Aitzaz Ahsan recognition as intellectual - (Split from Mustafa Kamal thread)

But then why were you so ticked off when the same ‘journal’ put Aitezaz Ahsan in the top five intellectuals of the world. Now shun aside your MQM jiyalaism malik73 and appreciate Aitezaz Ahsan, just like how you appreciated that nazim since its from the same journal, only that Aitezaz’s achievement is more profound, and distinct, anyone can be a ‘nazum’ (with altaf bhai’s blessings), but not everyone can be the top intellectual.

Foreign Policy: The World’s Top 20 Public Intellectuals

** 5 AITZAZ AHSAN**
Lawyer, politician • Pakistan
President of Pakistan’s Supreme Court Bar Association, Ahsan has been a vocal opponent of President Pervez Musharraf’s rule. When Musharraf dismissed the head of the Supreme Court in March 2007, it was Ahsan who led the legal challenge to reinstate the chief justice and rallied thousands of lawyers who took to the streets in protest. He was arrested several times during the period of emergency rule last year. Today, he is a senior member of the Pakistan Peoples Party, formerly led by Benazir Bhutto, and one of the country’s most recognizable politicians.

Re: Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors.

Spock- you should be happy to see a pakistani, making a mark. Why so upset, Kamal is pakistani, is he not?

Re: Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors.

^ where did I say I was unhappy (assuming things again)? You on the other hand were very unhappy with Aitezaz making a 'real' mark though, esp. considering the same exact source referred to him as the worlds 5th best intellectual.

As for mustafa kamaal, I dont like the guy, hes a racist pig, are you forgetting what he said about the pakthuns of Karachi?

then y are they calling him the 2nd best mayor. thats crazy right?

May be because of his 'development' efforts.

HMMM interesting.
it is certainly disturbing that he is doing such a good job.

Re: Aitzaz Ahsan recognition as intellectual - (Split from Mustafa Kamal thread)

So robert, care to answer my question?

Re: Aitzaz Ahsan recognition as intellectual - (Split from Mustafa Kamal thread)

Remember guys, the journal here ranked them according to their PROFESSIONAL SKILLS and achievments, not on the basis of their political views. So lets give both of them credit for what they have achieved PROFESSIONALY.

Spock-, I disagree with, but respect Mr. Aitezaz Ahsan.
There are not many politicians I respect.

So then you shouldnt be urging me to be proud of Mustafa Kamaal either.

Also, turns out that while Aitezaz is ranked as the 5th most inellectual person in the world, Mr. Kamaal was not named as the best mayor of the world or anything of that sort LOL!

its upto you.

Robert ethnic strife is part and parcel of Pakistanis. Many wouldn't appreciate whatever comes out of Karachi and vice versa.

Aitzaz was the single most instrumental person to bring down the illegal retard former general Musharraf...an achievement without any precedent in our country...there is no other politician in recent history of Pakistan who has touched people's hearts like Aitzaz....an honour well deserved for Aitzaz by the Foriegn Policy magazine...

Im sorry but whoever ranked Aitezaz as the the 5th most intellectual surely needs to get their head checked.

So what they are saying is between Stephen Hawking and maybe Stephen Fry..there are two more people !!!!

God Bless Aitizaz Ahsan. The greatest former President of Pakistan Supreme Court Bar Association. I am sure Great Zardari, the President of Pakistan will reinstate the EX CJ if indeed he was wrongly removed, thus reward Aitizaz Ahsan for his struggle in getting the EX CJ reinstated. Good luck.

Aitezaz is an honest man who believed in his democratic ideals.
He brought down a theocracy, and replaced it with a democratic systems.

Either his ideals were flawed
or he didn't have the complete understanding of ground realities
because things are going downturn, since democratic government has taken over.

Nevertheless, Aitezaz is a better man, more principled than Nawaz Shareef, and more liberal than Imran Khan.

Very good analysis Robert....that sums it up!
I must add it's not about the personalities...the best for Pakistan at the moment would be to replace religious theocratic mentality with a more liberal one...and we do need a principled leadership in this country who do not compromise national interest on their personal interest...Zardari/Nawaz Sharif/Altaf Hussain/Maulana Fazlu etc are just a bunch of opportunist tested time and again....they are the problem themselves along with military mafia not the solution to the problems our country is facing today...

Qazi/Imran although principled are too much religious conservatives/theocratic....Aitzaz is the ideal person at this moment who can give leadership to our nation...

Let's pray he can play his real role in Pakistan's future...a lot of liberal educated people are expecting a lot from him...to save the country from both religious theocratic mentality as well as corrupt power mafia...

Yep, and that is why you MQMers were so ticked off when Aitezaz (a Punjabi who the MQMers would naturally hate) was bestowed this feat. However, when you heard the same source bestow a rank to that racist pig kamaal, all of you showered your praises, even though it was a fabricated lie that came out of the MQM and denied by FP :hehe: Grow up, people hate the MQM and Mustafa Kamaal because they are racist, not because they are from Karachi. Karachi kisi ki baap ki jageer nahee hai, joh aye aur us ka malik ban jaye.

Lets see you say Aitezaz is a better man than Altaf Hussain or Mustafa Kamaal please?