Would you ask a similar question for the lineups for passport control at other countries, such as UK or Canada etc?
Finally someone with a good post!
to the op, come on man, it your country! It has to evolve one day, why stop it from advancing!!
just a bit off-topic, why is it that the moment ex-pats land in Pakistan, they get possessed?! it's like they left the canadian/american and brought back their JAHIL pakistani side? shame on them!
Would you ask a similar question for the lineups for passport control at other countries, such as UK or Canada etc?
110 % with you in this one.. if we go to another country .. they would strip u down to your underwear but u wont complain.. come to your own country we start complainin how long the line is..ive been travellin in and out from lahore.. the airport staff is very well organised its when all the pakis return or visit the county they expect VIP treatment cause they have returned back home.. they push around.. be rude to the staff expecting what?
lets see us do that in the states or ne other airport..
Ever since the construction of new airport in Lahore, all my flights have been smooth. No problem at all. The staff (like Bib and Faisal said) is well organised and you should be able to go through without a problem (even with your family).
Thanks everyone for reply. Want to clarify few things.
If i had a relative at airport i won't be asking you people.
Cheegum dear, in other countries there are companies whom you can pay and they will get you thru the passport control and luggage thing smoothly, its perfectly legal and acceptable.
I don't mind standing in line (afterall i have spent lot of time in lines while in Pakistan) but its just that i'll be travelling during the night. Same happened last time with me, when we reached Pak it was morning, kids were exhausted and lot of these Mirpuri ladies were breaking the line and approaching the passport control from every side. I fought with them and there was scuffle with one of the uncles as well. I don't wanna raise my BP again.
On my way back i did ask one of my relatives in army to help me out and he arranged with ASF staff, it was all smooth but i don't want to ask for favours again.
Thanks everyone for reply. Want to clarify few things.
If i had a relative at airport i won't be asking you people.
Cheegum dear, in other countries there are companies whom you can pay and they will get you thru the passport control and luggage thing smoothly, its perfectly legal and acceptable.
I don't mind standing in line (afterall i have spent lot of time in lines while in Pakistan) but its just that i'll be travelling during the night. Same happened last time with me, when we reached Pak it was morning, kids were exhausted and lot of these Mirpuri ladies were breaking the line and approaching the passport control from every side. I fought with them and there was scuffle with one of the uncles as well. I don't wanna raise my BP again.
On my way back i did ask one of my relatives in army to help me out and he arranged with ASF staff, it was all smooth but i don't want to ask for favours again.
Scuffle with mirpuri ladies?
yaar aurton say lartay ho?
as far as BP goes meditate take some deep breaths and enjoy the line
Not anymore. The super genius new democratically elected government is now in place, and thus this has become illegal overnight. More great things are going to come, so watch for other corrupt practices dissappear as musharraf is not in power anymo....
Just be patient and try your best not to knock anyone out.
I'd suggest you plop the wife and kids on a bench and line up alone. Make small talk with the people around and practice swearing in Urdu when someone jumps que. The moment you reach that yellow line before the counter, holler at the clan to get their rumps in line!
lot of these Mirpuri ladies were breaking the line and approaching the passport control from every side. I fought with them and there was scuffle with one of the uncles as well. I don't wanna raise my BP again.
Haan poora parrha na
u fought with ladies
and had a scuffle with an uncle as well
That is true. I've seen these kind of companies at several airports around the world. Nothing wrong with it.
But since the facilities on Pakistan's international airports have been improved a lot in the last few years, I'd say paying a company to get you through passport control would be a waste of money. Even if it did exist. At Karachi and Lahore they even have seperate counters for people travelling with family.
Yaar Umer, there is a counter for women and families but people there behave like mob and instead of standing in line patiently, "aik key ooper aik charha hota hai"
My uncle's friend is a protocol officer of Cheif Minister at the airport so we have never had any problem :D
he get any of us out the airport in 15 minutes and we can get away with as much luggage we want to carry lol
Yaar Umer, there is a counter for women and families but people there behave like mob and instead of standing in line patiently, "aik key ooper aik charha hota hai"
I haven't seen that happening at Lahore airport on my last few trips. And I do go there quite regularly with family.
When was the last time you travelled to Pk?
Same here, yes it's busy and u might be a little stressed out but its not utter chaos as you think it is.
Ino, if you're traveling to Karachi then yes, I suggest you get help with the passport situation because last time I was there, it was CHAOTIC! There were women sitting all tired with their kids crying, men were scuffling around, everyone was just SO cranky and impatient. It was my first time going alone ever and I made it out okay without killing anyone or coming across as an abcd.. I was actually so proud of myself after that :D The only thing was, the porter was kinda weird. I gave him 20 bucks and he goes, buss itna hi? aap to bahar se ayee hain.. and I was like, isn't that equal to almost a 1000 rupees here? HOW much more do you want? He said, jitna aur aap munasib samjhe.. I said ok, my cousins are coming to pick me up, they will give you the extra money and he didn't really bother sticking around when they arrived.
Second time around when I went alone again, my dad's friend who was the DIG or something in the police was there to help me get through with it all. It was a night flight and my parents were really freaked out.
Besides, if you're a U.S citizen then I believe you can call the American embassy and they might be able to do something as well. And out of curiosity, why is your pharmaceutical company sending you to Pakistan?