistani you should be very careful what you say mohtarma.

I am not, i say it again i am NOT anti INDIAN although many may think like that but its my right to reply when i think something is wrong.

You may not be but I am anti-Indian for all the problems this neighbour has generated for us. As far as the present story is concerned I was told by my own media including Geo TV that he is Pakistani and was caught on the spot. It was no Indian or international channel that went for proving Ajmal Qasab's being Pakistani. Geo sent its team to Ajmal's village and made a report concluding that Ajmal was a Pakistani and a dweller of that village. They even reported that Ajmal had actually gone for jihad and he got ''ijazat'' from his parents.

Well i work for geo tv and we never know for sure what is the truth and what is false
though its cute that u like geo tv
u pay our salary lolz

jee jee i know that
but just think about it
if the prove is so obvious and he is seen on tv
then why the judges don’t convict him.
zahir hai kuch to “panga” ho ga na ji?

Anyhow as u say our neighbour cannot be trusted so please
if the judge cannot even come to a conclusion aap kaise keh sakti ho keh he did it
Judge ne bhee zahir hai geo tv ki film dekhi ho gi na?

acha theek hay jeee

See some more according to the Times of India web.

MUMBAI: According to Ajmal Kasab, who retracted his earlier confessional statement on Friday, the terrorists who went on a rampage inside

Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus on November 26 last year later proceeded to Taj Mahal hotel.

"The terrorists at CST were the same ones who were at Taj also. The terrorists came to CST at 2230 and then went to Taj hotel at 0430 in the morning," Kasab told the special court on Friday.

When judge M L Tahaliyani pointed out that CCTV footage showed Kasab was at CST along with Abu Ismail, he said: "There might be footage but I was not there..."

He told the court he came to India 20 days before the 26/11 incident by Samjhauta Express. "From Delhi I came to Mumbai," Kasab said in his final statement on the evidence presented by the prosecution in the case.

When the court reminded him that earlier during the trial he told the court that he was at CST and was involved in exchange of fire with police, Kasab said he had lied then.

"Police had written the statement in Urdu and I just recited that statement," he said.

He also said he was under the impression that after giving this statement the judge would award him punishment and he would be transferred to another jail, which he wanted.

"I still request you to transfer me to another jail," he said.

As long as there are even a few like you Mr. Happy in pakistan..country is devoid of any hope whatsoever.. Cooking conspiracy theories is the worst that you could do for an act that killed civilians getting on with their way of life. This is one reason why pakistan has never contained the home grown and exported extremism..

There is hundreds of KASABS in Pakistan jinka gusal bhi blood se hota hai

if they can do it in there own country why not India ?

Wallho Aalam Bissawab

Even if he was captured red-handed, in a democracy he is guaranteed a fair trial. And he still might have been framed.

Truth will come out once and i just hope that some of those who now head for the extreme to one side or the other r still alive to eat their words

Remember the Hitlers Attack on Poland which was sold as "shooting back"

Or

The beginning of th Vietnam-War .... The Trigger-Happy Uncle Sam kids started the firing

Or

Iraq's WMD

and the List is really long

that is masala news dude.

here is the reality

You do not understand the concept of judiciary do you. You are just exposing your levels of intellignce (or lack of it) by making these kind of statements.

How about a conspiracy theory for you. 26/11 never happened. It was a stunt that was carried out by Bollywood stuntmasters to discredit Pakistan. Kasab is a nice guy who was roaming around in Juhu. Though I seriously dont know what he was doing in the land of the infidel...

ISI will be knocking on your door in the middle of the night.