Agree /Disagree

“Most people quit because of one reason and one reason only…
they decided not to win.”
so..is this true…to me..it is..whatever i dont give my best shot at..i dont deserve…

** unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of Truth! **

Sometimes u quit because u want ur opponent to win ...... or sometimes u have to quit because u sacrifice for ur opponent (ur lover, mother, sister, brother etc etc).

i generally agree with isloo but there must be some exceptions when u really deserve and have to sacrifice for someone.

Originally posted by Najim:
Sometimes u quit because u want ur opponent to win ...... or sometimes u have to quit because u sacrifice for ur opponent (ur lover, mother, sister, brother etc etc).

well..that wouldnt be a fair competition...i mean in a fair arena...waisai bhi ..some one you lubh cant be a competitor or can they?

IKA. The question is good, but what, in your opinion, are the cultural aspects of quitting/winning that you would like to discuss?

I think in our culture, the emphasis in not placed as much on wining as it is in the West. Here, kids from a very young age are trained to be “competitive” or to win at every cost. It is very much obvious in their Sports, in their Corporate Culture, as well as in other general spheres of their society. In the USA they say “winning isn’t everything, it is the only thing”.

I would argue that in cultures such as ours (i.e., Pakistan), the emphasis is not placed on compatitivity but on self-improvement and enlightenment. A young child in a household is not brought up to view all his cousins, siblings, etc., in a competitive light, but to view them as a one big “team”. Of course there are exceptions, but the closeness among family members is one example to understand how “winning/losing” is a very cultural phenomenon.

Some people quit cause they are sick of trying, I don't beleive in the sacrifice thing though...its 1 out of 100 who do it for the sack of thers.

One reason for quitting is "its time to move on"

Originally posted by NYAhmadi:
*IKA. The question is good, but what, in your opinion, are the cultural aspects of quitting/winning that you would like to discuss? *

NYA..i thought it was the opposite around...in pakistan...its win win win..any way ..any how...especially in cousins...being brought up in a joint family ..i know..the biggest comp going on in among the parents..to see whose kids are better!...who grows tallest..who gets good grades....where as in the west..atleast everybdy is at their own pace..hell..there are colleges for bar tending if thats what your fancy is!..in pakistan....'dhang' ka job can only be the stereotyped doctor..lawyer..banker..wotnot..
so..what do u think?

Anarkali ur philosphy of life is
“Winner is one who makes his way out of others and come ahead.”

But some ppl think
“Winner is the one, who gives way to others to go ahead.”

So not necesserily who does not win does not deserve it. He may deserve more then the winner.

btw bar tending bhi koi dhang ka kam thori hai

Jo jeeta wohi sikandar.

Our pakistani society teaches us to be modest and give way to people, I agree with NYA. American society is all about winning.
I like the american way. I say winning matters.

well i would agree... but najim is also right sometimes we make ourself to step back from being a winner..because we want our love ones to win ...one can say that is way where one proves that he/she loves them ....

DEFINE WINNING,

If American make the most obvious meaning subject to different defenitions ,why cant our attitude make winning more than beating someone else.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

If we before jumping into the competition ,retract back few steps & think what is it for which he is jumping,not all would say being no.1 .Some will define attaining some objectives which may translate in to ordinary roti kapda & makan & izzat, sehat &Life .
Most ppl .in my opinion want so ordinary things ,kids family ,home ,that even the no. 1 actor ,sportsman,politician would give it up any moment FOR these no.1 position for little bit of ordinary stuff.

SO IN THE SCHEME OF THINGS ,IT ISNT OVER TILL THE FAT LADY SINGS /OR UNTILL IT IS OVER & what may seem attractive to day ,in years to come ,may not end up as the most beutifull thing in the whole span of life !!!

JUST WHAT YOU MEAN BY SUCCESS,WINNING ,MAKING IT
:aha:
More later ,after getting definition of WIN.

Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha

To Me:

= Winning is not everything
It is the only thing.

= To let somebody else win
I will withdraw not lose.

Originally posted by sonydharti:
To Me:

= Winning is not everything
It is the only thing.

= To let somebody else win
I will withdraw not lose.**

Soni Dharti ,

You still havent answerd my question where did you read "root' origin of word "dosti" as from 'do'two & 'Sati" ?????????????????