Ahle Sunnat parties declared Sufi Muhammad rebel to Sharia

When dictators and semi-dictators stop worrying about the viability of their own kursis. When this Swat mess started, the PM was notified many times by his own party members to seriously tackle the issue but he was more interested in his steel mill deals and curbs on the media, judiciary, and the civilians. When there are so many uneducated berozgaars in these areas, its easy for them to be brainwashed in the name of religion and join a band of heretics.

That was because you were assuming too much.

I'll buy the argument that the operation was unpopular.

Good, because its very obvious.

Which is possibly one of the reasons for the government not acting sooner. However when an armed group starts abducting people and state officials, and burns down state property, they need to act. Was it tragic? Ofcourse. Was it all the governments fault? No, because you're being myopic to the people keeping women, children inside an armed complex.

A little sooner, the Govt was working with them. Remember a guy called Ijaz-ul-haq, Mushy's religious minister? Him and Ghazi were tyte.

The image of women and children dying is indeed powerful. Your theory is that Pakistan Army has irrevecably lost public support as a consequence? You say people who cheered on this 'genocide' shouldnt demand sympathies for the armed forces,

yes

what about you? Do you think the armed forces should be supported in any future operation, or will it take more time for you to recover?

what i think doesnt matter, lets stick to the masses. the pak army remembers the operation it started in east bengal I bet, and have learnt from their prior mistakes.

You went the tendentious route of asking whats correct. Please note that any assessment of correctness is always personal, you shouldnt attribute finality to it.

sure, then dont question mine, and i wont question urs.

Doesn't seem like it from they way they are conducting this one. Not the best tactics ever used.

Really, that means they should revisit the one that they carried out against MQM terrorists in the 90s. Do you remember Fahim Commando and Khalid Bin Waleed of the MQM?

They can use the same tactics of 90's if they want the taliban to remain in control of swat for the next 20 years and supported by local people.

Re: Ahle Sunnat parties declared Sufi Muhammad rebel to Sharia

Oh no, but I thought the brave Pak Army effectively took out the top MQM leadership back then. Fahim Commando bhi ooper hai aur Khalid Bin Walid bhi :)

The problem is not the masses. By most media accounts, public opinion has turned against the Taleban (finally). The problem now is people like you who still resist the idea of confronting them militarily once and for all, even as they take over more parts of the country.

sure, then dont question mine, and i wont question urs.

Feel free to question my correctness, thats the point of any debate. Just not so tediously.